HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Ogre Iron Fist Confusion

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
clibhopper
Youngblood
Youngblood
avatar

Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-05-18

PostSubject: Ogre Iron Fist Confusion   Thu 18 May 2017 - 3:11

So I feel like I must be missing something in regards to the Ogre Maneater warband from BTB. I cannot figure out the Ogre Iron Fists mechanical advantage/difference to a sword, particularly when using two of them. It looks like it just costs 5 gc more and says you can never swap/ use another melee weapon in that hand. Can anyone help me figure out what I'm missing?

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Thorolf
Youngblood
Youngblood
avatar

Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-02-12

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Shadow Warriors (Unofficial) Shadow Warriors (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Ogre Iron Fist Confusion   Thu 18 May 2017 - 8:57

If you have a sword with It  you can reroll your parry . Having 2 sword still give just 1 parry and nothing more
Back to top Go down
View user profile
clibhopper
Youngblood
Youngblood
avatar

Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-05-18

PostSubject: Re: Ogre Iron Fist Confusion   Thu 18 May 2017 - 16:45

Hmm, according to rulebook I've got access to, two swords gives you parry with a +1, was that errata-ed and I missed it?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Athanatosz
General
General
avatar

Posts : 167
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-02-09
Age : 32
Location : Hungary

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Ogre Iron Fist Confusion   Thu 18 May 2017 - 22:36

Got any reference? As i Know buckler, dwarf axe and a couple of other special weapons gives you a parry re-roll. Also as the rule states you can not parry a to hit 6 witch can be possible withe a parry +1.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
clibhopper
Youngblood
Youngblood
avatar

Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-05-18

PostSubject: Re: Ogre Iron Fist Confusion   Thu 18 May 2017 - 22:48

Sure, right now I'm looking at page 13 of the Living Rule Book I got from Broheim. The final paragraph of the Parry rules states: "If your model is armed with a buckler and a sword, you may
re-roll any failed parries once. A model armed with two
swords can still only roll once, but may add +1 to the results.
A model may not parry attacks made with twice (or more) his
own basic Strength – they are simply too powerful to be
stopped."

I THINK I have also read it in a paper rulebook, but we use my friend's copy so I don't have one in front of me.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster
avatar

Posts : 7458
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Ogre Iron Fist Confusion   Fri 19 May 2017 - 10:16

clibhopper wrote:
Hmm, according to rulebook I've got access to, two swords gives you parry with a +1, was that errata-ed and I missed it?

Who published the rulebook you use? (Edit: Oh, Broheim) I'm guessing not games workshop...


Mordheim rulebook, 2005 pp.20-21 wrote:

parry
Bucklers are small shields which offer no increase to
the armour saving throw, but allow you to parry
attacks. Swords are also used to parry enemy attacks.
When an opponent scores a hit, warriors equipped
with bucklers or swords may try to parry the blow.
Roll a D6. If the score is higher than the number your
opponent rolled to hit, the buckler or sword has
parried the strike. Note that it is therefore impossible
to parry a blow which scored a 6 on the roll to hit.

A buckler or sword may only parry one blow per
hand-to-hand combat phase. A parried blow is
ignored and has no effect. If your opponent scored
several hits, you will have to try to beat the highest
score (if the highest score is a 6, you automatically
lose the chance of parrying that opponent’s attacks).
If a model is fighting against several opponents, it may
only parry the strike from the enemy who makes the
first hit(s) (ie, the attacking model with the highest
Initiative). In the case of equal Initiative
characteristics roll a dice to decide who strikes first.
If your model is armed with a buckler and a sword,
you may re-roll any failed parries once. A model
armed with two swords can still only roll once
.
(emphasis added by me)

If you are using fan made rules, its kinda hard to do more than say its up to you then...  

One set of rules we use gives you a re-roll if you have 2 swords (as a combat skill for Sartosa) and for awhile we had a house rule that you got 2 parries if you had 2 swords.  There's a lot of different takes on the game that still call themselves Mordhiem and a few that call themselves Coreheim or Heroheim or "that 300 page rulebook".

Edit:  or Broheim... Very Happy

An actual copy of the Mordheim rulebook can be found in a number of places on the internet including yahoo groups, and the facebook mordheim group. It is usually easy to recognize as published by gw because of the copyright information included. If it ain't got that copyright it ain't the real deal.

When they first put the Mordheim rulebook on line GW called it the concept the living rulebook. The current file called the "Living rulebook" is NOT GWs version (I have no idea who the author might be).
Back to top Go down
View user profile
clibhopper
Youngblood
Youngblood
avatar

Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-05-18

PostSubject: Re: Ogre Iron Fist Confusion   Fri 19 May 2017 - 14:52

Alright, thanks for all the help guys. I've also got a digital copy of the base rule book, but thought the living rulebook was just a compilation of that with errata and a number of warbands from the Town Crier thrown in. I'll have to go do some double-checking of rules to make sure we've not messed anything else up...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster
avatar

Posts : 7458
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Ogre Iron Fist Confusion   Sat 20 May 2017 - 9:26

Well if you all agreed those were the rules you were playing by, no harm no foul. The thing that trips my group up most of the time will be that one guy who just couldn't be bothered to read the e-mail about which rules we were using for a campaign. (Or me forgetting to send the new guy said e-mail... Suspect )
Back to top Go down
View user profile
clibhopper
Youngblood
Youngblood
avatar

Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-05-18

PostSubject: Re: Ogre Iron Fist Confusion   Sat 20 May 2017 - 9:51

True enough. We're not quite that organized yet. This is our first tour as a group so its been a bit haphazard as we play. Several new players, been looking through all the erratas and Q&A's, its been a trip :-p
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Ogre Iron Fist Confusion   

Back to top Go down
 
Ogre Iron Fist Confusion
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Will Tom Welling Go To Marvel?
» FGN: The King of Iron Fist Tournament Grand Final Results + Bears (Not on stilts)
» Skaven Clan Pestilens Rat Ogre Question
» Ogre Bodyguard GLADIATOR Style
» A Fist Full of Dice!

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: