HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Basics about Intercept rules

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
FallenGnome
Warrior
Warrior
avatar

Posts : 24
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-11-28

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Basics about Intercept rules   Thu 23 Feb 2017 - 0:47

Okay, does charging warrior lose "strike first" rule if intercepted?

Then, the official intercept diagram lacks some specific cases. Here is another diagram about these special intercept cases:


Warrior X is charging warrior C. All other (A, B, D and E) are within 2" from the charge route.

1. Warrior A has his base over C's base and can intercept charging warrior for sure. (the ideal case shown in Rule book)

2. Warrior B is in same line with C, so is he allowed to intercept the charging warrior or should it have his whole base over C's like warrior A has?

3. Warrior D has his base a bit over C's, so is he allowed to intercept the charging warrior or should it have his whole base over C's like warrior A has?

4. Warrior E is completely behind warrior C, but also within 2" from "charge route". Is he allowed to intercept the charger at all?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Athanatosz
General
General
avatar

Posts : 167
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-02-09
Age : 32
Location : Hungary

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Basics about Intercept rules   Thu 23 Feb 2017 - 1:18

"Okay, does charging warrior lose "strike first" rule if intercepted?"

No

2.3 Intercepting charge
Q: If a warrior declares a charge and an opposing model can intercept him, does the model that can intercept actually move or does the fact that my charge could be intercepted simply prevent me from charging?
A: In bare essence it means that you cannot charge THAT model (i.e. check before moving the charger whether he can charge or not). However, many players move the intercepting model and let the charge be targeted against that model. [GamesWorkshop Official Mordheim's FAQ]
Q: To give this question a definitive answer once and for all: If a model wants to charge and there is another model who can Intercept, does the charge still take place (only with the intercepting model) ? Or, does the Charge not happen because a model could intercept?
A: See above. [Tuomas, Mordheim Yahoo! eGroups' FAQ]
Q: Speaking of intercepting a Charge, can you intercept a Fear causing model without taking a Fear Test?
A: No, but the fear test is for being charged. [Tuomas, Mordheim Yahoo! eGroups'FAQ]
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FallenGnome
Warrior
Warrior
avatar

Posts : 24
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-11-28

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Basics about Intercept rules   Thu 23 Feb 2017 - 1:37

Okay thanks.

"A: In bare essence it means that you cannot charge THAT model (i.e. check beforemoving the charger whether he can charge or not)." Does this mean that charger is not "charging" the intercepting warrior and loses all possible related abilities, like Unstoppable charge etc.?

How people have played the situation where intercepting warrior can't see the charger (is behind the wall), but will be within the charge route? Like next by doorpost inside the house and charger rush through the door.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Athanatosz
General
General
avatar

Posts : 167
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-02-09
Age : 32
Location : Hungary

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Basics about Intercept rules   Thu 23 Feb 2017 - 4:16

"A model may charge any model within its charge range, but it may not charge a model if there is another unengaged (ie, not in hand-to-hand combat)enemy model within 2" of the charge route (see diagram). It will undoubtedly be intercepted if it tries to run past the enemy!"

"A model may not hide if he is too close to an enemymodel – he will be seen or heard no matter how wellconcealed. Enemy warriors will always see, hear orotherwise detect hidden foes within their Initiativevalue in inches. So a warrior whose Initiative value is3 will automatically spot all hidden enemies within 3".
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Grimscull
Etheral
Etheral
avatar

Posts : 1470
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2010-11-22

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Basics about Intercept rules   Thu 23 Feb 2017 - 6:29

This is from the 2004 Rules Review, bold and underlined by me:
Quote :
Page 26, 2nd column
Replace the third paragraph (“A model may charge… past the enemy!”) with the following:
“If an unengaged (ie, not in hand-to-hand combat) enemy model lies within 2” of the charge route, that model may choose to intercept the charger if he wishes. This ‘interception area’ is shown in the diagram above. Only one enemy model may attempt to intercept each charger. If the intercepting warrior would normally require a Fear test to engage the charger then he must pass one in order to be allowed to intercept. Failure means he will not move. If the intercepting warrior causes fear then move the models into contact and then take a Fear test for the original charger (assuming he would normally do so) as if he was the one being charged. Regardless of the results of this test it is still the original charger who counts as charging in the subsequent round of combat, not the intercepting warrior.”
So, it is not enough to be within 2" of a charge route, if you want to intercept, you also have to be within the interception area. Which means in the example above, D certainly could intercept. A and B are a little tricky, as they are just on the edge of the area. I'd allow it, you might want to roll a die... E cannot intercept, as it is not in the area.
The second bold line is just to show that the intercepting model gets to be moved. How far the charger and interceptor are moved is not clear imo.

Another question: when do you guys move the interceptor. Do you declare all your charges first, then your opponent declares who intercepts. Or first charge - chance to intercept, second charge - chance to intercept... and os on. If the second way: Do you move your interceptors right away, so the first one before the second attack is declared?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FallenGnome
Warrior
Warrior
avatar

Posts : 24
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-11-28

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Basics about Intercept rules   Thu 23 Feb 2017 - 6:59

Sorry my drawing was a bit unclear. I meant with the warrior A that he is in intercept area, but this is not shown in picture. However, with A and B it clears my questions, thanks. Smile

We do it one by one, like first charge and then possible intercept (we move the intercepting model straightaway between charger and charged model) and then next charge (if there is one). This way another charger could (and usually happens) actually charge to that recently moved intercepting model.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Basics about Intercept rules   

Back to top Go down
 
Basics about Intercept rules
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Maximum Warband Size - House Rules
» Cursed hillman HS rules
» Rules for mounts and riding
» Changing the Rules? Yes or No?
» Is there a good book covering the basics for blokes?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: