HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Short questions, short answers...

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
AuthorMessage
Grimscull
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1263
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2010-11-22

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Wed 16 Apr 2014 - 13:17

No, it only means he gets two attacks in close combat. If you want to make two shots with a missile weapon you either need a certain skill or a certain missile weapon. Otherwise you only get to shoot once.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ork
Hero
Hero


Posts : 36
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-10-11
Age : 30
Location : Aalborg, Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Reiklanders Reiklanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Wed 16 Apr 2014 - 17:19

No, the only way to get more attacks with a bow is via the Quick Shot skill from the Shooting Skill list. The Attack Characteristics is only for close combat.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
davinewrath
Champion
Champion


Posts : 56
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-01-30
Age : 32
Location : York, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Fri 18 Apr 2014 - 12:33

Ogres and experience:

Do they count each experience point as half a point but otherwise gain advances as normal, eg 2, 4, 6, 8, 11...

or do they gain experience as normal but only gain an advance at every other milestone, eg 4, 8, 14, 20...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Grimscull
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1263
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2010-11-22

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Fri 18 Apr 2014 - 13:58

THe first version is how I used to play it.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike
Elder
Elder


Posts : 390
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-19
Location : Cascades, Washington State

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Fri 18 Apr 2014 - 16:23

davinewrath wrote:
Ogres and experience:

Do they count each experience point as half a point but otherwise gain advances as normal, eg 2, 4, 6, 8, 11...

or do they gain experience as normal but only gain an advance at every other milestone, eg 4, 8, 14, 20...

Grimscull wrote:
THe first version is how I used to play it.

I know I have read this somewhere before but have had trouble locating it again. Could anyone point me to the rule?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6916
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Fri 18 Apr 2014 - 16:47

The original Ostland rule is quoted here--

http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t7437-slow-witted-ostlander-ogres?highlight=ogres+experience

Most people who post on this forum seem to play the 1/2 experience point.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike
Elder
Elder


Posts : 390
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-19
Location : Cascades, Washington State

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Fri 18 Apr 2014 - 19:03

Ahh yes, Ostlanders. I was half-remembering this and wondered if it would slow the advancement of my opponents ogre mercenary hired sword he loves to use as a street sweeper. Thanks for the information.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6916
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Fri 18 Apr 2014 - 19:44

You are welcome. The Hired Sword is treated differently than hench-ogres and Ogre heroes since there is no official Ogre experience rule. (The Osltand warband is official, but the rules therein do not say they apply to ALL Ogres.)

The rules review (2005) did not change this.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
SonofRuss
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 20
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-07-07
Age : 29
Location : Cairns, QLD, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Thu 24 Apr 2014 - 5:46

quick one,
say i buy a wardog for my captain, and it goes out and OOA a model, does the captain get a point of XP as technically his "equipment" took the model OOA?
Cheers SoR  pirat
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6916
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Thu 24 Apr 2014 - 6:36

No. The wardog has its own characteristics profile and counts as a warrior for warband maximum. The same applies to kills made by mounts.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
klinktastic
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 24
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-04-10

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Thu 24 Apr 2014 - 12:03

The questions:

1. Can a single, standalone tree be climbed to provide a 2" height like any other normal terrain? We are playing mostly wilderness maps, and therefore unless there is a hill, there usually isn't much to provide as a sniper perch.

2. Do henchmen groups exists even if there is no members. Say there was a henchmen group with 1 member, that member got TLGT and was promoted to a hero. Could you backfill that henchmen group later in the post battle phase with a veteran with 2 xp and get the advancement roll that the group would have gotten?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike
Elder
Elder


Posts : 390
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-19
Location : Cascades, Washington State

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Thu 24 Apr 2014 - 12:38

klinktastic wrote:
Can a single, standalone tree be climbed to provide a 2" height like any other normal terrain? We are playing mostly wilderness maps, and therefore unless there is a hill, there usually isn't much to provide as a sniper perch.

I see no reason why not. Terrain is there to be interacted with. If your group has doubts just house rule it.

klinktastic wrote:
Do henchmen groups exists even if there is no members. Say there was a henchmen group with 1 member, that member got TLGT and was promoted to a hero. Could you backfill that henchmen group later in the post battle phase with a veteran with 2 xp and get the advancement roll that the group would have gotten?

I would say no. The post battle sequence has experience as the 2nd stage and emphasizes doing steps 1-3 immediately after game. It suggests steps 4 and beyond can be handled at leisure so you may make purchasing decisions. The experience section states a warrior must make an advancement roll immediately after the game. I believe the henchmen group would no longer exist by the time you roll for veteran availability or purchasing new henchmen. Again, you could also house rule it if you feel it should be allowed.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6916
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Thu 24 Apr 2014 - 20:11

1. Rules for climbing trees were first introduced in the Lustria: Cities of Gold campaign. I only have the TC version of Empire in Flames so I'm not sure if they eventually included the Lustria rules or not. (TC# 24, not).

We allow tree climbing in any setting these days.

2. Wow, no. Your group may go for it as a house rule.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Seikilos
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 127
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-03-14
Location : Wertheim, germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 28 Apr 2014 - 8:16

Can a model with a ranged weapon shoot through a cc-fight?

Actually, even if the bases really would block every bit of sight from the shooter to the target, he could see through the fighting bodies.

Yesterday I decided he cannot shoot through it. What would you do?


When shooting from 2 inches up, can he always shoot at the model, even if he has two allied models blocking sight and all three having base contact?

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6916
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 28 Apr 2014 - 11:07

Quote :
Can a model with a ranged weapon shoot through a cc-fight?

Actually, even if the bases really would block every bit of sight from the shooter to the target, he could see through the fighting bodies.

Yesterday I decided he cannot shoot through it. What would you do?

We say no. I think this is mainly because most of us were Warhammer players back when models blocked LOS in Warhammer. But our view is supported by the Mordheim rules that models may provide cover to other models.

As for the fact that a shooter could see through struggling bodies, true, there would be glimpses of the target. This is were I get real depressed with True Line Of Sight. The miniature game is an imperfect simulation of conflict. The opportunity to shoot at an enemy past struggling bodies is vastly different than drawing a line through some miniatures.

Quote :
When shooting from 2 inches up, can he always shoot at the model, even if he has two allied models blocking sight and all three having base contact?
If the models are all in base contact they are in combat, thus the warrior may not shoot because you may not target a model in combat. If the friendly models are not in base contact, but obscure the target; then the target gains cover from them, but he can be shot.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
klinktastic
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 24
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-04-10

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 29 Apr 2014 - 18:19

In the Empire in Flames rules, for the option to charge through a door/window. If you succeed, but do not make base to base contact, can that model shoot? A majority of us believe that if it counts as charging if you make it to BtB, then if you do not, it would constitute a failed charge. Pretty much, any movement other than a walk would results it not being able to shoot. Thoughts?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6916
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 29 Apr 2014 - 19:55

Empire in Flames wrote:
Rushing a door may be done at the end of any of the warrior’s Movement phases, and requires a successful Strength test. If passed, the warrior is inside the room on the other side of the door (his momentum carries him inside). A warrior entering a room this way is placed 1" straight ahead into the room, pushing aside enemy models to make room if necessary. If he ends up in contact with enemy models after being placed, the warrior is considered to be engaged in close combat with them and he is considered to have charged.

Are you referring to this rule? If so then I'm not sure how it could be a failed charge, since no charge is declared and any combat would be accidental. Otherwise I would think it would depend on how far the warrior moved to reach the door, etc, as to whether he could shoot or not.

As a side note, Empire in Flames is a specialty setting, one that many players never encounter. Perhaps you could start a thread about Empire in Flames questions to help others who might be looking for similar answers?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Seikilos
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 127
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-03-14
Location : Wertheim, germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 11 May 2014 - 12:15

Can a magician cast a spell in a h-t-h-combat (fireball or silver arrows from the lesser magic list)?

Can a model carry a longbow and a crossbow and fire them alternating?

Can a model carry a bow and a handgun and fire the bows in the turns, when the handguns have to be reloaded?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6916
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 11 May 2014 - 18:35

In most cases yes. In the case of Silver Arrows, no. Some spells specifically say that they may not be cast in hand to hand or in the case of Silver Arrows that it must obey the rules for shooting.

Most spells have no restriction.

Quote :
Can a model carry a longbow and a crossbow and fire them alternating?
Yes

Quote :
Can a model carry a bow and a handgun and fire the bows in the turns, when the handguns have to be reloaded?
Yes

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Seikilos
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 127
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-03-14
Location : Wertheim, germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 11 May 2014 - 23:27

So for my third question:

Turn 1: Shooting with handgun
Turn 2: Shooting with bow, counts as reloading handgun?
Turn 3: Shooting with handgun?



New questions:

What ist he bonus for the hunting arrows? Do they give +1 when rolling for wounds (as counting the bow would have +1 Str), or give they a bonus when rolling if the model is knocked down/stunned/ooa?

What kind of equipment has a skink hopper? At mordheimer.com there is the same text as for the Priest of morr!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike
Elder
Elder


Posts : 390
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-19
Location : Cascades, Washington State

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 12 May 2014 - 0:13

Seikilos wrote:
Turn 1: Shooting with handgun
Turn 2: Shooting with bow, counts as reloading handgun?
Turn 3: Shooting with handgun?
There is nothing in the rules that prevents this (that I know of) and you are allowed to carry two missile weapons. If any in my group actually tried this strategy we would house rule it as disallowed. A fantasy game with giant rat men and shambling corpses... but thinking the blackpowder and shot regenerates while you holster it and draw a bow?

Seikilos wrote:
What ist he bonus for the hunting arrows? Do they give +1 when rolling for wounds (as counting the bow would have +1 Str), or give they a bonus when rolling if the model is knocked down/stunned/ooa?
Hunting Arrows provide a +1 on the Injury Chart, the knockdown, stun, OOA results.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6916
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 12 May 2014 - 5:31

Quote :
What kind of equipment has a skink hopper? At mordheimer.com there is the same text as for the Priest of morr!
I would think a more germane question would be 'how do I find the Plaque of the Comet'?  Since that is the only way to hire the Skink Hopper.

Um, so how DID you find the Plaque of the Comet?

The oddly named Skink Hopper (Why is it called the Hopper? Does it hop?) exists only on Mordheimer.  Its a made up, non-official hired sword.  If your group wishes to use it, you can equip it as you see fit.

(If you wish a more complete answer you may PM Mordheimer on this forum or e-mail him through his site.)

There are various threads discussing Handgun use and house rules if you have further interest.  My group uses the rules as written just cause most folks don't bother with handguns, so why restrict their use further?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike
Elder
Elder


Posts : 390
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-19
Location : Cascades, Washington State

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 13 May 2014 - 11:26

The Plaque of the Comet comes from a special scenario where a portion of Lustrian jungle is translocated to Mordheim and a lizardman force is battled. The Plaque is one of the possible loot items. I was unable to find any more specific information on the skink hopper.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6916
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 13 May 2014 - 12:12

What is the scenario called? I assume it would be found on Morheimer as well?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike
Elder
Elder


Posts : 390
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-19
Location : Cascades, Washington State

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 13 May 2014 - 13:00

Day of the Dinosaur
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Today at 16:12

Back to top Go down
 
Short questions, short answers...
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 3 of 8Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Space Hulk - Questions & Answers
» Random pottery questions and answers thread!
» Mordaunt Short Mezzo 2 Bookshelf (New)
» mordaunt short classic 20 Speaker (Sold)
» Questions and Answers

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: