HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Magicians and armor

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Seikilos
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 127
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-03-14
Location : Wertheim, germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Magicians and armor   Sat 22 Mar 2014 - 7:30

Hi,

in my new campagn-group there are skaven and osterlanders. Both have magicians and told me, they can have armor AND summon.

Is that right?

The priest's description says, he may never wear heavy armor. But if he has only light armor, is he able to do magic?
Also the skavens discription says, he may wear weapons and armor. But is he able to do magic, if he chooses armor?!


Thanks!

Best regards,
Seikilos
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Seikilos
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 127
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-03-14
Location : Wertheim, germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Magicians and armor   Sat 22 Mar 2014 - 7:38

Another question:

In a campagn, if one model gets a wyrdstone and flees. Does he count to the 25% of the warband when making a rout test?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6910
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Magicians and armor   Sat 22 Mar 2014 - 9:20

If the magic used is classified as a Prayer then the Priest may wear armor and still cast spells. Thus the Priest of Taal may cast spells if he is wearing light armor. The prohibition against heavy armor is a stipulation of his creed or beliefs.

The skaven sorcerer may wear armor, but may not cast spells if he does so.
This rule is found in the rules for Magic in the rule book--
"A wizard may not use magic if he is wearing armour or has a shield or buckler."

If the skaven sorcerer takes the skill Warrior Wizard then he may wear armor.

Unfortunately the Beastman Shaman has the special rule that he may not wear armor period.

The Mordheim rule book is available for download from Games Workshop--
http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/content/article.jsp?catId=cat480008a&categoryId=6700006a&section&aId=21500021a
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Seikilos
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 127
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-03-14
Location : Wertheim, germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Magicians and armor   Sat 22 Mar 2014 - 10:21

Thank you!

I will tell our Skaven player right ahead!


What you think about the question of fled models?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6910
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Magicians and armor   Sat 22 Mar 2014 - 11:12

I'm going to wait on that one. The rules about voluntarily leaving the tabletop are not particularly clear, although leaving the table top with the treasure is how you win the scenarios Hidden Treasure, Ambush, etc.

In my group we count models that flee the table because of all alone tests or the effects of a spell as counting for rout tests but NOT out of action.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Magicians and armor   Sat 22 Mar 2014 - 20:43

Seikilos wrote:
In a campagn, if one model gets a wyrdstone and flees. Does he count to the 25% of the warband when making a rout test?

As Von Kurst notes, that is what you can do in some scenarios. However, I do not believe that Wyrdstone Hunt is one of them.

I don't see why they should count though. The rules clearly states:

Mordheim Rulebook p. 22 wrote:
A player must make a Rout test at the start of his turn if a quarter (25%) or more of his warband is out of action.

You may of course house rule this if you wish.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Magicians and armor   Today at 14:42

Back to top Go down
 
Magicians and armor
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» ARMOR PHOTOGALLERY #4 Sd Kfz 234
» ARMOR PHOTOGALLERY #9 Marder II
» New Armor Stuff From Eduard.
» Sea Dragon Cloak; Armor yes or no?
» Warbands without Heavy Armor?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: