HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Short questions, short answers...

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
AuthorMessage
davinewrath
Champion
Champion


Posts : 56
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-01-30
Age : 32
Location : York, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 12 Oct 2014 - 5:59

Ah, cool. I'd assumed the guy asking the question had read the book and not found it, so I didn't think to check myself Embarassed
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Nerevarine
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-10-12

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 12 Oct 2014 - 9:23

I recently picked up five Tilean pikeman models and I'd like to use them in a Tilean-themed warband. Which warband rules would fit best with a warband centred around pikemen?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6920
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 12 Oct 2014 - 9:46

The Tilean warband from the Lustria Cities of Gold Supplement comes to mind....
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Nerevarine
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-10-12

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 12 Oct 2014 - 9:49

From the official warbands, I mean.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Grimscull
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1263
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2010-11-22

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 12 Oct 2014 - 11:24

I cannot remember an official warband being able to use pikes. Are they even in the rulebook? Not, right? So a warband with spears? Why don't you just use one of the adventurer's warbands and play the pikes as spears or maybe halberds?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike
Elder
Elder


Posts : 390
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-19
Location : Cascades, Washington State

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 12 Oct 2014 - 19:24

I agree with Grimscull on which official warbands may work but those pikes are so very long. I can see why they are not an official weapon choice on the streets of Mordheim.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 12 Oct 2014 - 20:11

From GW-created warbands, I don't think they appeared anywhere outside of the Lustria campaign, the Tileans von Kurst referenced. They really aren't a weapon suited for skirmishing, when you think about it. Those are nice models, though, and I understand why you want to use them.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1451
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sun 12 Oct 2014 - 22:07

I agree with treating the pikes as spears or halberds in a standard warband if that is what you want to use. I'll just mention another non-official warband here for completeness though. The "Merchant Caravan" warband from Border Town Burning has pikes as a weapon choice. The rules for the pikes were also updated to remove/change the 'Reach'(?) special rule to prevent close combat attacks from the pike without being in close combat (following the choice to change the rules for whips in the Sisters of Sigmar warband).
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 13 Oct 2014 - 9:58

We're running with Pikes in our Lustrian campaign and using a slightly revised Tilean Mercenaries warband. The Pikes are basically a Spear combined with a Halberd: Requires 2 hands, gain +1 Strength and the Strike first rule. They are not the danger of a Tilean warband though, which has a lot of ranged power, that even my Dwarves are a bit annoyed with.

The price for the Pikes are 20gc though, so an investment, but well worth it on certain Heroes.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 13 Oct 2014 - 13:01

That sounds like a good way to handle them.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Nerevarine
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-10-12

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 13 Oct 2014 - 14:44

I really like both ideas, thanks guys Smile I'm pretty sure the people I play with won't make it a problem if I let the pikes count as spears/halbers.

The models look really nice, so I think visually they could form a nice core of the warband.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1451
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 13 Oct 2014 - 15:13

BTB pikes are 10gc which gives Strength as user, two-handed and Strike First with +1 Initiative.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 13 Oct 2014 - 16:05

"Strike First with +1 Initiative"

So they "Strike Firstiest"!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 13 Oct 2014 - 16:05

Firstier?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DeafNala
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 17715
Trading Reputation : 8
Join date : 2008-04-03
Age : 69
Location : Horseshoe Bay, TX, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 13 Oct 2014 - 16:13

mweaver wrote:
Firstier?

...or like Nathan Bedford Forrest: "firstest with the mostest."   clown
Back to top Go down
View user profile
floedebolle
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 2324
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2010-05-17
Location : Danmany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Undead Undead
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 13 Oct 2014 - 16:19

Laughing

_________________
Lord Flasheart: And always remember - if you want something, take it! Bobby!
Bob Parkhurst: [enters] My lord?
Lord Flasheart: I want something.
Bob Parkhurst: Take it!
[she undoes her shirt - exeunt]
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 14 Oct 2014 - 6:57

Von Kurst wrote:
Pervavita wrote:
Seikilos wrote:
Does "Singing Wind" (Amazon Rituals) affect only enemy models or my own models as well?
yes but the great thing is that it should have no ill effects on your warband as shooting and magic happens at the same time so you can ether play it as it all happens exact same time (and if an archer takes a model OOA then following shots that had already declared that target are wasted) and your spell cast same time as arrows let fly thus no problem or you chose the order of shots and just chose your Priestess for last.
As you have already moved and charged you should have no issues there as the spell says that models will defend them selves in h2h.

hope that helps out

Well I doubt Seikilos frequents the forum anymore, but I must admit a bit of confusion.  The question is about Singing Wind, which may target 'any model'.  Thus a player may cast it on his own warrior although I can not think of a reason to.  scratch

The answer seems to be about the Maelstrom ritual?

I make this mistake from time to time with the way "any" comes off in the rules. I was (and have played it as by mistake) with "any" meaning all. Anyone that moves is unable to move for example.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Caledore
Champion
Champion


Posts : 55
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-07-18
Location : Maryland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Thu 16 Oct 2014 - 5:18

We had a situation in which two models declared a charge on a single model. The first, if taking the most direct route to the target, blocked off the charging path of the second - once the first model was in base contact with the enemy's front, the second no longer had any available path.

However, if the first charger was able to wrap around the target's side, then the second could make the charge, as the enemy's front side was still clear.

There was disagreement as to whether this meant the second could charge or not. The argument that he couldn't is that since models have to take the most direct route to the target, the first model to charge HAS to charge the target's front, and thus cannot charge the target's side, and thus blocks the second. Opinions?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike
Elder
Elder


Posts : 390
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-19
Location : Cascades, Washington State

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Thu 16 Oct 2014 - 13:28

We have allowed charges to wrap around the side but I would prefer it was kept to the most direct route wording. Even as it is we do a lot of maneuvering with terrain/obstacles and intercepts where charge declaration and order have become a focus of strategy. I too would be interested in others opinions.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1451
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Thu 16 Oct 2014 - 15:23

We play direct route and charge in order of Initiative. Therefore we do have failed charges sometimes if room is tight.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Thu 16 Oct 2014 - 15:39

We are pretty loosey-goosey on this particular issue, but then we generally play collaboratively.

I think RationalLemming's solution makes a great deal of sense.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Thu 16 Oct 2014 - 15:41

Caledore wrote:
We had a situation in which two models declared a charge on a single model. The first, if taking the most direct route to the target, blocked off the charging path of the second - once the first model was in base contact with the enemy's front, the second no longer had any available path.

However, if the first charger was able to wrap around the target's side, then the second could make the charge, as the enemy's front side was still clear.

There was disagreement as to whether this meant the second could charge or not. The argument that he couldn't is that since models have to take the most direct route to the target, the first model to charge HAS to charge the target's front, and thus cannot charge the target's side, and thus blocks the second. Opinions?

This is indeed a sticky situation. We play that chargers must take the most direct route (since that's what the rules say), but usually allow 'wrapping around', if another model of yours is charging at the same time. Just as a thought, I would find it embarassingly stupid, if my warriors couldn't figure out to make room for one another. We also play that they charge at the same time, meaning that charging models can never be in the way of each other, but non-charging models can indeed prevent a succesful charge, since they move after chargers.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1451
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Fri 17 Oct 2014 - 1:59

I would prefer Aipha's but we have had some real black & white / no ambiguity people in our group. Sad
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
davinewrath
Champion
Champion


Posts : 56
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-01-30
Age : 32
Location : York, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Fri 17 Oct 2014 - 14:52

When calculating warband rating, do large targets contribute 5 for being a member of the warband plus 20 for being a large target, or just 20 for being a large member of the warband?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1451
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Fri 17 Oct 2014 - 17:15

Ambiguous. I think strictly RAW large targets add 5 + 20 = 25 but I wonder if RAI was for just 20.

I think that this same question applies to Hired Swords and DPs. Does the warband rating go up by 5 + the stated rating bonus? We've always played it as with the 5 for being a member of the warband in addition to the rating bonus.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Today at 0:59

Back to top Go down
 
Short questions, short answers...
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 7 of 8Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Space Hulk - Questions & Answers
» Random pottery questions and answers thread!
» Mordaunt Short Mezzo 2 Bookshelf (New)
» mordaunt short classic 20 Speaker (Sold)
» Questions and Answers

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: