HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Warrior Wizard Rule Question

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Lockit_110



Posts : 4
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2012-05-06
Age : 29
Location : Australia, Rockhampton

PostSubject: Warrior Wizard Rule Question   Sun 6 May 2012 - 19:39

Hi all i was wondering if you could all help me.

My friend is currently using the Khemri mage warband which specifically says he can only use armor from the mages equipment list however his list for armor is zero nothing there now he got the skill warrior wizard and is now claiming he can wear gromril armor? I can't see how this would be allowed i know the war wiz rule say the he can now wear any armor and can now cast spells but wouldn't it only apply to castors that already have the ability to wear armor in the first place?

thank-you

Lockit
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7021
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Warrior Wizard Rule Question   Sun 6 May 2012 - 20:04

Edit: Welcome to the forum!

Actulally the warrior wizard skill merely says he may "wear armor and cast spells." It does not say he may wear 'any' armor.

Arguing that the skill allows access to armor to wear seems to stretch the words beyond their context. It is generally agreed that a warband may only use armor allowed by its list, thus according to strict interpretations of the rules gromril armor is only available to a warband that can wear heavy armor.

In addition the basic rules were not written with the fan-written Khemri lists in mind. All of the 'official' warband lists that have spell casters also have armor available for them to wear. It may only be light armor, but its there.

The Khemri wizard warband is broken enough without adding armor.

That said if you are pummeling him every game and he'd like a bit of a balancer, then I've no problem with giving him armor. Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lockit_110



Posts : 4
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2012-05-06
Age : 29
Location : Australia, Rockhampton

PostSubject: Thank-you   Sun 6 May 2012 - 20:15

Thank you for the welcome

And those were my thoughts exactly, no he is absolutely devastating our war-bands. He managed to get a flying carpet as well so he is just flying around and smashing all our characters he has five heroes that can smash us with Silver Arrows of Arha. I am trying to find a way to bring him back down a peg or two i didn't think he would be allowed to wear gromril armor. He tries to find out ways to sneak around the rules. I know he will try say that this is not an official rules website sigh.

Thank-you

Lockit
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7021
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Warrior Wizard Rule Question   Sun 6 May 2012 - 20:38

Wow, that was pretty much our experience with the wizard warband, like deja vu. That particular campaign lost us a lot of players. I tend to discourage that warband now.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Stronzo
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 241
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2012-03-22
Age : 33
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Warrior Wizard Rule Question   Mon 7 May 2012 - 0:53

Wow... That dude doesn't sound like the kind of guy you would want to play with anyway Sad but I know that not everyone has a lot of options when it comes to groups in their area :/

If he doesn't respond to reason and claims that Von Kurst's very resonable answer to your question isn't official, how about reminding him that neither is his damn spell-slinging warband? Razz

Good luck with him.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lockit_110



Posts : 4
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2012-05-06
Age : 29
Location : Australia, Rockhampton

PostSubject: Re: Warrior Wizard Rule Question   Mon 7 May 2012 - 17:17

Not a bad guy I've known him about 10years now, just likes to win very competitive lol.

Lockit
xo
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Grimscull
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1300
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2010-11-22

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Warrior Wizard Rule Question   Mon 7 May 2012 - 17:22

Where is this list from? If he goes with "TBMF is not official" then I'd suggest the same thing Stronzo said.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7021
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Warrior Wizard Rule Question   Mon 7 May 2012 - 18:16

The warband is the Mage Warband from the original Khemri site. As far as I know that site is now inaccessable without a Wayback Machine, although it may be preserved somewhere or my google-fu may not be working.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
catachanfrog
Elder
Elder


Posts : 319
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-07-08

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Warrior Wizard Rule Question   Tue 8 May 2012 - 2:33

Is it a "warband" with clockwork-thingies or another? I hate when people came up with idea: Oh, I like vampires/mages/treemen/ - let's make vampire/mages/treemen warband! And make it awesome! Some thrice-damned fan made warbands are just vomited without a though into the web...

@Lockit_110 I would advise you (if you're new in Mordheim) to stick to official warbands and play them for a while - than you'll be able to determine if something is broken or not easily.
I also admire your willingness to solve this issue peacefully (by the rules even). Sir, yes sir!
What's your warband?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Warrior Wizard Rule Question   Today at 0:56

Back to top Go down
 
Warrior Wizard Rule Question
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Shamans and Warrior Wizard
» my warrior deck
» Question About Gladiator beasts.
» The Sigmarite Warrior Priest HS (TC#28)
» Rule changes for shields & bucklers?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: