HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 question about lad's got talent

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
bitxo
Champion
Champion


Posts : 54
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-02-09

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: question about lad's got talent   Thu 26 May 2016 - 13:32

With he group I used to play with, when a hechmen group rolled "lad's got talent" the promoted hero automatically rolled again for an advance:

Ex. Henchmen with 2exp. roll their first advance and get "lad's got talent". The new hero rolls again to know what advance he gets.

The group I'm playing with right now don't make that second roll for the promoted hero. I don't know if it's because the Spanish translation of the rulebook leads to a different interpretation, but I've allways thought I was doing it right.

So, wich interpretation is the right one?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: question about lad's got talent   Thu 26 May 2016 - 17:28

Going by RAW in the english rules, yes, a newly promoted TLGT hero gets to roll once on the hero table. It is pretty unambiguously there in the rulebook (in the 'The Lad's Got Talent section, obviously Smile) so if you can have it handy next time you play you should be able to point it out fairly easily.

I don't speak Spanish, nor do I have the Spanish translation so I can't tell you what it says in their version.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: question about lad's got talent   Fri 27 May 2016 - 0:10

This is the rules as quoted from the English rulebook. I have emphasised the text that states that the new Hero gets a roll for an Advance on the Hero table.

Quote :
10-12 The ladís got talent. One model in the group becomes a Hero. If you already have the maximum number of Heroes, roll again. The new Hero remains the same Henchman type (eg, a Ghoul stays as a Ghoul) and starts with the same experience the Henchman had, with all his characteristic increases intact. You may choose two skill lists available to Heroes in your warband. These are the skill types your new Hero can choose from when he gains new skills. He can immediately make one roll on the Heroes Advance table. The remaining members of the Henchmen group, if any, roll again for the advance that they have earned, re-rolling any results of 10-12.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
bitxo
Champion
Champion


Posts : 54
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-02-09

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: question about lad's got talent   Fri 27 May 2016 - 3:20

I see, thank you for the clarification. Following the original Spanish translation would be something like "...he MAY roll on the heroes advance table..." so it's open to interpretation, as he may or may not roll again depending if he has earned more than one advance. In the latest revised rulebook the text is more accurate to the English original, tho.

As for the remaining henchmen group... in the example I told you, should they roll again in the henchmen table? the text says they can, but do usually play that way?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7021
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: question about lad's got talent   Fri 27 May 2016 - 4:49

Quote :
As for the remaining henchmen group... in the example I told you, should they roll again in the henchmen table? the text says they can, but do usually play that way?

Of course. The relevant rule is quoted above, in English that particular sentence is written in the imperative leaving little room for fabricating a reason not to.

Generally if there is any confusion in our group with a newer player over that rule, it is because they don't have a copy of the rules (because they refuse to look one up on the internet) or just didn't read them.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: question about lad's got talent   Today at 16:09

Back to top Go down
 
question about lad's got talent
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Question About Gladiator beasts.
» Dark Fusion / Mirror Force question
» About the "lad's got talent" rule
» Lads got talent...
» Question about Reinforce Truth

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: