HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Pistolier Skill

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
lockthor
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 22
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-02-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Pistolier Skill   Fri 13 Mar 2009 - 9:26

if i have a cool brace of warplock pistol and I gain pistolier skill the turn after i shoot with the two gun can i shoot?

Only one pistol and no skill
1° turn: fire once
2° turn: reload

Brace of pistol and no skill
1° turn: fire once
2° turn: fire once

With Pistolier and only one pistol
1° turn: fire once
2° turn: fire once

With Pistolier and a Brace
1° turn: fire twice
2° turn: ??? (maybe reload)--->if I charge can i use the 2 attacks of pistol instead of mine?
3° turn: ??? (can i fire twice?)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Asp
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 659
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-03

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Fri 13 Mar 2009 - 9:56

With Pistolier and a Brace
1° turn: fire twice
2° turn: (reload)
3° turn: (fire twice)

----------------

Quote :
if I charge can i use the 2 attacks of pistol instead of mine?

if you mean: "can I fire in CC the turn after I fired?" then no

if you mean: "if I have two (loaded) pistols and I charge, can I shoot twice instead of my normal attacks?" then yes

as you write 'instead of mine' this brings up a related issue: if you have multiple attacks on profile and shoot two pistols in close combat, do the excess attacks go to waste? this is debated

solution 1; attacks are wasted

solution 2; you may switch to other weapons (so if you have A2 and two pistols you can fire both and then make a single attack wiht another weapon)

solution 3; subsequent pistol attacks count as a club a la warhammer 7th

as I said, debated

---

also note that a hero can have up two four pistols! Shocked
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.indadvendt.dk/mordheim/
lockthor
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 22
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-02-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Fri 13 Mar 2009 - 10:06

ok thanks for the quick answer

the secon question was:
1° turn: fired twice
2°turn: charge, can i use the pistol in cc (from your answer i think no because the pistol arent reloaded, but i'n not sure i've understand well your answer)

^_^
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Asp
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 659
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-03

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Fri 13 Mar 2009 - 10:09

You understand correctly Very Happy (Answer: No)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.indadvendt.dk/mordheim/
lockthor
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 22
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-02-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Fri 13 Mar 2009 - 10:12

ok thanks^^
Quote :
also note that a hero can have up two four pistols! Shocked
but for example also 2 bracers of warplock pistol?
and if yes with pistolier i can fire twice each turn???
Back to top Go down
View user profile
lockthor
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 22
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-02-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Sat 14 Mar 2009 - 10:03

lockthor wrote:

Quote :
also note that a hero can have up two four pistols! Shocked
but for example also 2 bracers of warplock pistol?
and if yes with pistolier i can fire twice each turn???

is this too foolish???
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Hans Grüber
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 18
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-03-08
Age : 33
Location : Netherlands

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Sat 14 Mar 2009 - 10:55

Quote :
is this too foolish???

I think it's actually kind of awesome to have a hero with four pistols, shooting twice every turn. Really cowboyesque (if that's a word Question)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
lockthor
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 22
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-02-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Sat 14 Mar 2009 - 12:33

but it is ok for the rule or not???
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Asp
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 659
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-03

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Sat 14 Mar 2009 - 13:53

yes: if you have four pistols you can shoot twice each turn
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.indadvendt.dk/mordheim/
Hans Grüber
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 18
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-03-08
Age : 33
Location : Netherlands

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Sat 14 Mar 2009 - 14:23

A model may carry two different missile weapons, a brace of pistols counting as one missile weapon for these purposes. You could argue from the wording that the missile weapons have to be different, so no two crossbows, or two braces of pistols (though a brace of normal pistols and a brace of duelling pistols would probably be OK, strangely enough).

I'd say that it is just a case of poor wording and having two braces of pistols would be OK and within the spirit of the rules. In nine out of ten cases having two of the same missile weapon would be redundant, but in the case of a hero with pistolier it can make sense to do so. If you carry two braces of pistols you are giving up long range fire power though, because you can't carry a bow or a handgun any more. You're packed with pistols now.

In short: In my opinion a model should be able to carry two braces of pistols, firing twice every turn if he or she happens to have the pistolier skill. It's not exactly rules-as-written though, so you may want to run it by your campaign buddies first.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
lockthor
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 22
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-02-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Sat 14 Mar 2009 - 18:30

yeah i think I'll ask before at my gaming group if i can do this, but thinking a skaven carring four warplock pistol is awesome, fantastic, wonderful, no words to explain the "cooliness" (don't know is this word is passable, in italian i can say MITICITA' like kung fu panda Cool ).
It remembers me of Matrix during the assault in the middle of the column with tons of firepower Very Happy
in gameplay don't know if it is a good choice but is awesome for a nice background farao
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Asp
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 659
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-03

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Sat 14 Mar 2009 - 18:43

Quote :
You could argue from the wording that the missile weapons have to be different, so no two crossbows, or two braces of pistols

Many debates have been fraught over this. Status: The wording is strange but it was never FAQ'd while the living rulebook was actually... uhm... living

So by the letter of the law you cannot have four warplocks

but my personal opinion, as well as that of many others is that since the rulebook is full of colloquialisms and strange wordings in general, this can easily be interpreted as a negligible detail, i.e. a "blot of ink" - same as Hans Grüber said

sadly, not all players can be counted on the exercise this kind of sportsmanship though. so should your friends refuse you with regards to that little word, 'different', you can always politely point out that spending 70gc on weapons that might be good in HtH but can't actually hit anything at range (long range penalties etc.) is probably a net loss for your warband in regards to strength
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.indadvendt.dk/mordheim/
robertrunner
Captain
Captain


Posts : 60
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-02-22
Location : Corona CA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pirates (Unofficial) Pirates (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Sat 14 Mar 2009 - 20:39

Slight tangent with pistols. If you have two braces of pistols WITHOUT the pistolier skill how many shots do you get in each turn?
1st: 2 shots
2nd: 2shots
3rd: 0, 1, or 2 ???
4th: 0, 1, or 2 ??? Or can you only ever take a single shot without the pistolier skill?

another slight tangent. If I get two handguns can I shoot every turn without getting the hunter skill?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Hans Grüber
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 18
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-03-08
Age : 33
Location : Netherlands

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Sun 15 Mar 2009 - 4:11

robertrunner wrote:
Slight tangent with pistols. If you have two braces of pistols WITHOUT the pistolier skill how many shots do you get in each turn?
1st: 2 shots
2nd: 2shots
3rd: 0, 1, or 2 ???
4th: 0, 1, or 2 ??? Or can you only ever take a single shot without the pistolier skill?

another slight tangent. If I get two handguns can I shoot every turn without getting the hunter skill?
To the first question: You get to fire once every turn, so having four pistols without the pistolier skill is nonsense.

To the second question: I think you can.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Asp
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 659
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-03

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Sun 15 Mar 2009 - 7:58

Quote :
To the first question: You get to fire once every turn,

correct

Quote :
so having four pistols without the pistolier skill is nonsense.

largely, yes. although you can still fire both in HtH. and so it might even be useful with four pistols in one remote scenario:

you get charged and fire both pistols -> take your enemy OOA
next turn: you get charged again and you can fire the other two pistols

Quote :
If I get two handguns can I shoot every turn without getting the hunter skill?

yes
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.indadvendt.dk/mordheim/
Hans Grüber
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 18
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-03-08
Age : 33
Location : Netherlands

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Sun 15 Mar 2009 - 16:42

Asp wrote:

Quote :
so having four pistols without the pistolier skill is nonsense.

largely, yes. although you can still fire both in HtH. and so it might even be useful with four pistols in one remote scenario:

you get charged and fire both pistols -> take your enemy OOA
next turn: you get charged again and you can fire the other two pistols


Didn't think of that one!

All in all, we seem to agree that you should be able to take four pistols, if only because it's so bloody cool to have a 'Johann with ze Pistols' walking around. I'd name him differently though, to avoid association with certain 70's era movies set in Tirol silent
Back to top Go down
View user profile
darthblud
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 23
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-03-30
Location : Spain

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Undead Undead
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Mon 20 Apr 2009 - 5:46

Hi guys!

I'm reading this topic and I have one question.
I have interpreted the case of a hero with a brace and the pistolier skill as you (i.e. shoot both every two turns).
But as a hero armed with only one pistol and the pistolier skill is able to reload each turn... why can't he do that with the whole brace each turn???

Thanks!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Asp
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 659
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-03

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Mon 20 Apr 2009 - 8:06

the reasoning is presumaly that it takes longer to reload two pistols
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.indadvendt.dk/mordheim/
Chad
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 932
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-07
Age : 24
Location : Poiares-Coimbra-Portugal/Exeter-Devon-England

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pirates (Unofficial) Pirates (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Mon 20 Apr 2009 - 10:57

We house-ruled (my gaming group, before they all moved Sad ) that with the pistolier skill you can have up to FIVE braces of pistols, but they must all be the same type and you may only have one hand weapon (in addition to the dagger) and once you start firing you have to fire tow a turn until you run out. So far we've only had a model with 3 braces. It was still cool, he could fire 6 shots in three turns then he'd spend the next three turns geting chopped to pieces while he reloaded.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Zekk
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 131
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-08-31
Location : Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Undead Undead
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Mon 6 Feb 2012 - 13:14

thread ressurection! because I didnt want to create a new thread..

I have the same question as DarthBlud.

Pistolier allows you to fire a pistol in the same turn it was reloaded.

So my take on this is...
Turn 1, you fire both pistols
Turn 2, you reload the first pistol, and thus could fire it that turn
Turn 3, you reload the first pistol, and thus could fire it that turn
etc etc etc

However, you wouldnt be able to fire Both pistols at the same time, until you spent one turn not firing at all, to reload the 2nd pistol.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Mon 6 Feb 2012 - 13:52

Your take is correct, Zekk. It is only possible to reload a single pistol each turn even though initially both pistols can be fired. Therefore the warrior would have to not fire any pistol in a shooting turn (when the warrior is not in close combat) to have both pistols reloaded again.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Edyy
Captain
Captain


Posts : 75
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-05-20
Age : 24
Location : Birmingham (UK)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Wed 8 Feb 2012 - 17:57

way I understand it is that with pistolier it lets you reload one pistol in the same turn that you shot it so if you have a brace then:
1st: 2 shots
2nd:1 shot
3rd: 1 shot unless you didn't shoot in the second turn in which case you get 2 shots
4th: 1 shot unless you didn't shoot in the third turn in which case you get 2 shots
etc.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Pistolier Skill   Today at 2:47

Back to top Go down
 
Pistolier Skill
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Pistolier Skill
» Skill Drain
» Jinzo/Skill Drain Question
» What is the most useful skill you ever learned?
» Skill Drain+Flip effects

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: