HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 tentacles (mutants rules)

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
xarly22
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 114
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-23
Age : 31
Location : MADRID (SPAIN)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Reiklanders Reiklanders
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: tentacles (mutants rules)   Wed 24 Sep 2008 - 0:04

hi people, i have a question about using tentacle for a mutant.
some models are represented with the tentacle on their arms, in that case, could a mutant with tentacle use two weapons in close combat or shoot with a bow?
must they use the arm only for the tentacle and they cant use the arm for another things?
can they use their weapons catching with the tentacle?, or simply the tentacles dont causes effects in carring weapons?'
i think that the last question is right, but im not really sure, some players sais another things, could you help me with that??
thanks for your time guys!! lol!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: tentacles (mutants rules)   Wed 24 Sep 2008 - 1:12

Well a bit of common sense is required.

In a game of fantasy including deamons and other unrealistic crap, anything is possible.

The crab claw mutant says clearly that a weapon cannot be used with it.

The tentacle o death doesnt.

Logic: You can use a weapon with the arm (it works as a normal arm) BUT realisticly you cannot grapple someone and hit them over the head at the same time with one arm, so you must choose which you want (the grapple rule or use a weapon).

Remember the number one rule of mordheim; the game is about fun!
Back to top Go down
xarly22
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 114
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-23
Age : 31
Location : MADRID (SPAIN)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Reiklanders Reiklanders
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: tentacles (mutants rules)   Wed 24 Sep 2008 - 11:47

mrbretonnia wrote:
Well a bit of common sense is required.

In a game of fantasy including deamons and other unrealistic crap, anything is possible.

The crab claw mutant says clearly that a weapon cannot be used with it.

The tentacle o death doesnt.

Logic: You can use a weapon with the arm (it works as a normal arm) BUT realisticly you cannot grapple someone and hit them over the head at the same time with one arm, so you must choose which you want (the grapple rule or use a weapon).

Remember the number one rule of mordheim; the game is about fun!

thanks man, i think like you but some people sais that the tentacle could be in another part, for example in an extra-arm, on the back, on the "tongue", we can have a lot of imagination, but i need to know if there is a faq speaking about this rule, becuase i havent got it.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Eliazar
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1973
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2007-08-27
Age : 28
Location : Frankfurt, Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pirates (Unofficial) Pirates (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: tentacles (mutants rules)   Wed 24 Sep 2008 - 12:17

Mordheim LRB wrote:
One of the mutantís arms ends in a tentacle. He may
grapple his opponent in close combat to reduce his
attacks by -1, down to a minimum of 1. The mutant
may decide which attack his opponent loses.

It clearly says that one arm ends in a tentacle. So no tongue or foot or whatever.

As for holding a weapon, I'd agree with mrbretonnia and yourself. Here's the passage of the Great Claw again:

Mordheim LRB wrote:
He may carry no weapons in this arm, but gains
an extra attack in hand-to-hand combat with a +1
Strength bonus.

As you both agree, it specifically says that no weapon can be used, but it does not say so with the Tentacle, thus we are right Wink (at least I hope so)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pathfinder Dubstyles
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 772
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-04-10
Age : 32
Location : North Carolina, US

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: tentacles (mutants rules)   Thu 25 Sep 2008 - 17:00

I had this same question when a started playing a few months ago. We ruled that since it costs so much it does not effect weapon use at all.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.creativecasualty.net
MyLittlePwny
Elder
Elder


Posts : 364
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-20
Age : 31
Location : Copenhagen_Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: tentacles (mutants rules)   Thu 20 Nov 2008 - 13:05

i agree!
besides, the text doesn't state any loss of attacks, just that you additionally can stop one of the opponents attacks
Back to top Go down
View user profile
StyrofoamKing
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1354
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-02-16
Age : 32
Location : Chantilly, DC

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pirates (Unofficial) Pirates (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: tentacles (mutants rules)   Thu 20 Nov 2008 - 14:16

By the way, the house rules our group uses is "it negates ONE attack of your choice against you each turn." This means, if you're attacked by a hero with an axe and sword, you may choose to negate the axe blow. But if two warriors attack you, you may only negate one attack total, not one per attacker.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://sites.google.com/site/styroheim/
Drud
Hero
Hero


Posts : 38
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-09-02
Age : 30
Location : Copenhagen, Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: tentacles (mutants rules)   Thu 20 Nov 2008 - 14:56

I must admit I've never even considered the question - and I'm the only one in our group playing Possessed... Embarassed
I've always assumed that since the tentacle replaces an arm, it would also replace the abilities of the arm, specifically holding and utilizing a weapon or shield. This fact has always made me think the mutation was crappy [well, overpriced at least] - if you can both grapple and battle with the armtacle it'd be a choice to consider.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Paluke
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 759
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2008-11-22
Age : 31
Location : Netherlands, Groningen

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: tentacles (mutants rules)   Sun 23 Nov 2008 - 6:19

Drud wrote:
I must admit I've never even considered the question - and I'm the only one in our group playing Possessed... Embarassed
I've always assumed that since the tentacle replaces an arm, it would also replace the abilities of the arm, specifically holding and utilizing a weapon or shield. This fact has always made me think the mutation was crappy [well, overpriced at least] - if you can both grapple and battle with the armtacle it'd be a choice to consider.

You can do both, just not at the same time Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: tentacles (mutants rules)   Today at 9:32

Back to top Go down
 
tentacles (mutants rules)
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Maximum Warband Size - House Rules
» Cursed hillman HS rules
» Rules for mounts and riding
» Changing the Rules? Yes or No?
» "The Victorian Affair"- Rules and Regulations.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: