HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Shield + Light Armor

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
ObsidianLord
Captain
Captain


Posts : 64
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-10-22
Age : 30
Location : Italy

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Carnival of Chaos (EIF) Carnival of Chaos (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Shield + Light Armor   Wed 1 Jun 2011 - 11:15

A model equipping both a Shield and a Light armor, has an Armor Save value of 6 or 5+?
Sorry for the n4b question Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Re: Shield + Light Armor   Wed 1 Jun 2011 - 12:26

That's a 5+.

Unless of course you play the shield and handweapon house rule, in which case it becomes a 4+.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ordo Septenarius
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 227
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-10-06
Location : Portland, Oregon, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Shield + Light Armor   Wed 1 Jun 2011 - 15:43

As per the above, but implementing the "Shield always has an unmitigatable save of 6+ from the front" works too.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Re: Shield + Light Armor   Wed 1 Jun 2011 - 16:04

I've never heard of that rule, Ordo. Interesting variation. What's the rationale?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
StyrofoamKing
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1354
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-02-16
Age : 32
Location : Chantilly, DC

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pirates (Unofficial) Pirates (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Shield + Light Armor   Wed 1 Jun 2011 - 20:55

Obsidian: To clarify: it is official 5+.

DRD refers to an unofficial house that shields grant a +2 save in COMBAT. They still provide +1 against shooting.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://sites.google.com/site/styroheim/
Ordo Septenarius
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 227
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-10-06
Location : Portland, Oregon, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Shield + Light Armor   Thu 2 Jun 2011 - 10:47

@DRD1812: It's our house rule, but I know that we picked it up somewhere on these forums.

Summarily: A shield and light armor would give a 4+ save. This applies to shooting, too.

Our "6+, regardless, if the target is in front," stems from wanting to make carrying a shield a great boon. Mathematically (wasn't there a thread about this?), two models, identical in all aspects sans armament (one has 2 weapons, one has weapon and shield) will see the one dual-wielding winning more often.

Additionally, if the save roll is successful, and the particular attacker a large creature, we rule that the shield is destroyed.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Shield + Light Armor   Today at 2:50

Back to top Go down
 
Shield + Light Armor
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Shield + Light Armor
» Questions about armor and Centigor
» Sea Dragon Cloak; Armor yes or no?
» Griffon 75mm GMC Gun Shield
» China cream tea tray with two lions astride a shield

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: