HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Diving Charge

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Diving Charge   Wed 11 May 2011 - 16:56

Can a model make a diving charge from a height of less than 2"?

Can a model jump down from a height of less than 2" without an initiative test?

Can a model climb a wall of less than 2" without an initiative test?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Diving Charge   Wed 11 May 2011 - 18:27

DRD1812 wrote:
Can a model make a diving charge from a height of less than 2"?
As far as the rules are concerned, all you need is for your target to be below a balcony or overhang etc that you are on. If the balcony or overhang that you are on is over them, then yes, you can diving charge from less than 2". Well, following all the other rules for diving charge, of course.

DRD1812 wrote:
Can a model jump down from a height of less than 2" without an initiative test?
You can jump down any height that is less than 2" with no test.

DRD1812 wrote:
Can a model climb a wall of less than 2" without an initiative test?
No, you need to make a climbing test no matter how little you are climbing. You may freely leap over a barrier that is 1" or less and in my circle we have interpreted that to mean you do not need to make a climbing roll for walls/rock faces, etc less than 1", but that is a house-interpretation.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Re: Diving Charge   Thu 12 May 2011 - 9:45

Thanks for weighing in, Lord0. Your ruling for #2 and #3 makes sense. That's how we play it too.

But for the diving charge in particular: the rule states that you've got to make an initiative test for every full 2" that you fall. Then if you succeed on those tests you get the bonus for Diving Charge. But if you don't have to make ANY tests because you aren't at least 2" up....?

Here's the text of the rule for convenience:

Take an Initiative test for each full 2" of height your
model jumped down from, up to a maximum of 6",
like a normal jump. If he fails any of them, your model
has fallen and suffers damage, may not move any
more during the movement phase and cannot charge
the enemy. If he succeeds, the model gains a +1
Strength bonus and +1 to hit bonus but only during
the following hand-to-hand combat phase.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Diving Charge   Thu 12 May 2011 - 15:16

I think you are right - no initiative test, no bonus. In my circle we have a house rule that you have to make a single test for anything between the free 1" you get and 2". Even after reading over the rules I still forgot it was a houserule Smile.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Diving Charge   Today at 17:21

Back to top Go down
 
Diving Charge
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» UPDATE: Battery Charge Dismissed
» Alternative diving system
» Question regarding soul Charge
» Soul Charge rule and regulation
» 2 cards Quasar (without soul charge)

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: