HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Questions about armor and Centigor

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
MisterA
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 10
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-09
Age : 39
Location : Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Questions about armor and Centigor   Tue 13 Jan 2009 - 6:52

Hello guys,

I have, again, some questions regarding armor.

A.1. Can a mage wear a helmet and cast spells?
A.2. Is it possible (after first game) to use armor that isn't on your starting list? I didn't find a rule like the one for weapons.

And now the Centigor questions.
C.1. Does a Centigor count as mounted? (because of +1S with Spears)
C.2. Can a Centigor climb?
C.3. Can a Centigor be shoot like a big creature?

Many thanks in advance!


Greetz,

Andy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Questions about armor and Centigor   Tue 13 Jan 2009 - 7:24

A.1. Can a mage wear a helmet and cast spells?
No.

A.2. Is it possible (after first game) to use armor that isn't on your starting list? I didn't find a rule like the one for weapons.
No, unless it is on your starting warband list you can't get it.

And now the Centigor questions.
C.1. Does a Centigor count as mounted? (because of +1S with Spears)
No. If there was someting on it I don't recall it.

C.2. Can a Centigor climb?
No, but if you see one take some pics.

C.3. Can a Centigor be shoot like a big creature?
Is the model 2inchs tall? If not, then No. I don't recall anything on this either. If you play a mounted model is a large target then you couls assume it is but this is a bit different as no one is sitting in the "saddle"
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: Questions about armor and Centigor   Tue 13 Jan 2009 - 7:33

Da Bank wrote:
If you play a mounted model is a large target then you couls assume it is but this is a bit different as no one is sitting in the "saddle"

Well, mounted models count as large target in general (Rules Review). Horses, however, don't count as large targets so why should a Centigor do? Also, if the Centigor should count as a large target it would have been stated with the rules (and if it had been forgotten the first time it would have been added in the rules review).

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Questions about armor and Centigor   Tue 13 Jan 2009 - 7:52

@Cianty..That is by counter point, that no one is in the saddle. I left it a bit open as I haven't had time to research that just in case I had missed something on it.

At the moment it should not be a large target as it is the same size as a horse and just a horse is not a large target.

That is a horse of a different color.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
catferret
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 508
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-10

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Kislevites Kislevites
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Questions about armor and Centigor   Tue 13 Jan 2009 - 8:01

A size comparison indicates that a Centigor is the same height as many mounted models. They are certainly a good bit taller than an unmounted horse due to there being a torso, shoulder and head rather than a regular horse head.

As for spear use, I'd be inclined to treat them as cavalry (although I'd be drawing on WFB to back that up rather than Mordheim so it may or may not be applicable).
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: Questions about armor and Centigor   Tue 13 Jan 2009 - 8:02

Da Bank wrote:
At the moment it should not be a large target as it is the same size as a horse and just a horse is not a large target.

Yep, that's basically what I meant to say. Sir, yes sir!

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
HornedRat
Elder
Elder


Posts : 365
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2008-12-19
Age : 44
Location : Culver City, California

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Questions about armor and Centigor   Tue 13 Jan 2009 - 17:44

I personally wouldn't consider a Centigor a large target. Even though it is on a calvary base, and it does not specifically say in the description.

On a side note, I have always been under the impression that base size also has much to do with the target size as large targets Ogres etc are always on creature bases. In my gaming group we generally use that as a rough guide.

I would say that they could go up Stairs, but not ladders or climb up walls. Of Course they could jump gaps and jump down etc.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pbase.com/therat
Cinderspark
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 8
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-17

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Questions about armor and Centigor   Sun 18 Jan 2009 - 19:43

Can a Centigor wear armour at all besides using a shield?

The equipment list they are stated to use is 'Gor' however there are only two lists available to the Beastmen warband i.e. 'Ungor' and 'Beastmen'. Is this a spelling mistake and they left out the 'Un' bit or did they mean Gor=Beastmen as is the term used in Warhammer?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MisterA
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 10
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-09
Age : 39
Location : Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Questions about armor and Centigor   Mon 19 Jan 2009 - 1:55

Da Bank wrote:
A.2. Is it possible (after first game) to use armor that isn't on your starting list? I didn't find a rule like the one for weapons.
No, unless it is on your starting warband list you can't get it.
But then only Dwars could wear Gromril armor and only Elfes could wear Ithilmar armor... Or did I overread a rule which states that this kind of armor could be weared by everybody?


Greetz,

Andy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Eliazar
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1973
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2007-08-27
Age : 28
Location : Frankfurt, Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pirates (Unofficial) Pirates (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Questions about armor and Centigor   Mon 19 Jan 2009 - 2:06

As far as I know, Ithilmar armour and Gromril armour can be worn by models who can wear heavy armour.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: Questions about armor and Centigor   Mon 19 Jan 2009 - 2:09

MisterA wrote:
But then only Dwars could wear Gromril armor and only Elfes could wear Ithilmar armor... Or did I overread a rule which states that this kind of armor could be weared by everybody?

Gromril and Ithilmar armour both count as heavy armours and thus can only be used by models who have "Heavy Armour" in their equipment list. This is not in the rulebook but was clarified later on.

EDIT: Damn it, Eliazar!

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Eliazar
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1973
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2007-08-27
Age : 28
Location : Frankfurt, Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pirates (Unofficial) Pirates (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Questions about armor and Centigor   Mon 19 Jan 2009 - 2:52

cianty wrote:
EDIT: Damn it, Eliazar!

Hehe, got you again Razz
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MisterA
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 10
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-09
Age : 39
Location : Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Questions about armor and Centigor   Mon 19 Jan 2009 - 3:30

Thank you both for your fast answers!


Greetz,

Andy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Cinderspark
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 8
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-17

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Questions about armor and Centigor   Mon 19 Jan 2009 - 18:46

So Centigor does not have any armour in its list then?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Questions about armor and Centigor   Today at 19:28

Back to top Go down
 
Questions about armor and Centigor
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Questions about armor and Centigor
» mark 3 questions
» Beastman modelling questions
» ARMOR PHOTOGALLERY #4 Sd Kfz 234
» ARMOR PHOTOGALLERY #9 Marder II

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: