HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Short questions, short answers...

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
AuthorMessage
Skavenslayer
General
General


Posts : 155
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-05-25
Age : 34
Location : Kokkedal (DK)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 26 Aug 2014 - 7:12

Quote :
You believe it would be unbalanced if i use the warband rules where Pit Fighters no longer have packages?

I mixed the warbands, using the equipment from TC14, but Heroes and Henchmen from TC21 (4 heroes, but not with the style qeuipment) and that worked pretty well. Its still a very powerfull melee warband.

-Skavenslayer
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Darthvegeta800
Champion
Champion


Posts : 43
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-08-13
Age : 32
Location : Flanders, Belgium

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 26 Aug 2014 - 13:31

Phantasmal_fiend wrote:
Agreed we play with the pit fighters from Town Crier 21 too the ones from TC14 are a bit OP.

Could you please elaborate a bit on that?


And thanks for all the feedback guys!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ronalddelval.wordpress.com/
Phantasmal_fiend
General
General


Posts : 161
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-05-27
Location : Auckland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 26 Aug 2014 - 15:24

TC 14 Gives every Pit fighter an Armour Option and most pit fighters can go all the way up to heavy armour and shields (which especially makes a difference later in the campaign where most heroes will have gromril).
the TC 21 gives light armour and shield at best if you have chosen that style (there is nothing stopping you from having light armour after initial purchase thou except for pursuer heroes.)
Also TC 14 uses a War Chain which needs to be errated to no longer have 4" reach.
As well as having 6 starting heroes.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Darthvegeta800
Champion
Champion


Posts : 43
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-08-13
Age : 32
Location : Flanders, Belgium

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Wed 27 Aug 2014 - 10:49

Hmmm that's a recurring thing warbands ending up with heavy armor all round? Oo;
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ronalddelval.wordpress.com/
MrDancyPants
Knight
Knight


Posts : 83
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-08-12

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Wed 27 Aug 2014 - 20:03

Only time I spend gold on any armor is if I'm suiting up a mounted hero. Otherwise, there are just too many things that make armor completely useless. I'll occasionally wear it if I find it for free, but that's it.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Wed 27 Aug 2014 - 21:27

I agree with MrDancyPants. We didn't have much armour in our group until house rules were introduced to make armour more attractive. On the other hand, if a warband has money to burn then why not invest in some Heavy Armour if it is available for the warband.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Saluksic
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 112
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-04-29
Location : Washington State, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Thu 11 Sep 2014 - 21:48

Say I have a ithilmar hammer in one hand and a regular hammer in the other hand. Say I'm an initiative 3 troll slayer named T-Flex. Do I get to make all my attacks at I4, or do the attacks made with the normal hammer go at I3?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MrDancyPants
Knight
Knight


Posts : 83
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-08-12

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Thu 11 Sep 2014 - 21:54

The Ithilmar Hammer goes at I4, the Normal Hammer at I3.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Saluksic
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 112
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-04-29
Location : Washington State, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Fri 12 Sep 2014 - 0:16

Does the prohibition about a single model stunning and then finishing off an enemy hold? If I stun with my first attack does my second automatically hit?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Fri 12 Sep 2014 - 2:44

Saluksic wrote:
Does the prohibition about a single model stunning and then finishing off an enemy hold? If I stun with my first attack does my second automatically hit?

The same model stunning the opponent must roll to hit again. You cannot 'auto-ooa' with the same model in the same round of combat, no matter what. There is a great quote about it somewhere, but I am on the mobile atm.

Concerning the Ithilmar Hammer; think of it this way: The hammer is lighter and thus able to strike faster. Having one of those does not make your other hammer faster.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike
Elder
Elder


Posts : 390
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-19
Location : Cascades, Washington State

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Fri 12 Sep 2014 - 22:03

Saluksic wrote:
Does the prohibition about a single model stunning and then finishing off an enemy hold? If I stun with my first attack does my second automatically hit?

Rules wrote:
Note that a model with multiple attacks may not
stun/knock down and then automatically take a
warrior out of action during the same hand-to-hand
combat phase. The only way you can achieve this is to
have more than one of your models attacking the
same enemy. So, if the enemy is stunned/knocked
down by the first warrior, he can be hit and put out of
action by the next warrior to attack.

Even with a different initiative weapon, this rule should still apply.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sat 13 Sep 2014 - 7:24

Going back to the armour attractiveness thing, in my group we experimented with cheaper armour, but then abandoned it. Yes, it made armor more common, but the games lost the 'feel' of a medieval post-apocalyptic thingy. We do use it for EIF and RotC though.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MrDancyPants
Knight
Knight


Posts : 83
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-08-12

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sat 13 Sep 2014 - 7:45

My LGS managed to hang on to the feel of the armored medieval warrior mainly because we're using the mounted rules. Because mounts give +1 to armor, and some of the experimental/fan-made mounts (War Boar) gives an additional +1, and there are certain skills that increase armor as well, getting a mounted heavily armored warrior into the fight is quite scary and even a Strength 6 hit won't negate their armor entirely.

The main problem with armor is that it's mostly ineffective unless you have a lot of it. At that point, only critical hits will get rid of it completely.

But yeah, we tell people in my LGS, especially starting out, that armor is mostly useless.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Phantasmal_fiend
General
General


Posts : 161
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-05-27
Location : Auckland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 16 Sep 2014 - 23:17

Our Campaign ran for about 700 games in-which-case money became no object and amour was very important anything for even the slightest advantage, where most of your important heroes would have gromril,ithilmar,chaos armour, Kite Shields (5+ shield that takes up a weapon allocation.) a rabbits foot to re-roll a failed Armour save, Ring of fortune to help that or the step aside. 3 wounds and healing herbs so every Armour roll saved is a awesome feat of saving a heroes life.
One of our dwarf player has a rune smith (hired sword) who has beefed up all the henchmen's armour and it kept them in the game much longer.
Btw Orc War boars with their +2 Armour are Official, Not experimental or fan made.
And i agree with mike, that if you stunned or knock them down with your high initiative attack you can just kick them out with your other attack. I would on have my lizardmen take so many downed foes because their bite struck last and there would be no standing opponents in my close combat. or my Mutants in my possessed would have multiple arms i would do them majority of my attacks with my ithilmar swords and then if i was the only one still standing (often i was ) my 2 handed axe would take them out (sometimes i would roll a 1 on a knocked down hero or they would roll a-side).
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Wed 17 Sep 2014 - 14:09

Phantasmal_fiend: "And i agree with mike, that if you stunned or knock them down with your high initiative attack you can just kick them out with your other attack. I would on have my lizardmen take so many downed foes because their bite struck last and there would be no standing opponents in my close combat."

I think you are disagreeing with Mike (and the rule he quotes). I don't know of any exceptions to the rule that a warrior cannot stun/knockdown and opponent and then himself have the advantaged attack vs. a stunned/knocked down model in the same melee round.

Mind you, if it did work with attacks at a different initiative setting, ithilmar weapons would certainly be more popular in my neck of the woods.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Thu 18 Sep 2014 - 5:20

Phantasmal_fiend wrote:
And i agree with mike, that if you stunned or knock them down with your high initiative attack you can just kick them out with your other attack. I would on have my lizardmen take so many downed foes because their bite struck last and there would be no standing opponents in my close combat. or my Mutants in my possessed would have multiple arms i would do them majority of my attacks with my ithilmar swords and then if i was the only one still standing (often i was ) my 2 handed axe would take them out (sometimes i would roll a 1 on a knocked down hero or they would roll a-side).

The bite thing is possible only if there are multiple Saurus taking down opponents and then using their bite on another opponent than they just took down.

There is a problem with the 'Ithilmar'/2-h combo, namely that you cannot use a 2-h along with other weapons at the same time (check double-handed weapon rules). Not only the other rule that you cannot stun and auto-ooa in the same round of combat.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Saluksic
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 112
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-04-29
Location : Washington State, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Mon 6 Oct 2014 - 19:39

Is the sigmarite hammer that the Sisters have always +1 strength, as per its stat line, and an additional 1 (to wound, so same as strength?) against undead, or is it only 1+ against undead? I'm about to paint my new (old) sisters models and I'm not sure how awesome the hammers are supposes to be.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 7 Oct 2014 - 8:15

Saluksic wrote:
Is the sigmarite hammer that the Sisters have always +1 strength, as per its stat line, and an additional 1 (to wound, so same as strength?) against undead, or is it only 1+ against undead? I'm about to paint my new (old) sisters models and I'm not sure how awesome the hammers are supposes to be.

Quite awesome they are.

+1 Strength against all targets.
An additional +1 to Wound against Undead (and perhaps other, can't remember) targets.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Saluksic
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 112
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-04-29
Location : Washington State, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 7 Oct 2014 - 8:18

Nice! Thanks Aipha.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
davinewrath
Champion
Champion


Posts : 56
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-01-30
Age : 32
Location : York, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Tue 7 Oct 2014 - 11:49

It's also +1 to wound vs Possessed (I think there's an errata that clarifies that a bit - you don't get the bonus against brethren, but you do against some of the other guys)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Captain Bernhardt
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 551
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2009-10-22
Location : Gent, BelgiŽ

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Wed 8 Oct 2014 - 15:57

short question: If a warband member (hero) has acces to pistols, does he need to get a weapons expert skill to be able to use a duelling pistol?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Wed 8 Oct 2014 - 17:43

That is what we have always played, just as a hero with access to a bow cannot use a longbow. They are different weapons.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Thu 9 Oct 2014 - 15:59

Seikilos wrote:
Does "Singing Wind" (Amazon Rituals) affect only enemy models or my own models as well?
yes but the great thing is that it should have no ill effects on your warband as shooting and magic happens at the same time so you can ether play it as it all happens exact same time (and if an archer takes a model OOA then following shots that had already declared that target are wasted) and your spell cast same time as arrows let fly thus no problem or you chose the order of shots and just chose your Priestess for last.
As you have already moved and charged you should have no issues there as the spell says that models will defend them selves in h2h.

hope that helps out
Back to top Go down
View user profile
davinewrath
Champion
Champion


Posts : 56
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-01-30
Age : 32
Location : York, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sat 11 Oct 2014 - 17:32

The BTB campaign I'm running is starting up next weekend, and a question has been raised. We can all agree that Norse Marauders are evil chaos worshippers and thus can go for Scion of Chaos, but what type of warband do Norse Explorers count as for objective choosing purposes?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7021
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Sat 11 Oct 2014 - 18:20

Pervavita wrote:
Seikilos wrote:
Does "Singing Wind" (Amazon Rituals) affect only enemy models or my own models as well?
yes but the great thing is that it should have no ill effects on your warband as shooting and magic happens at the same time so you can ether play it as it all happens exact same time (and if an archer takes a model OOA then following shots that had already declared that target are wasted) and your spell cast same time as arrows let fly thus no problem or you chose the order of shots and just chose your Priestess for last.
As you have already moved and charged you should have no issues there as the spell says that models will defend them selves in h2h.

hope that helps out

Well I doubt Seikilos frequents the forum anymore, but I must admit a bit of confusion. †The question is about Singing Wind, which may target 'any model'. †Thus a player may cast it on his own warrior although I can not think of a reason to. †scratch

The answer seems to be about the Maelstrom ritual?

davinewrath wrote:
The BTB campaign I'm running is starting up next weekend, and a question has been raised. †We can all agree that Norse Marauders are evil chaos worshippers and thus can go for Scion of Chaos, but what type of warband do Norse Explorers count as for objective choosing purposes?

If you have the rules for objectives provided in the BTB campaign, the warband Norse Explorers is specifically listed in the objectives which may chosen by them, for example, Scion of Chaos.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Short questions, short answers...   Today at 15:03

Back to top Go down
 
Short questions, short answers...
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 6 of 8Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Questions and Answers
» Short questions, short answers...
» Answers in "Bonsai Questions"
» Yugioh trivia
» Random pottery questions and answers thread!

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: