Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.


Mordheim Discussion
 
HomeSearchLatest imagesRegisterBlogYou'll never paint aloneLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

 

 Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Rusticus

Rusticus


Posts : 2
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2022-10-14

Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire Empty
PostSubject: Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire   Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire Icon_minitimeFri 14 Oct 2022 - 13:09

Ahoi fellow explorers

Our group just started playing Mordheim and we had our first games yesterday.

We usually play very strict by the rules with no house rules.

One of the things I couldnt figure out was, if my Captain with his Brace of Duelling Pistols can shoot in turn 2, and then charge in turn 3 and use his 2 Pistol attacks in CC.

We decided to play it so that he can only use one because it seemed logical as the other is still "preparing", but I could not find a clear answer. In the rules it says "shoot each other turn", so I can fire one pistol each turn.
But the "Hand-to-Hand" rule does not refer to this. It only says I can use them in the first turn.

Also, since the FAQ says, that a brace of duelling pistols counts as 1 weapon, I am not sure, that I can even use only 1 of the brace in CC.

So if I go by the rulebook, I can shoot 1 pistol each turn. But in the first round of CC I can always use both in the first turn of combat. It doesn't make 100% sense though.

Also I didn't realize until I played, that pistols get a -1 for long range and -1 for moving which makes them kinda meh but yeah Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire 387809

Would be noice if you could clarify

Thanks!
Back to top Go down
Nastyogre
Veteran
Veteran
Nastyogre


Posts : 118
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-03-20

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Middenheimers Middenheimers
Achievements earned: none

Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire Empty
PostSubject: Re: Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire   Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire Icon_minitimeMon 17 Oct 2022 - 16:03

Ok, remember a couple of things.

1. You can only fire one pistol at a time, unless you have the proper skill. So if you shot 1, you would still have one to shoot in CC the next turn or even that turn if you somehow ended up engaged. (Not common to shoot and end up in CC but there are some wierd circumstances)
2. Blackpowder weapons reload in 1 turn. The point of having 2 is to load and shoot 1 each turn. (Unless you have the proper skills then you can do both)
3. You can always use both in the first round of combat unless that's your reload turn. Others can correct me if I am wrong but I do not think it overrides the 1 turn to reload rule (barring hunter and pistolier skills)

Lots of shooting takes a -1 for moving. Do dueling pistols get the long range neg? I'd have to look at the sheet.


Back to top Go down
Rhydderch
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient
Rhydderch


Posts : 668
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-06-12
Location : Cumbria

Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire Empty
PostSubject: Re: Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire   Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire Icon_minitimeMon 17 Oct 2022 - 21:25

Nastyogre's completely right, really clear explanation.

& yeah, shooting is quite limited in Mordheim. Every missile weapon is -1 to hit if you moved, except a couple which specifically say as much; maybe just throwing knives, actually. I think duelling pistols still suffer from movement & from long range, but get the +1 to hit which should at least balance one of those out. Blackpowder weapons in Mordheim are meant to be quite rare & experimental, so they're not that effective.... Still, presitigious for heroes to have!
Back to top Go down
Rusticus

Rusticus


Posts : 2
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2022-10-14

Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire Empty
PostSubject: Re: Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire   Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire Icon_minitimeTue 18 Oct 2022 - 21:39

Ahoi

Thanks for your input.

I think we will just play it like we did. 1 pistol need a full turn to lead no matter if shooting of cc.

And yeah, that with the -1 for moving or long range is just a bit counterintiutive for me Suspect but I guess its okay.
In my first game the mercenary captain shot 2 enemies dead, so at least he is doing fiiiiiine pirat
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content





Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire Empty
PostSubject: Re: Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire   Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire Icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Brace of Pistols, can I use them in CC one turn after I fire
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Brace of Pistols
» Brace of pistols and second round of combat
» 2 Melee Weapons + Brace of Pistols
» clarifications about Pistolier, pistols and crossbow pistols
» Brace

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: