HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Centigor question

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Dahag
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 222
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-05-21

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Centigor question   Fri 2 Jul 2010 - 8:04

In the rules for the Centigor it states:

"Centigor are inclined to drink vast quantities of noxious beer and looted wine and spirits before battle,
working themselves up into a drunken frenzy. Roll 1D6 at the start of each turn. On a roll of 1,
they must test for stupidity that turn. On a roll of 2-5 nothing happens and on the roll of a 6
they become subject to frenzy for that turn. Whilst subject to both stupidity and frenzy
they are immune to all other forms of psychology."

So I understand this as follows:

* if he rolls 1 he must take a Leadership-Test and if he fails he becomes subject to Stupidity for that turn.

* if he rolls a 6, he AUTOMATICALLY becomes subject to frenzy for that turn.

Am I correct with my interpretations?

If yes, I wonder why Stupidity needs a Leadership-Test whereas Frenzy does not. I think both instances should be treated the same way. So either a Leadership in both cases or none at all.... What do you guys think, or what do the rules mean exactly anyway? Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
WarbossKurgan
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 2868
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-10-04
Age : 45
Location : Morkchester, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Centigor question   Fri 2 Jul 2010 - 8:06

The rule for a Stupidity Test isn't just for Centigors: Stupidity always requires a Leadership test each turn, (it would make Stupid models utterly useless if it didn't).

Stupidity and Frenzy are completely different types of rules in the way they effect models.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.flameon.co.uk
Dahag
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 222
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-05-21

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Centigor question   Fri 2 Jul 2010 - 8:35

Thanks for your answer, Warboss Kurgan.

But i think that these two cases are not necessarily linked. A model that suffers from "normal" stupidity should be allowed to take a leadership test, because otherwise - as you state- it would be utterly useless (because permanently stupid).

But the centigor would not be permanently stupid as he resolves a test of its own (roll on a d6). So stupidity would "only" occur when rolled a 1, so in 16,6% of the turns.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rudeboy
Elder
Elder


Posts : 360
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-12-01
Age : 37

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Restless Dead (BTB) Restless Dead (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Centigor question   Fri 2 Jul 2010 - 8:45

Stupidity is a flaw, Frenzy is a merit.

With Stupidity the character has their brain scrambled, so they cannot react as normal person would. In this case it is due to drinking, the injury it is due to taking a few too many head shots. The Leadership role is representing the character thinking about the situation and if they succeed reacting to the situation normally. If they fail they continue to think. The leader yelling at them to do this or that so they don't have to think they just do, if they understand the leader.

The thinking by the creators is that there is a chance that the character won't do anything at all or would just randomly walk forward.

Frenzy allows the model to double their attacks, which is really good, but they have to charge an enemy model if it is in range. The idea being that they are so full of Rage and Anger that they use that to attack faster, and with less reguard for their own personal safety.

I once had a Skink with 3 attacks and Frenzy. So I was rolling 6 attacks every round. He had more kills then my Saurus that had 2 attacks, strongman, and a 2 handed weapon.


Last edited by Rudeboy on Thu 26 Aug 2010 - 5:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
WarbossKurgan
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 2868
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-10-04
Age : 45
Location : Morkchester, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Centigor question   Fri 2 Jul 2010 - 9:16

Dahag wrote:
Thanks for your answer, Warboss Kurgan.

But i think that these two cases are not necessarily linked. A model that suffers from "normal" stupidity should be allowed to take a leadership test, because otherwise - as you state- it would be utterly useless (because permanently stupid).

But the centigor would not be permanently stupid as he resolves a test of its own (roll on a d6). So stupidity would "only" occur when rolled a 1, so in 16,6% of the turns.
I see what you are saying but it would make the Centigor a lot more useless than he is - there is a chance that, even if you roll it, he won't be Stupid as you can pass the test to avoid it.

Adding exceptions to core rules is always a bad idea when it does not significantly improve the game!
study

So you can get Stupidity (or Frenzy, or neither) rather than "Special Stupidity which most people won't remember"
Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.flameon.co.uk
TiAn
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 9
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-02-13

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Centigor question   Wed 14 Jul 2010 - 11:45

Hello, i just saw this thread and I feel the urge to' add some questione about the centigor.
In the rules it's not statedif it count as a "big guy" and in multiple Times i tried to advise my driends to' change it... But the defense say "it's not stated in the rule si, he' s not (but it is big as a bretonnia soldier on horse... And it is taller than 2")
second question, as the cavlry, that horsething can climb stairs and enter in houses? Our usual beastman player use it that way, it's right? (i speak ad a loyal mono orc player!)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Claus
Champion
Champion


Posts : 47
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-31
Location : Austria (nearby Vienna)

PostSubject: Re: Centigor question   Mon 9 Aug 2010 - 7:04

@TiAn

1)
Your friends are right. Itīs not stated that Centigor is a "big guy" so it is not. Also he is an hero and it would not be appropriate to have a "Big Guy" hero.

A Soldier on horse is something different as here a "men" sized modellis using a mount whereas the Centigor is a hybrid of men and horse not using a mount.


2)

We actually houseruled in our group that Centigor can not climb and go up ladders but that he can go up stairs. In terms of climbing we count him as animal due to his size and horse-legs. This we found the most appropriate way to handle it.

He can enter houses....why shouldnīt he. Each model can enter houses....or do you mean something different ?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
TiAn
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 9
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-02-13

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Centigor question   Wed 25 Aug 2010 - 13:46

Hi
Sorry for being late, but the holidays kept me distracted.
Anyhow, searching on the forum, I found an older thread on the centigor that gives it the "large" rule.
On the rulebook is stated "model taller than 2 inches have to be considered large". Based on that I decided to make apply that rule for the centigor when we will go back on the tables (after a REALLY animated discussion, probably... no, surely). It is kinda silly to put that giant thing covered by a group of gor and consider it intargettable, it tower on them with his model... ( and add that our player use a micro model of like a dog to represent it...).
For the stairs i prefer to consider it basing on the size of the stairs to climb....

but we can debate about it, the rule on centigor say nolarge target, but at the same time, the rulebook say that 2"+ miniatures are considered large...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ordo Septenarius
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 227
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-10-06
Location : Portland, Oregon, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Centigor question   Tue 9 Apr 2013 - 11:06

Another Centigor question:

This came up last weekend, but reading the RAW, the Centigor would not drop out of Frenzy until he becomes stupid. Naturally, I interpreted the rules as "You roll every turn; 1, roll vs. LD, 2-5 he's fine, 6 he's frenzied." But, one of our players (my opponent, naturally), insisted that the Centigor STAYS FRENZIED until it becomes drunk, given the way the rules are worded.

His explanation: If I am frenzied, I am frenzied for the turn. However, 2-5 mention there is "No change," so he'd continue to be frenzied. Summarily, the only way to drop out of Frenzy would be to roll a 1, then pass the LD test. This seems stupid and contrived. What is the official ruling here?

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Centigor question   Tue 9 Apr 2013 - 11:33

Quote :
on the roll of a 6 they become subject to frenzy for that turn.
This makes it clear that it is for the turn and not untill he rolls Stupidity.

Quote :
2-5 nothing happens
This does not say "no change" but rather nothing happens meaning there is no effect ill or good.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ordo Septenarius
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 227
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-10-06
Location : Portland, Oregon, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Centigor question   Tue 9 Apr 2013 - 12:55

I think that was the "gamey" response, though.

"Subject to Frenzy for that turn." <--- No indication of it ending.

2-5 "Nothing happens" would indicate that nothing indeed happens. Looking at it in a very gamey sense, using RAW with a copy editor friend of mine, indeed, the only way to snap out of Frenzy given the RAW would be to rolle a 1, then make your Ld test.

Any other thoughts? Again, I support the more logical, RAI, "2-5: play as normal with no psych"
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Centigor question   Tue 9 Apr 2013 - 13:30

See I don't get how your comming to the conclusion that "Subject to Frenzy for that turn" as not indicationg an end. It specifies that it only last for that turn and not further turns.
That turn obviously reffers to the turn the dice was rolled.

I can't see how your friend is reading it any other way.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
WarbossKurgan
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 2868
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-10-04
Age : 45
Location : Morkchester, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Centigor question   Tue 9 Apr 2013 - 13:42

I have to agree with Pervavita - I can't see how "that turn" can mean anything other than that turn, and not any turn after!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.flameon.co.uk
Grimscull
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1301
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2010-11-22

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Centigor question   Tue 9 Apr 2013 - 13:47

I too agree with Pervavita and WarbossKurgan. So tell your friend that three guys on this forum with 22 golden stars among them support your claim and think he is a lousy powergamer king (just kidding).
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Centigor question   Tue 9 Apr 2013 - 13:59

If he wants to push it you could argue that "Nothing Happens" means the Centigor does nothing as "nothing happens" so thus it's even worse then stupidity as at least with stupidity they get a ld roll and even if fails they can move forward some.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Centigor question   Tue 9 Apr 2013 - 22:07

I agree that the rules are clear about frenzy only lasting for that single turn.

However, I reckon you could create a house rule to allow a longer duration as long as you take the bad with the good and also apply standard rules for frenzied warriors. Here is the Drunken special rule for the Centigor in full.

Quote :
Drunken: Centigor are inclined to drink vast quantities of noxious beer and looted wine and spirits before battle, working themselves up into a drunken frenzy. Roll 1D6 at the start of each turn. On a roll of 1, they must test for stupidity that turn. On a roll of 2-5 nothing happens and on the roll of a 6 they become subject to frenzy for that turn. Whilst subject to both stupidity and frenzy they are immune to all other forms of psychology.
I note that your opponent did not mention keeping stupidity for longer than a single turn. If he wants to house rule that it is possible to keep frenzy until a result of stupidity is rolled then he also needs to keep stupidity until frenzy is rolled. Also, the standard rules for frenzy state that frenzy is lost if the model is knocked down or stunned (refer to rules quoted from the Core Rulebook below). Note also that stupidity is not lost by being knockd down or stunned. Needing to accept the possibilty of a several turns in a row with stupidity and the possibility of losing frenzy prematurally might put him off the idea of a house rule.

Here are the rules for losing frenzy from the Core Rulebook (note that if the house rule is chosen to keep frenzy and stupidity for longer then the Centigor would continue to fight as normal after being knocked down or stunned until another 6 is rolled).
Quote :
If a frenzied model is knocked down or stunned, he is no longer frenzied. He continues to fight as normal for the rest of the battle.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Centigor question   Today at 9:33

Back to top Go down
 
Centigor question
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Question About Gladiator beasts.
» Dark Fusion / Mirror Force question
» Questions about armor and Centigor
» Question about Reinforce Truth
» Question on scrap dragon

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: