HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Wyrdstone Dave
General
General


Posts : 190
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2010-07-21
Age : 46
Location : New Zealand

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Tue 17 Aug 2010 - 18:01

The halfling cookbook, as well all know, allows warbands to increase their maximum number of models by one. But does it have to be carried by a hero in battle to work?

The special equipment section says: Only Heroes may buy and carry the equipment described in this section. You may not give it to Henchmen unless the rules specifically say so.

But it is possible to store equipment for future use. The cookbook has no use in battle. So can it be stored with spare weapons or does it have to be assigned to a hero and carried by him or her (witht he resultant risk of losing it)? I could be persuaded either way...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Tue 17 Aug 2010 - 18:47

I'd say you can stash it. Unless your group just doesn't allow stashes. Makes sense story-wise, too: why lug a heavy book around when you can use that space in your backpack for all the swag you know you're gonna find?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7024
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Tue 17 Aug 2010 - 18:53

I stash it when I am not using it, i.e. when the warband size falls below my maximum, but it is always assigned when I am using the benefit so that we can feed that extra guy! Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Claus
Champion
Champion


Posts : 47
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-31
Location : Austria (nearby Vienna)

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Wed 18 Aug 2010 - 6:19

Yes. If you want to exceed the warbands maxium limit than you need to carry it with you.

If you don´t surpass it or fall below it you can stash it.

Cheers
Claus
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rudeboy
Elder
Elder


Posts : 360
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-12-01
Age : 37

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Restless Dead (BTB) Restless Dead (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Wed 18 Aug 2010 - 6:22

I like the Stash while not using sounds fair to me.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dahag
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 222
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-05-21

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Fri 20 Aug 2010 - 4:56

I'd agree with claus: stash if not using, but carry it if you're making use of it.

It's probably carried by a hero, so the probability should be quite slim to actually lose it due to the hero being robbed or dying after battle.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Wyrdstone Dave
General
General


Posts : 190
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2010-07-21
Age : 46
Location : New Zealand

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Fri 20 Aug 2010 - 15:27

Thanks everyone. That seems a fair interpretation.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Fri 8 Feb 2013 - 12:07

To keep the cookbook rules questions together.

Can someone buy 2+ cookbooks and lug them into battle and get more then just +1 warband memebers?

So if I want by my understanding of the rules as I can't find any rule (though I think there is one) that I could give my leader 2+ cookbooks and get an added 2+ warband members.
Did I over look the restriction on no more then 2 peices of equipment that are the same on a hero?

and

Could i give each hero a cookbook for +6 warband members?
per the rules it does not say you can not do this but again I could be missing something.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
garathiel
General
General


Posts : 169
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2009-11-04
Age : 31
Location : Pisa

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Fri 8 Feb 2013 - 12:27

I think that you could use ONE for EACH hero, not more .. just like all others special equipment.
Very usefull but not broken.

If I am correct the halfling scout has a copy of the cookbook too, right?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.facebook.com/garathielpaints
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Fri 8 Feb 2013 - 12:51

I thought that it was only one piece of equipment (rather no duplicates) per hero but I couldn't find that rule in a quick look so figured I would ask.
But I also remember a talk here resently about having 2+ Lucky Charms and 2+ Rabbits feet being allowed. so maybe you could load up on cook books on one hero even.

Halfling Scout has a rule that is the same but he doesn't have the cook book.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
garathiel
General
General


Posts : 169
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2009-11-04
Age : 31
Location : Pisa

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Fri 8 Feb 2013 - 12:59

Never Saw 2+ Lucky Charms and 2+ Rabbid Feets .. Smile .. need to read again the rules. (BTB too)
I like the "no duplicates" way more.

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.facebook.com/garathielpaints
Grumbaki
Knight
Knight


Posts : 88
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-27

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Fri 8 Feb 2013 - 13:04

Ok, I know what I'm doing next campaign. Ostlanders.

15 member max. +6 for halfling cookbooks, +1 for scout. So that's 22 members there. Then each hero takes the skill that allows for 2x warhounds. That's another 12 models, meaning a warband with 34 members!

Yeah, the underdog bonus would be pretty big for everyone else. But it'd be hilarious to swarm skaven warbands.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Fri 8 Feb 2013 - 13:13

I can't remember the thread (or find it) that it was talked in but as there is no rule restricting you from taking 2+ of any one item then you could stack up on those items... as the lucky charm for example is used for the first wound it would trigger all of them and in effect get more dice to try to get the 4+.
Rabbits foot would be a ton of re-rolls (some one said something about a cloack of rabbits feet in the thread).
Both would be viewed by most though as not good gamming though.

the nice thing about going 2+ cook books is that at 16+ in warband size there is no diffrence in the trading phase on getting loot so 16 or 32 is no change in your gold.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
garathiel
General
General


Posts : 169
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2009-11-04
Age : 31
Location : Pisa

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Fri 8 Feb 2013 - 14:23

.. mmm .. why not .. in the end, you must search for those items so .. you couldn't find INFINITE of them Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.facebook.com/garathielpaints
Goglutin
Elder
Elder


Posts : 387
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-19
Age : 39
Location : Montréal , Canada

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Fri 8 Feb 2013 - 16:15

Interesting... I always tought that special items were limited to 1 per character... now just imagine a band of ogre each one carrying 3-4 set of healing herbs. NIGHTMARE !

I will not bring this idea to our group or things will get ridiculous. One of my friend have a the bad habit to clone all his characters in a warband and I really dont want him to carry ''The rabbit feet fur coat of ever reroll''.

I think that kind of thiings can really ruins a game...just minding.

What is the skill that permit to have 2 wardogs by character that Grumbaki is talking about ... I dont remember seing this anywhere.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Fri 8 Feb 2013 - 16:22

i agree on that fully as a cloak of rabbits feet would be rediculus but added lucky charms not so much as they can still only be used for the first hit suffered... effectivly like lucky charms were when made just a lot more expencive.

the skill is an Ostlanders only skill called "Animal Friendship" Normal animals wont' attack the warrior (so you may have to clarify this in your group), can own up to 2 warhounds (p. 54 of rule book) that do not count towards the warbands max size.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Citizen Sade
Elder
Elder


Posts : 333
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-04-19
Location : Hitchin, Herts, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Fri 8 Feb 2013 - 16:36

Jeez, if something sounds too good to be true ...

old FAQ wrote:
Q Can each hero have a Halfling Cookbook and thus have 6 more Henchman?
A No you can only get a single extra member, multiple cookbooks are not cumulative. However it does
prevent you from losing that extra member when the hero carrying a cookbook dies.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Goglutin
Elder
Elder


Posts : 387
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-19
Age : 39
Location : Montréal , Canada

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Fri 8 Feb 2013 - 16:38

Haaaa !

THAT is the answer. I rembered seeing something like that but could not remember where...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
garathiel
General
General


Posts : 169
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2009-11-04
Age : 31
Location : Pisa

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Fri 8 Feb 2013 - 18:13

"The first time a model with a lucky charm
is hit in a battle they roll a D6. On a 4+
the hit is discarded and no damage is
suffered. Owning two or more charms
does not confer any extra benefits, the model may
still only try to discard the first hit."

And that's the second faq of the living rulebook .. Teo or more charms dose not confers any extra benefits .. I think we could expand this to rabbit too
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.facebook.com/garathielpaints
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7024
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Fri 8 Feb 2013 - 21:15

Or we could ask to see the source of the supposed 'rule' instead of treating an unsubsatantiated claim as fact. Shocked

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Citizen Sade
Elder
Elder


Posts : 333
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-04-19
Location : Hitchin, Herts, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Sat 9 Feb 2013 - 0:50

Which supposed rule are you talking about, VK?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
garathiel
General
General


Posts : 169
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2009-11-04
Age : 31
Location : Pisa

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Sat 9 Feb 2013 - 5:25

OFFICIAL Mordheim ERRATA: Page 54, Halfling Cookbook; Replace the brackets at the end of the second paragraph with:

“(note that neither an Undead warband nor a Carnival of Chaos warband can use this item).”
7.6 Lucky Charm
OFFICIAL Mordheim ERRATA: Page 53, Lucky Charm; Replace the second paragraph with:

“The first time a model with a lucky charm is hit in a battle they roll a D6. On a 4+ the hit is discarded and no damage is suffered. Owning two or more charms does not confer any extra benefits, the model may still only try to discard the first hit.”


Annual 2002 .. Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.facebook.com/garathielpaints
garathiel
General
General


Posts : 169
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2009-11-04
Age : 31
Location : Pisa

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Sat 9 Feb 2013 - 5:27

And there is a other faq that say .. Multiple cookbook are not cumulative ... Only +1 member. Annual2002 too
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.facebook.com/garathielpaints
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7024
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Sat 9 Feb 2013 - 6:22

Thnak you for the additional source.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Mon 11 Feb 2013 - 9:21

ok, thank you. That makes more sense then 6 cook books.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?   Today at 4:54

Back to top Go down
 
Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Does the halfling cookbook have to be carried?
» Halfling Cookbook and Halfling Scout
» Halfling Knight
» Dramatis Personae: Van Halfling
» Youngbloods for trade- need Talisman Halfling

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: