HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Rules Q's

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
atzerath
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 19
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-11

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Rules Q's   Tue 11 Nov 2008 - 3:42

3 rules Q's
- Can you shoot at different targets when you have multiple shots...? seems logic to me that if you shoot down the first target you don't shoot him again.
-Can you target a model with a spell if you're in Melee, but NOT the model you're in melee with if it's a magic attack similar to a shooting attack..?
-Can you you knock down AND take out of action a model in 1 turn with the extra attack a plague censer grants you when you hit your opponent..

thx
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: Rules Q's   Tue 11 Nov 2008 - 3:53

1. Yes (this is detailed with the quick shot skill rules I believe)
2. No (not 100% sure though, about 98%)
3. No (you will need another model to do the dirty work for you)

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Skavenblight
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 741
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-09-11
Age : 29
Location : Warsaw, Poland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Carnival of Chaos (EIF) Carnival of Chaos (EIF)
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Rules Q's   Tue 11 Nov 2008 - 4:08

atzerath wrote:
3 rules Q's
- Can you shoot at different targets when you have multiple shots...? seems logic to me that if you shoot down the first target you don't shoot him again.
Yes, why not Wink

atzerath wrote:
-Can you target a model with a spell if you're in Melee, but NOT the model you're in melee with if it's a magic attack similar to a shooting attack..?
I think - yes, except Silver Arrows of Arha.
But I'm not sure... Suspect

atzerath wrote:
-Can you you knock down AND take out of action a model in 1 turn with the extra attack a plague censer grants you when you hit your opponent..
Yes, if he fails his Toughness test, he is wounded in addition to this "normal" hit. But it's not the extra attack, only a "second chance" to wound Wink so if you wound the model twice, you roll 2 dices and choose the higher result.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://hakostwo.blogspot.com
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: Rules Q's   Tue 11 Nov 2008 - 6:07

Maybe I misunderstood the Censer question: Do you mean you want to benefit from the extra wound so that if that wound causes the enemy to be knocked down, you only need to wound with the normal hits in order to take it out? If so, that is what I meant when I said "no, you can't". As Skavenblight noted you do get roll for each sucessful wound so if the enemy fails his Toughness test and rolls "knocked down" and your hits also wound the enemy, roll again on the Injury table apply the worse result (ie, stunned or knocked down). If the failed Toughness test causes the enemy to be stunned and the Skaven's normal hits cause it to be knocked down, ignore the knocked down, as the enemy is already stunned. If the hits cause the enemy to be out of action, then apply that result.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Skavenblight
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 741
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-09-11
Age : 29
Location : Warsaw, Poland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Carnival of Chaos (EIF) Carnival of Chaos (EIF)
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Rules Q's   Tue 11 Nov 2008 - 6:23

cianty wrote:
Maybe I misunderstood the Censer question: Do you mean you want to benefit from the extra wound so that if that wound causes the enemy to be knocked down, you only need to wound with the normal hits in order to take it out? If so, that is what I meant when I said "no, you can't". As Skavenblight noted you do get roll for each sucessful wound so if the enemy fails his Toughness test and rolls "knocked down" and your hits also wound the enemy, roll again on the Injury table apply the worse result (ie, stunned or knocked down). If the failed Toughness test causes the enemy to be stunned and the Skaven's normal hits cause it to be knocked down, ignore the knocked down, as the enemy is already stunned. If the hits cause the enemy to be out of action, then apply that result.
Oh, I understand now what atzerath meant.
So Cianty is right. You can take enemy out of action, but you need not only to wound the enemy, you need also to roll "out of action" on injury roll. You can't take enemy out of action just because the model failed his test, cause it's not normal "roll to wound".
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://hakostwo.blogspot.com
Horatius
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 232
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-09-01

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Sisters of Sigmar Sisters of Sigmar
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Rules Q's   Tue 11 Nov 2008 - 9:41

The highly esteemed sages answering your questions before me are right, but they lack the quotes from the rulebook to be really convincing Wink

The answers to questions 1 and 2 can be found in the mordheim rules review (once again available from the GW homepage):
Here are the quotes:
Q: Does a model with more than one shooting attack need to declare all of his target(s) before rolling any dice, or can he decide before each shot? 14
A: He may decide before each shot.

Page 60, Silver Arrows of Arha
Replace the first sentence with:
“Unlike other spells, this cannot be cast whilst in hand-to-hand combat. The spell summons D6+2 arrows which the wizard can use to shoot against one enemy model.”

Question 3 is a bit trickier.If i remember it correctly it came up on the recently deceased specialist games forum and was anwered by one of the answermods there. The answer was something along the line that a single model´s attacks in one turn can never benefit from their own results (regardless of any special rules the weapon might have, like the crossbow pistol or the censer), you always need a second model to take advantage of stunned or knocked down.

I hope this helps to convince any doubtfull gaming partners / opponents.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Rules Q's   Tue 11 Nov 2008 - 12:49

Correct on 1 and 2 and being one of the ANSWER MODS from SG on Question number three you can not.

Once your model knocks down or stuns an enemy model you can no longer use any further attacks to do an "auto kill or auto OOA".
Back to top Go down
View user profile
atzerath
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 19
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-11

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Rules Q's   Tue 11 Nov 2008 - 13:30

okay, so 2 Q's again...
The spell i was talking about is Warpfire...My opponents Sorcerer was in melee with a Verminkin but wanted to cast Warpfire at somebody else...
reading the exact wordings from ye'olde rulebook: bla bla hitting the first model in it's path...D3 strength..more bla, even some bleh
offcourse i could have included this in my initial post but i was in a hurry!
SO the first model in it's path...whom could that be?
i thinks: NOT the enemy far far away...but the enemy right in front of you!!
My opponent was inclined to think otherwise Smile

second Q: Hey Da Bank...Where's the original specialist games forum and the specialist games site...???
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Eliazar
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1973
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2007-08-27
Age : 28
Location : Frankfurt, Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pirates (Unofficial) Pirates (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Rules Q's   Tue 11 Nov 2008 - 15:34

The forum is on the move and the site has been shut down and has been "incorporated" into the new us site... however, they apparently "missed" most of the content...

I'd say that you have to direct the warpfire at your h-t-h foe... it would be strange if you sorcerer was be fighting for his life and would still be able to look for any other targetable enemies somewhere...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ash
General
General


Posts : 197
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-16
Age : 38
Location : USA,California,Concord

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Rules Q's   Tue 11 Nov 2008 - 18:15

Eliazar wrote:
it would be strange if you sorcerer was be fighting for his life and would still be able to look for any other targetable enemies somewhere...

Unless your Neo and can look away calmly while blocking all your opponents attacks!! HA! Great imagry!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Rules Q's   Wed 12 Nov 2008 - 13:55

1)Warpfire Difficulty 8
A green flame leaps from the outstretched paw of the Sorcerer and burns its victims with
indescribable agony. The spell has a range of 8", hitting the first model in its path. The spell causes D3 Strength 4 hits on its target, and one Strength 3 hit on each model within 2" of the target.

The model in Mele would be in your way and thus would be hit.

2) Hopefully soon, that is what I am being told. They are having technical issues at the moment.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
atzerath
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 19
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-11

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Rules Q's   Wed 12 Nov 2008 - 14:52

yeah, thats what we figured so my opponent decided to use his sword instead and gut my poor Verminkin
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Rules Q's   Today at 17:22

Back to top Go down
 
Rules Q's
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Maximum Warband Size - House Rules
» Cursed hillman HS rules
» Rules for mounts and riding
» Changing the Rules? Yes or No?
» "The Victorian Affair"- Rules and Regulations.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: