HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Gnoblar Fighter, Maneater warband question.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Danielks
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-06-22

PostSubject: Gnoblar Fighter, Maneater warband question.   Wed 22 Jun 2011 - 18:53

Hey all, first post on this forum and I hope its in the right place.

The question relates to the gnoblar fighter which is an item from BTB.
Its says in the description that a gnoblar fighter do not count as animals, but in all other respects are treated as wardogs. And then something about being a greenskin, a reference I dont understand.
So now my question. Does a gnoblar fighter gain experience, since he is not an animal?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BurnTheWitch
General
General


Posts : 196
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-02-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ogres (BTB) Ogres (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Gnoblar Fighter, Maneater warband question.   Wed 22 Jun 2011 - 23:54

No, because as the wardog he counts as an item!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
werekin
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 868
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-06-22
Age : 39
Location : Poole, England

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Norse (Unofficial) Norse (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Gnoblar Fighter, Maneater warband question.   Sun 26 Jun 2011 - 9:50

Like animals, Gnoblar Fighters don't gain experience.

Greenskins is one of the umbrella terms coined in Warhammer for Orcs & Goblins. It's popular use as a phrase makes it a clear winner for describing group effects relating to orcs or goblin warriors in the rules. However, there are hardly any greenskin-specific rules in Mordheim due to the limited presence of orcs in the game at the current time.

Gnoblars are hill goblins and as such they count as greenskins, as would black orcs, hobgoblins and snotlings.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/stucrweebo
Goglutin
Elder
Elder


Posts : 387
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-19
Age : 39
Location : Montréal , Canada

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Gnoblar Fighter, Maneater warband question.   Fri 28 Sep 2012 - 5:32

Hmm...

If they count as items, do they count for the maximum number of warriors ???
Back to top Go down
View user profile
crazygandalf
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 20
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-03-27
Age : 36
Location : Poland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Gnoblar Fighter, Maneater warband question.   Fri 28 Sep 2012 - 9:35

Goglutin wrote:
Hmm...

If they count as items, do they count for the maximum number of warriors ???
O course. Gnobllars have a special rule:
Quote :
Largely Insignificant: Gnoblars count towards the number of warriors in a warband but are not considered for Rout tests - neither for determining the initial warband size nor as lost models.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: Gnoblar Fighter, Maneater warband question.   Fri 28 Sep 2012 - 11:20

You write the "Gnoblar item" in the equipment box of a Hero on the roster since he is technically an item. Just like the Warhounds item. So there is not even a possibility to note down stats or experience points etc. for it.

The "no animal" rule has also other uses. E.g. I think I remember DaBank ruling (or it was just consensus) that animals could not climb ladders. So wardogs, warhounds, horses and all that other Warhammer animal stuff cannot do that (no matter what youtube videos you can find about climbing dogs). So if you came up with a monkey animal you'd best explicitly specifiy his climbing abilities if you wanted to be "clean" with the rules (although he'd probably have some "super climber" rule anyways). I can also think of some psychology related effects (probably caused by spells or prayers) where you'd wanted animals to behave different from "intelligent" human-like beings. So for these issues it is important to say that Gnoblas use the same rules are Warhounds but don't apply the "animal" bit. So that in undefined situations players can find it easier to make the right decision following the spirit of the rules.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
werekin
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 868
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-06-22
Age : 39
Location : Poole, England

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Norse (Unofficial) Norse (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Gnoblar Fighter, Maneater warband question.   Sun 14 Oct 2012 - 5:09

'Claimed' Gnoblars are also written into equipment field of an Ogre Hero.

Gnoblar Fighters represented by models on the battlefield are more comparable to the bodyguards of a Merchant Hired Sword. These kinds of models are almost deserved as being classified by a different character subtype to Hero/Henchman/Hired Sword. I tend to call them 'Retainers' when describing how they behave. We have a new variant in Marienburg currently called Halfling Valets. These pesky little sh!ts (man-servants I mean) will get themselves (in your pantry) everywhere around the city.

As Cianty correctly points out, with Fighting Gnoblars (like animals) you need to assign them to a Hero. With animals the Hero is treated as the handler, typically you'll want to give him an Animal Handling skill to improve the performance of the animal models. The models themselves can be recorded on your roster sheet in one of the Henchman group fields if you want to reference the characteristics more easily.

Animals counts towards the number of models in the warband because you have to feed them as part of the warband upkeep plus they count towards rout test. Gnoblar Fighters insignificance means that they don't count when working out routs. They still cost you from game to game in terms of upkeep which is the main thing to remember, if they live to consume your warband's rations. Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/stucrweebo
Goglutin
Elder
Elder


Posts : 387
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-19
Age : 39
Location : Montréal , Canada

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Gnoblar Fighter, Maneater warband question.   Sun 14 Oct 2012 - 6:33

Hey, by the way...Werekin...

Can you use gluttony on claimed gnoblar and gnoblar fighters?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
werekin
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 868
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-06-22
Age : 39
Location : Poole, England

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Norse (Unofficial) Norse (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Gnoblar Fighter, Maneater warband question.   Sun 14 Oct 2012 - 18:53

Gnoblar fighters are warriors represented with models, so yeh. Claimed gnoblars work like equipment, so nah.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/stucrweebo
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Gnoblar Fighter, Maneater warband question.   Today at 21:09

Back to top Go down
 
Gnoblar Fighter, Maneater warband question.
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Pitfighter Warband
» ostmark warband question from fanatic online.
» Pit Fighter Warband Need Advice
» Matt's Mad Maneater
» Wee Warband: Gnoblar Horde

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: