HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Overriding rules

Go down 
AuthorMessage
FallenGnome
Warrior
Warrior
avatar

Posts : 24
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-11-28

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Overriding rules   Mon 28 Nov 2016 - 5:04

Questions about which override which.
Tail fighting skill allows another weapon (sword/knife), if Skaven uses two-handed weapon/halberd/spear/fighting claws. Is this correct?
Same should go with the extra arm thing, no difference.

Cumbersome rule on fc indicates that Skaven is not allowed to use any other weapon in entire battle. Tail fighting allows to pick sword/knife.
Cumbersome overrides tail fighting or not?

With two-handed rule (dbl.handed weap./halberd), warrior may not use additional weapon in close combat. Also spear's unwieldy rule says that he may not use a second weapon. Extra arm allows to take one-handed weapon/shield/buckler.
Two-handed weap/spear/halberd overrides extra arm/tail fighting or not?

Beastmen skill massive strength allows to carry two-handed in one hand, so warrior still can't use a shield/buckler/another weapon in other hand. Useless skill?
Again, does two-handed weapon rule override this skill or not?

It seems that all those skills have something common in general, where weapon rules seem to affect.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
NoisyAssassin
Warlord
Warlord
avatar

Posts : 297
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-02-09
Location : Madison, WI

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: Bronze Tom Bronze Tom

PostSubject: Re: Overriding rules   Mon 28 Nov 2016 - 10:26

In each of these cases the ability that allows the use of an additional weapon overrides the weapon-based restrictions (which assume only two limbs). For the Beastman skill, what source are you seeing that in? The official Beastman Raiders warband doesn't have it (maybe you're looking at the old Town Crier version, and not the current one?). In any case, yes, you would be able to use another weapon/shield/whatever in your other hand.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Grimscull
Etheral
Etheral
avatar

Posts : 1511
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2010-11-22

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Overriding rules   Mon 28 Nov 2016 - 10:42

The beastmen-skill (I thought it was called shaggy hide) allowed to carry a twohanded weapon in each hand. But it got "nerfed" in a revised edition of the warband list.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster
avatar

Posts : 7708
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Overriding rules   Mon 28 Nov 2016 - 17:11

The Beastman skill is from the old TC warband not the more current 'official' Empire in Flames version. Naturally the Empire in Flames version was full of errors including calling massive strength shaggy hide. Shaggy hide is a +1 Armor Save kind of skill.

Massive Strength just disappears from the skill list in the errata, thank goodness.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FallenGnome
Warrior
Warrior
avatar

Posts : 24
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-11-28

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Overriding rules   Tue 29 Nov 2016 - 2:41

Hi, thanks for answers.
Yea, I actually found a thread about that soon after posting.
This solved many puzzling things.

Can I ask another question about special critical 'Thrust'.
It says target is knocked down, and see whether the model suffers a wound. Is it clear that you are not hitting now a knocked down warrior, but instead that ko is just an end result after injury check?
Since there is no other way to make ko and hit that ko in same turn, than attack with another warrior in same base contact with that target model?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Athanatosz
General
General
avatar

Posts : 178
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-02-09
Age : 32
Location : Hungary

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Overriding rules   Tue 29 Nov 2016 - 5:01

FallenGnome wrote:
Hi, thanks for answers.
Yea, I actually found a thread about that soon after posting.
This solved many puzzling things.

Can I ask another question about special critical 'Thrust'.
It says target is knocked down, and see whether the model suffers a wound. Is it clear that you are not hitting now a knocked down warrior, but instead that ko is just an end result after injury check?
Since there is no other way to make ko and hit that ko in same turn, than attack with another warrior in same base contact with that target model?

Ooo yesterday i run to the same problem.

We solved it as the warrior is get knock down and rolled for to wound to see that the warrior suffered another wound. We played it because we interpreted the rules as multiple wounds or armor can save him/her/it if he as any. (models was a forest goblin with spear charging a chaos warhound)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DicLombardi
Veteran
Veteran
avatar

Posts : 104
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-06-17

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Merchants (BTB) Merchants (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Overriding rules   Tue 29 Nov 2016 - 17:42

I think for Thrust, its only really good on multiple wound characters, as it will knock them down regardless of how many wounds they have left. for single wound models you just roll on the injury chart as normal. at least thats how we play it.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster
avatar

Posts : 7708
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Overriding rules   Wed 30 Nov 2016 - 16:54

+1 to DicLombardi's comment.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Overriding rules   

Back to top Go down
 
Overriding rules
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Maximum Warband Size - House Rules
» Cursed hillman HS rules
» Rules for mounts and riding
» Changing the Rules? Yes or No?
» Rules and Regulations for YuGiOh Offical Tournaments

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: