HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Luck of Shemtek question

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
cuchulain23
Champion
Champion


Posts : 51
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-04-21
Location : Syrcause, NY

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Luck of Shemtek question   Mon 28 Apr 2014 - 23:39

We were playing a game the other day and one of the players cast their Luck of Shemtek spell (caster may re-roll all failed rolls).

My player says that she can re-roll injury rolls. I said no, because you cannot "fail" that roll. You may not get the result you want, but that does not constitute a re-roll.

What are the opinions of the community?

Regards,

cuchulain23

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike
Elder
Elder


Posts : 390
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-19
Location : Cascades, Washington State

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Luck of Shemtek question   Tue 29 Apr 2014 - 0:06

I agree that it is not a failed roll. The attack has hit and wounded, the injury table is not a fail even if you would prefer an out of action over a knockdown.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
flipchuck
Elder
Elder


Posts : 354
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-17
Age : 38
Location : Edmonton, Canada

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Luck of Shemtek question   Tue 29 Apr 2014 - 1:33

I agree as well that the injury roll isnt a failed roll. Even a crappy roll on the injury roll is effecting the model in some way.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Luck of Shemtek question   Tue 29 Apr 2014 - 1:45

It is not a failed roll for the player being attacked but rather it is a SUCCESSFUL roll for the player who is attacking. I hope your player can happily accept this.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
cuchulain23
Champion
Champion


Posts : 51
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-04-21
Location : Syrcause, NY

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Luck of Shemtek question   Wed 30 Apr 2014 - 0:03

Thank you all for the responses. My players agreed with my explanation, I just wanted to make sure that I was not the only one to think this way.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rhoaran
Champion
Champion


Posts : 56
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-05-03
Location : Iowa, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Luck of Shemtek question   Thu 1 May 2014 - 19:29

I agree with the others but I wanted to put in how this spell is so rarely helpful.  It's great but it obviously cant help in the shooting phase since thats when you cast it.  Wizards dont often wear armor (thus cant reroll) and usually have deplorable stats for melee...so when is it supposed to be useful?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike
Elder
Elder


Posts : 390
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-19
Location : Cascades, Washington State

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Luck of Shemtek question   Thu 1 May 2014 - 19:46

With the randomness of advancements a caster could have decent melee stats and find himself in close combat whether he likes it or not. Its a luck spell, maybe he could get lucky and down that foe?

Edit:
Also to add there are those characters that may have access to the academic skill set and could acquire the use of lesser magic with an arcane tome. For a melee this spell would be very nice and has a low roll needed to succeed. Could be very nasty in the right combination.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Luck of Shemtek question   Thu 1 May 2014 - 21:04

I have suffered through 5 hired Warlocks in the current campaign with either the spells Luck and Dread or Luck and Flight.  Most.  Useless. Warlocks. Ever.  Everyone else's Warlock is showering my warband with Silver Arrows or Fireballs, mine are Lucky.  Rhymes with...

Anyway exactly because they are horrible at melee, the Luck spell is all they had going for them.  At least with a successful cast the Warlock can re-roll those failed rolls to hit and/or wound.  

I remember fondly a Warlock from a previous campaign with the Sword spell and Luck, he was dangerous. Twisted Evil


Last edited by Von Kurst on Thu 1 May 2014 - 22:15; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Luck of Shemtek question   Thu 1 May 2014 - 21:55

@VK...  lol! 
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Luck of Shemtek question   Thu 1 May 2014 - 22:16

What can I say?  clown 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Luck of Shemtek question   Fri 15 Aug 2014 - 6:38

Rhoaran: "I agree with the others but I wanted to put in how this spell is so rarely helpful. It's great but it obviously cant help in the shooting phase since thats when you cast it. Wizards dont often wear armor (thus cant reroll) and usually have deplorable stats for melee...so when is it supposed to be useful?"

In our current campaign my wife and I both started with this as one of our spells, and both felt it was useless. Stacy's wizard had the Flaming Sword spell, though, and they make a nice combination since she does not halve to recast that spell every round so she often has it and the LoS spell both up - an extremely effective combination (last game she made short work of a banshee, for example). My wizard doesn't have the fancy-shmancy flaming sword of doom spell (I am not jealous at all) but she keeps finding herself in melee, and the reroll from the Luck has kept her alive and earned her a lot of extra experience.

All in all, in practice it has been a much better spell than I realized. But mainly it is helpful in melee.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Luck of Shemtek question   Fri 15 Aug 2014 - 10:28

Also, there are academic skills that will let a caster cast more than once. In my group we allow casters to pick their first spell, but all after that must be rolled. Pretty much noone ever picks Luck of Shemtec as their first spell, but noone has ever complained about getting it as their second spell.

Also, it makes a good spell for a lesser magic tattoo.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Luck of Shemtek question   Fri 15 Aug 2014 - 10:46

We have the same house rule, Lord O. I picked Flight of Zimmerman and Stacy picked Flaming Sword of Smitiocity; we both rolled Luck as our second spell.

Ironically, it is always my wizard rather than hers who is standing right there when the undead come swarming over the walls.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Luck of Shemtek question   Today at 2:33

Back to top Go down
 
Luck of Shemtek question
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Question About Gladiator beasts.
» Dark Fusion / Mirror Force question
» Bad luck with first HO meal
» Question about Reinforce Truth
» Question on scrap dragon

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: