HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 The Restless Dead warband questions (BTB)

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
oldskoolrebel
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 16
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-05-29
Age : 30
Location : Glasgow, Scotland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: The Restless Dead warband questions (BTB)   Wed 30 Nov 2011 - 8:47

Hello,

Just having a look at the btb undead warband. It struck me as odd that the liche could wear armour and still cast, i was wondering what the designers thought process/fluff reasons for thise.


Cheers
Andy

EDIT: realised that I used the wrong warband name!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Restless Dead warband questions (BTB)   Wed 30 Nov 2011 - 19:36

My thoughts would be that they are allowed to wear armour but then they would not be able to cast spells even if they know spells. I doubt that it would ever happen obviously.

Also, it opens the door to the Liche wearing Dragon Scale Armour which CAN be worn while casting spells.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
oldskoolrebel
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 16
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-05-29
Age : 30
Location : Glasgow, Scotland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Restless Dead warband questions (BTB)   Thu 1 Dec 2011 - 1:16

RationalLemming wrote:
My thoughts would be that they are allowed to wear armour but then they would not be able to cast spells even if they know spells. I doubt that it would ever happen obviously.

Also, it opens the door to the Liche wearing Dragon Scale Armour which CAN be worn while casting spells.

Thanks for the answer; but i'm not sure. In the btb rulebook they have the warrior wizard special ability.

Warrior Wizard: The Liche may wear armour and cast spells. Indeed, it is often the clothing and armour alone that gives the Liche substance and form!

Cheers
Andy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Restless Dead warband questions (BTB)   Fri 2 Dec 2011 - 2:51

Whoops that was in the second column and I missed it. Embarassed

Well you have answered your own question. Smile The "Warrior Wizard" skill is an Academic skill in the core rulebook. The Liche starts with that skill as a special rule. Therefore the Liche can wear any armour and cast spells.

I now recall that the Liche in the Restless Dead warband in my group's last campaign had Light Armour right from the start of the campaign.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Eliazar
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1973
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2007-08-27
Age : 28
Location : Frankfurt, Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pirates (Unofficial) Pirates (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Restless Dead warband questions (BTB)   Fri 2 Dec 2011 - 3:55

Hehe, as far as I understand the initial questions, it's not if he is allowed to wear armour and cast, bu why from a fluff perspective Smile Perhaps it's for the reason stated in the special rule: only clothing and armour give it a visible form. Also, as the Liche was a very powerful wizard back in the days, it might be that he has mastered the art beforehand.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Restless Dead warband questions (BTB)   Fri 2 Dec 2011 - 5:19

Oh yes, sorry. Embarassed
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Dribble Joy
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 139
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-08-21

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Restless Dead warband questions (BTB)   Fri 2 Dec 2011 - 10:06

Aren't necromantic/khemrian spells supposed to act slightly differently than regular lores of magic?
Tomb Kings casters and vampires often wear armour.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
oldskoolrebel
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 16
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-05-29
Age : 30
Location : Glasgow, Scotland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Restless Dead warband questions (BTB)   Fri 2 Dec 2011 - 13:21

Eliazar wrote:
Hehe, as far as I understand the initial questions, it's not if he is allowed to wear armour and cast, bu why from a fluff perspective Smile Perhaps it's for the reason stated in the special rule: only clothing and armour give it a visible form. Also, as the Liche was a very powerful wizard back in the days, it might be that he has mastered the art beforehand.

Yup, thats exactly what I meant!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: The Restless Dead warband questions (BTB)   Today at 6:50

Back to top Go down
 
The Restless Dead warband questions (BTB)
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Restless Dead Alternative Warband?
» BTB - Restless Dead and the Silent Threat Objective
» Help?! Restless Dead - Liche "Magical Weapons"
» Restless dead warband
» Smokezombies WIP warbands.(updated 18/11/12 With added Ork)

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: