- Identity wrote:
- This has been debated on many occasions (e.g. https://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2637-chaos-mutation-great-claw?highlight=great+claw ), and each gaming group reaches its own conclusions. Some treat the great claw as a weapon, some treat it as an extra limb with a set attack, some treat it as a weapon you can only use once per round of combat.
It's one of the items that needs to be resolved by another rules review.
Yeah, I saw that thread. They were dealing mostly with Mutants. Personally, I think it should be handled as if it were a weapon, and the bonuses it confers are indictative of that weapon.
Mutation: Great Claw
- One of the mutant's arms ends in a Great Claw
which counts as a permanent weapon as below.Great Claw
Range: Close Combat...........Strength: As User...........Special Rules: Powerful Hit, Redundant
Powerful Hit: Grants model one extra attack at +1 S
Redundant: At least one other melee weapon (other than a Great Claw
) must be used for the model to count as dual wielding.
From reading the description, this appears to be what they intended, but stating it this way would clear up any multiple attack issues (you can use claw
or sword or whatever, all attacks besides special one are at user's strength), keeps the extra dual wield attack in (i.e. doesn't screw over Mutants), and doesn't allow a cheesy player to put two on his Possessed and claim he's dual wielding and get five attacks from the start.
If you feel 240g for a S4 T4 experience gaining hero with 5 starting attacks is fine, you can just take out the Redundant effect.