HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Mutations & Blessings of Nurgle Questions

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
s6nculve
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 16
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2015-10-19

PostSubject: Mutations & Blessings of Nurgle Questions   Mon 26 Oct 2015 - 1:53

I have a few questions in regards to the Carnival of Chaos Tainted Ones:

Are Blessings of Nurgle Mutations?

Is the second and later Blessings/Mutations paid at double cost; or is the cost increase specific to named Blessings/Mutations. For example, if I buy two Extra Arms and two Great Claws will I pay: Extra Arms [40 gc], Extra Arms [80 gc], Great Claws [50 gc], Great Claws [100 gc]?

Can a Tainted One have more than one of the same Blessing of Nurgle and do they stack?

Are Blessings of Nurgle, or Mutations, subject to Characteristic caps?

If anyone could answer these for me that would be great. Also references to the sources are greatly appreciated. My campaign group and I are fairly new to Mordheim and we're all trying to come to a consensus on these issues. Thank you for your help. Smile


Last edited by s6nculve on Mon 26 Oct 2015 - 12:08; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mudboy
Champion
Champion


Posts : 49
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-11-20
Age : 32
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Mutations & Blessings of Nurgle Questions   Mon 26 Oct 2015 - 9:13

Quote :
Are Blessings of Nurgle Mutations?
No. Nowhere is it stated that they are Mutations

Quote :
Is the second and later Blessings/Mutations paid at double cost; or is the cost increase specific to named Blessings/Mutations. For example, if I buy two Extra Arms and two Great Claws will I pay: Extra Arms [40 gc], Extra Arms [80 gc], Great Claws [50 gc], Great Claws [100 gc]?
I think we might be looking at different versions as there is not any way for them to buy Great Claw or Extra arm mutations anywhere in my version. It sounds like you're mixing it up with the Possessed Mutations from the rulebook. But the Blessings state that the first one is at normal price and any other is double.

Quote :
Can a Tainted One have more than one of the same Blessing of Nurgle and do they stack?
While it's not stated that you can I would'nt allow it in my campaigns. 3W T6 M1 with -4 to hit modifiers is just plain silly Razz

Quote :
Are Blessings of Nurgle, or Mutations, subject to Characteristic caps?
Usually Blessings/Mutations can take a models characteristics above the normal cap as they are extraordinary circumstances.


Hope this helps
Back to top Go down
View user profile
s6nculve
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 16
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2015-10-19

PostSubject: Re: Mutations & Blessings of Nurgle Questions   Mon 26 Oct 2015 - 12:07

Quote :
Is the second and later Blessings/Mutations paid at double cost; or is the cost increase specific to named Blessings/Mutations. For example, if I buy two Extra Arms and two Great Claws will I pay: Extra Arms [40 gc], Extra Arms [80 gc], Great Claws [50 gc], Great Claws [100 gc]?

I think we might be looking at different versions as there is not any way for them to buy Great Claw or Extra arm mutations anywhere in my version. It sounds like you're mixing it up with the Possessed Mutations from the rulebook. But the Blessings state that the first one is at normal price and any other is double.

Sorry, I was thinking of the Cult of the Possessed and Mutations.

Quote :
Can a Tainted One have more than one of the same Blessing of Nurgle and do they stack?

While it's not stated that you can I would'nt allow it in my campaigns. 3W T6 M1 with -4 to hit modifiers is just plain silly Razz

We've been treating Blessings of Nurgle as Mutations so I've been going of the FAQ:

Q: Can you take a multiple of the same mutation so that each one gives you a benefit? For example: Tentacle twice for -1 Attack per tentacle.

A: Yes. However, in order to get three Tentacles, you must first buy the Extra Arm mutation as the Tentacle has to have an arm to grow from. You can have multiples of any of the mutations with cumulative effects. But, remember that a Possessed with say, two Blackbloods costs 180 GC! [Games Workshop Official Mordheim's FAQ]
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7024
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Mutations & Blessings of Nurgle Questions   Mon 26 Oct 2015 - 18:01

Quote :

Quote :
Can a Tainted One have more than one of the same Blessing of Nurgle and do they stack?
While it's not stated that you can I would'nt allow it in my campaigns. 3W T6 M1 with -4 to hit modifiers is just plain silly Razz

+1 to that.

Using the FAQ may be all you have to go by, but that FAQ was published long before the Carnival warband. If you go by what the Carnival warband says (which with a dead game is all we got), the Blessings are diseases and decay not mutations.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
s6nculve
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 16
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2015-10-19

PostSubject: Re: Mutations & Blessings of Nurgle Questions   Mon 26 Oct 2015 - 18:40

Von Kurst wrote:
Quote :

Quote :
Can a Tainted One have more than one of the same Blessing of Nurgle and do they stack?

While it's not stated that you can I would'nt allow it in my campaigns. 3W T6 M1 with -4 to hit modifiers is just plain silly  Razz

+1 to that.

Using the FAQ may be all you have to go by, but that FAQ was published long before the Carnival warband.  If you go by what the Carnival warband says (which with a dead game is all we got), the Blessings are diseases and decay not mutations.

Okay, fair enough.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Mutations & Blessings of Nurgle Questions   Today at 21:08

Back to top Go down
 
Mutations & Blessings of Nurgle Questions
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Possessed and Mutations
» mark 3 questions
» Nurgle's Rot?
» Horus Questions
» Nurgle's Rot

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: