HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Short questions, short answers...

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
AuthorMessage
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 13 May 2014 - 14:16

Thanks Mike!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 13 May 2014 - 15:56

I just did some research. The "Day of the Dinosaur" scenario was written by Jeff Hogg with help by Tommy Punk. Here is the Yahoo Groups post.
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/mordheim/conversations/messages/25525

I then found this Lizardmen warband created by Tommy Punk which contains Skink Hoppers.
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/mordheim/conversations/messages/17042

The warband listing says that they can be given the same equipment as a Skink Brave. That still doesn't give a definite answer for the Hired Sword but might give some direction as to the original thoughts for that type of warrior.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 13 May 2014 - 16:42

And actually you found the equipment for the Hired Sword who is listed in the scenario toward the end of the Yahoo groups post.
Jeff Hogg wrote:
Equipment: The Skink Hopper carries a short bow and a dagger.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 13 May 2014 - 20:18

Oh. I missed that!  Laughing 
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 13 May 2014 - 21:50

I assume the 'vault' that Jeff refers to is long gone or is it hidden in there somewhere? "Files" doesn't have much in it. How do you search the Group for posts? or topics for that matter?

I've never understood how to use the Yahoo Groups sites very well. Mostly they just annoy me.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Wed 14 May 2014 - 2:53

I don't know what the 'vault' is either. I agree that it is probably long gone.

There is a search box at the of the page for Yahoo Groups. The "Search Groups" button seems to search through the current group that is open. Searching for "skink hopper" gave me the results for those pages and a few others.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Wed 14 May 2014 - 7:04

Took me forever to find the search groups button  Rolling Eyes 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Seikilos
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 127
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-03-14
Location : Wertheim, germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 18 May 2014 - 9:14

Does "Singing Wind" (Amazon Rituals) affect only enemy models or my own models as well?

Can "Idol of Gork" (Forestgoblin Magic) cast more than one time and sums up? Or does it count only once?

When henchman become heoes, can they now also get the equipment, which would also be available for heroes? And does he lose the possibility to get equipment, which would be only available to henchmen?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
davinewrath
Champion
Champion


Posts : 56
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-01-30
Age : 32
Location : York, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 18 May 2014 - 15:49

Quote :
When henchman become heoes, can they now also get the equipment, which would also be available for heroes? And does he lose the possibility to get equipment, which would be only available to henchmen?

They keep their original henchman equipment list.  They don't gain access to the heroes equipment list.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Seikilos
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 127
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-03-14
Location : Wertheim, germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 19 May 2014 - 6:45

Thank you... pretty bad =/ I thought they can get hero equipment, too, as they are heroes after tlgt.

Another question:

How do melee-weapons work, which have a sort of range. For example whips can attack in hand-to-hand-combat, but have a range of 4". If the attacker attacks with a whip, does he count as "in combat"? Does the model have to make a charge move in his movement phase?

Or does it count like a ranged attack, only in another phase and being made with his ws instead of his bs?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 19 May 2014 - 11:11

It is because of this confusion that they have been patched. They no longer have range, they instead have a thing called 'whipcrack'.
The new whip rule wrote:

Whipcrack:
when the wielder charges they gain +1A for that turn. This bonus attack is added after any other modifications. When the wielder is charged they gain +1A that they may only use against the charger. This additional attack will ‘strike first’. If the wielder is simultaneously charged by two or more opponents they will still only receive a total of +1A. If the wielder is using two whips at the same time then they get +1A for the additional hand weapon, but only
the first whip gets the whipcrack +1A.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
davinewrath
Champion
Champion


Posts : 56
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-01-30
Age : 32
Location : York, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Wed 21 May 2014 - 10:25

Does the rout test count as a leadership test or not?

I'm sure I've read somewhere that it doesn't, but I can't find where. This is due to a question about the Songster skill in particular - would the warband leader gain the +1 Ld bonus and re-roll when making a rout test?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike
Elder
Elder


Posts : 390
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-19
Location : Cascades, Washington State

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Wed 21 May 2014 - 11:24

Quote :
Songster:
A Bard's rousing war songs steel the hearts of all those around him. Any friendly model within 6" of a Bard may re-roll any failed
Leadership test with a +1 to Leadership. This includes rout tests.

Yes.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
flipchuck
Elder
Elder


Posts : 354
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-17
Age : 38
Location : Edmonton, Canada

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Wed 21 May 2014 - 11:26

I do believe that the route test does count as a leadership test. You are rolling under your leader's leadership stat.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
davinewrath
Champion
Champion


Posts : 56
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-01-30
Age : 32
Location : York, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Thu 22 May 2014 - 8:35

I got confused, as I felt sure I'd read somewhere that it didn't, then realised I've never played it as not being a Ld test and couldn't find anything official that said it wasn't. I've probably been reading too many 'rules arguments' threads Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
flipchuck
Elder
Elder


Posts : 354
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-17
Age : 38
Location : Edmonton, Canada

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Thu 22 May 2014 - 10:39

And I never mind if someome used a leardership bonus for spells or items for their route tests. If they want to stay in the game for some more butt kicking (their's), by all means. I'm game. Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Theycallmejosh
Captain
Captain


Posts : 69
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-12-24

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 1 Jun 2014 - 8:55

Can you climb and charge?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike
Elder
Elder


Posts : 390
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-19
Location : Cascades, Washington State

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 1 Jun 2014 - 10:19

No, you can move up to your normal movement but not run.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 1 Jun 2014 - 10:38

Gonna disagree again Mike.  Smile  This is from those pesky hard to find FAQs:



As a side note this question gets asked a lot, but if you search for the answer its hard to find because the discussion is usually inside a thread like this...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 1 Jun 2014 - 15:29

Charging moves at double rate but is not classified as running. For example it is not possible to run within 8" of an enemy warrior but it is possible to charge.

A thread like this is quick to use but having a separate thread for each unique an is better in the long run for people who search for answers.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Mike
Elder
Elder


Posts : 390
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-19
Location : Cascades, Washington State

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 1 Jun 2014 - 15:33

Just doesn't sort out well. So do they think you declare the charge before the climb? Are you in base contact with the wall at the beginning of your turn as the rules state? It says you cannot run in a climb but the charge works in there somehow?

That looks like it's possibly from a Town Cryer? I know there are vague rules but that would directly contradict what is in the rulebook. Are buildings good positions? Yes. But you can climb them, can charge in the next round if you haven't been charged yourself. If you are in an elevated position and see someone hauling themselves over the lip of the obstacle, you should definitely have the time to be the first to react.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike
Elder
Elder


Posts : 390
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-19
Location : Cascades, Washington State

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 1 Jun 2014 - 15:38

RationalLemming wrote:
Charging moves at double rate but is not classified as running. For example it is not possible to run within 8" of an enemy warrior but it is possible to charge.

I understand that but if there are penalties for movement through difficuly terrain. A wall that needs a climb check if it's over 1" tall would at least slow a charger as well. It conflicts with the spirit of the charge/movement a the least. How do you resolve this?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 1 Jun 2014 - 16:53

I must admit that I do not understand the dilemma. Climbing charges are not that hard in practice:
--Our models must be in base to base with the wall we wish climbed.
--We declare that we wish to charge, take an initiative test and see if we pass.
--If the models can not see each other, then the charging model must be within 4", then must pass 2 tests.  One to detect an unseen enemy and one to climb the wall to attack said enemy.
--We do not double our move, you may only 'charge' someone within your normal move if you climb.
--None of this is written down for us, this is the first time I've written out our steps, since we think we are following the rules as we read them if not as written  Very Happy 

The group I played with did not see this as prohibited by the rules from the beginning, thus no one has ever questioned whether it was by the rules or not.  The FAQ answer was just a validation for us.  

If your group wishes to disallow climbing charges, then you would be totally able to do so (or continue to do so).  My group would rebel but its how they've played for a decade.  We did try a rule that made any climbing charge or charge up a ladder count as charging a defended obstacle, but it was not popular with the peeps.

The quote above is attributed to the 2002 Annual by the person who originally posted it.  It may also be found in the 1999 FAQ.  I don't own an Annual so I am not sure if it was published there or not.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike
Elder
Elder


Posts : 390
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-19
Location : Cascades, Washington State

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 2 Jun 2014 - 12:03

Found the 2002 Annual, thanks again RationlLemming for your wonderful resource. Now a rule discussion with my group. Thanks for the info guys.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Saluksic
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 112
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-04-29
Location : Washington State, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 28 Jul 2014 - 14:31

I have a question about henchmen groups. The typical roster print-out has six spots for henchmen group: does this mean I can't get more than six henchmen groups? I'm trying to load up on henchmen for The Lads Got Talent attempts, but I want to make sure that I don't overstep the rules.

I know you can only have six heroes, and I was unsure if henchmen groups were meant to be similar.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Today at 4:33

Back to top Go down
 
Short questions, short answers...
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 4 of 8Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Questions and Answers
» Short questions, short answers...
» Answers in "Bonsai Questions"
» Yugioh trivia
» Random pottery questions and answers thread!

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: