HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Question - Skill: Magical Aptitude

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Klawful
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 11
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-01-29

PostSubject: Question - Skill: Magical Aptitude   Fri 19 Sep 2014 - 14:25

Regarding that new academic skill "Magical Aptitude" ....

‘Magical Aptitude’ – The wizard has a keen aptitude for magic and can push himself beyond the normal limits to produce a storm of spells. He may attempt to cast two spells each turn as long as he is not engaged in combat. However, after resolving the spells make a Toughness test. If he fails, suffer an injury and treat Out of Action results as Stunned. This skill may only be taken by warriors capable of casting spells. Sisters of Sigmar and Warrior-Priests may not use this skill.

If the model has multiple wounds, is this taken as a wound, or does it count as them instantly being stunned regardless?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6910
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Question - Skill: Magical Aptitude   Fri 19 Sep 2014 - 16:44

Answers could depend on where the 'new' skill is found. Where did you encounter this skill?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
NoisyAssassin
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 283
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-02-09
Location : Madison, WI

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: Bronze Tom Bronze Tom

PostSubject: Re: Question - Skill: Magical Aptitude   Fri 19 Sep 2014 - 18:01

Pretty sure it's from the 2002 Annual. It should act exactly the same as the Chaos ritual Dark Blood: aka since it specifies an injury roll and not a wound it doesn't matter how many wounds the caster has, they still have to roll for injury.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Question - Skill: Magical Aptitude   Fri 19 Sep 2014 - 19:50

Not new... it appeared in Town Crier 7, p. 9. Here is how it is worded there:

"Magical Aptitude: This skill may only be taken by a warrior capable of casting spells. It may not be used by Sisters of Sigmar or Warrior Priests. The warrior has a keep aptitude for magic and can push himself beyond normal limits to produce a storm of spells. The warrior may attempt to cast two spells each turn as long as he is not in hand-to-hand combat. After attempting the first spell, he must take a toughness test. If he passes he may attempt a second spell that turn or even cast the same spell twice. If he fails he must roll on the injury table immediately with no saves treating Out Of Action results as Stunned instead."

This version of the skill is very close than Klawful's version, but with one important difference: Klawful's version says the model suffers an injury (which would mean a two-wound model would lose a wound) but the TC7 version specifies that a model who fails the Toughness test immediately rolls on the Injury table, so having multiple wounds would not help. As far as I know, GW never modified this skill and the TC7 version is the correct one. I might well have missed a change, though.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6910
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Question - Skill: Magical Aptitude   Fri 19 Sep 2014 - 20:51

The 2002 Annual reprinted the skill with no change in wording from the TC, which is rare. (See p. 87)

Both the TC and the Annual would be the 'official' version of the skill.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Question - Skill: Magical Aptitude   Today at 9:34

Back to top Go down
 
Question - Skill: Magical Aptitude
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» question about magical dimension
» Jinzo/Skill Drain Question
» magical citadel of endymion question
» Ruling question about Skill drain VS Jinzo
» Triode/pentode switch question

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: