Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Mordheim Discussion

HomeSearchLatest imagesRegisterBlogYou'll never paint aloneLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Designing gaming boards.

Go down 
+4
Exarch Thomo
DeafNala
Imbued84
Cubies
8 posters
AuthorMessage
Cubies
Youngblood
Youngblood
Cubies

Trading Reputation : 0

Designing gaming boards. Empty
PostSubject: Designing gaming boards.   Designing gaming boards. Icon_minitimeThu 8 Oct 2009 - 23:51

Hello,

I'm new to this game and thinking about making my very first gaming board to play on. I've been thinking that models move in inches so do you think it would be practical to divide the gaming board into 1x1" squares so you can move square by square?

Thanks from Cubies.
Back to top Go down
Imbued84
Champion
Champion
Imbued84

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Undead Undead
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Designing gaming boards.   Designing gaming boards. Icon_minitimeFri 9 Oct 2009 - 0:20

Unlike games like for example Heroclix and the like which use the type of board you´ve described, Mordheim is played on a flat tabletop surface without any lines och squares. A considerably big part of Mordheim revolves around guessing and estimating the range between buildings and models. This adds a strategic and random element to the game. There's a thread somewhere here concerning what height each floor of a building should be though in general you shoul try to build your gameboard so that all "normal sized" models fit in the alleys and buildings. to fit the story and overall feeling of Mordheim your buildings should/could be slightly crooked, elevated on different levels above ground, run-down, demolished, etc etc. A late-medieval city suffering from a meteor crash doesn't look very pretty after all i'd imagine Designing gaming boards. Icon_smile
Back to top Go down
DeafNala
Admin
Admin
DeafNala

Trading Reputation : 9