HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Skaven Formation

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Athanatosz
Knight
Knight


Posts : 88
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-02-09
Age : 30
Location : Hungary

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Skaven Formation   Fri 29 Jul 2016 - 0:48

Almost a week ago my marauders had fought against a skaven warband which was 15 ratkin in strength. The wierd thing was that they try to sling me to the death in a 5 rat wide 3 row deep formation. I really do not minded it as I had won anyway but there was some interesting situation. first we had used the friendy unit cover the enemy and at a missed by 1 meant you shoot your friend in the back. also there was not possible to shoot behind a melee fight do there was a melee fight you cant target and you do not able to shoot the nearest target in that direction. (Is that right?) Also all of the skaven's tried to shoot the nearest target (mostly some marauder henchman in partial cover (bush)) after they moved and in long range with a BS:3 which meant a target number of 7. In that case we agreed that they had to roll another 6 after the first one to hit. Also does 2 partial cover (from the friendly skaven's back's and the bushes) mean a full cover so no way to shoot at the target?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Grimscull
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1263
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2010-11-22

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Skaven Formation   Fri 29 Jul 2016 - 2:10

I don't know about your own troops providing cover for the enemy. Is that in the RB? I at least cannot recall this.

You cannot shoot into melee, right, but you can shoot someone next to a melee if he's not involved in it and you can certainly shoot someone behind a melee if you can see him. In an elevated position for example.

It's right that the ratmen shot at the marauder henchman if he was the closest target, they were not in an elevated position and there was no Large Target around.

Hitting on 7s is not specified in the MH-RB I believe. In the 5th Edition Warhammer RB however, hitting on 7s ment you needed a 6 followed by 4+
Hitting on 8s ment 6 followed by 5+
Hitting on 9s ment 6 followed by a six
Hitting on 10s was impossible.

In MH unlike Warhammer, there is only cover and no cover, nothing like partial or full cover. If you are in cover, the enemy just gets -1 to hit with a ranged weapon.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Athanatosz
Knight
Knight


Posts : 88
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-02-09
Age : 30
Location : Hungary

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Skaven Formation   Fri 29 Jul 2016 - 2:49

To clarify it there was no elevated position or large targets.
In full cover I mean the warrior is behind an obstacle and there are no chance to see him from a specific point of view. (ie the shooting skaven).
So basically my questions:
Is getting 2 cover change the chances to hit?
What kind of cover does mean a melee fight in flat terrain for an unit behind it. Keeping in mind that the rules say you cant shoot into melee and you have to target the closest enemy warrior.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Athanatosz
Knight
Knight


Posts : 88
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-02-09
Age : 30
Location : Hungary

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Skaven Formation   Fri 29 Jul 2016 - 3:18

Grimscull wrote:
I don't know about your own troops providing cover for the enemy. Is that in the RB? I at least cannot recall this.

For the warrior giving cover thing:
Page 30, 1st column Insert the following new paragraph after the first paragraph and before the diagram:
“If a shot misses its target by 1, and that target claimed the -1 modifier for cover, then the shot strikes the cover instead. Normally this doesn’t matter, but in the case where a model is concealed behind another warrior, or when the cover is a powder keg, it might be extremely important!”
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Grimscull
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1263
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2010-11-22

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Skaven Formation   Fri 29 Jul 2016 - 4:00

You are right about all other models providing cover. We just always played the way that you can freely see through your own models. Seems to be a house rule...

If a model cannot be seen at all by a specific enemy model (or just a feather in the hat or sonething), it cannot be targeted by this model. If parts of the body can be seen, it's in cover and -1 to hit.

By the way if your marauder henchman that was the closest enemy was in cover, the skaven could have shot at an enemy that was further away and not in cover.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
bitxo
Champion
Champion


Posts : 47
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-02-09

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Skaven Formation   Sun 31 Jul 2016 - 5:48

that's a nice house rule, and you allways have the risk of rolling a 1 hitting you own model, making it pretty "mordheimish" (every advantage comes with a risk).
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Skaven Formation   Today at 14:54

Back to top Go down
 
Skaven Formation
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» two new wips for my skaven redo
» Skaven totally over powered?
» Skaven Modeling questions... Conversions!
» Skaven or not?
» Skaven Clan Pestilens Rat Ogre Question

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: