HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Flagellants Leadership

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
qboid
Elder
Elder


Posts : 309
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-18
Age : 44
Location : Solent, UK

PostSubject: Flagellants Leadership   Sun 29 Mar 2015 - 16:52

Hiya,

We have noticed an oddity:

Flagellants have Ld10.
Human max stats states max Ld is 9.

So they already start with a higher Ld than they are allowed, which must be costed into them, they get no use from this as they auto pass any Ld based tests, and yet this means there are now two hench advances that are useless to them (Ld + Bs).

Surely something about this has been corrected somewhere and i haven't seen it?

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6916
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Flagellants Leadership   Sun 29 Mar 2015 - 20:54

No that was how they intended it. No explanation of course aside from that was the stat line for flagellants in 4th and 5th edition Warhammer.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MasterSpark
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 265
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-12-12
Location : Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Undead Undead
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Flagellants Leadership   Mon 30 Mar 2015 - 1:32

There are some things that target a model's leadership, the flaggies will have an advantage there. The lure of chaos spell is one such thing and there's probably more. And remember that they'll get to re-roll a leadership advance which is a pretty big bonus, so I don't think there's really anything bad about the flagellants' LD.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Retarded Monkey
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2015-03-07

PostSubject: Re: Flagellants Leadership   Sat 4 Apr 2015 - 10:46

I guess it makes sense since it means they don't get an almost completely useless advancement if they roll leadership - instead they get to re-roll it to something more useful

EDIT - This reminded me of a confusing situation that me and my group encountered - If your leader dies you are meant to use the next highest leadership for rout tests... does this mean you use your flagellants 10 leadership for rout tests? Seems a bit powerful. One of our group also has 10 Ld for his Nurglings as well, do they do the same?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
davinewrath
Champion
Champion


Posts : 56
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-01-30
Age : 32
Location : York, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Flagellants Leadership   Sat 4 Apr 2015 - 11:03

A flagellant can never be the warband's leader, and the way I've always played it is that they also can't be used for rout tests if your leader is OoA. I'm not sure if it's mentioned in the rules, but I'd reason the daemons in a Carnival of Chaos warband should behave similarly.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Flagellants Leadership   Sat 4 Apr 2015 - 18:49

Retarded Monkey wrote:
If your leader dies you are meant to use the next highest leadership for rout tests... does this mean you use your flagellants 10 leadership for rout tests? Seems a bit powerful.

It's a pretty bad situation to lose your Leader. Witch Hunters will never rout, if they lose their leader, as long as you have a Flagellant standing, as he automatically passes Leadership-based tests. It seems pretty fluffy too; they're a vengeful sort.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Retarded Monkey
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2015-03-07

PostSubject: Re: Flagellants Leadership   Sun 5 Apr 2015 - 3:22

I can understand where both of you are coming from - I think when it came up we went with the idea that they can't be your leader so you don't take their leadership.

But like you are saying, fluff wise it would make sense to use their leadership (Even though your leader is dead you still have these crazed melee monsters running about beating people... why would you run!)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Flagellants Leadership   Today at 16:12

Back to top Go down
 
Flagellants Leadership
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Rout tests and flagellants?
» Best GW plastic kits
» Bratzor's Warbands
» Witch hunters: Wrath of Sigmar
» Clan Moulder!

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: