HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Critical hits vs. two or more opponents

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Critical hits vs. two or more opponents   Mon 10 Feb 2014 - 8:18

These two sections are in question here:

Quote :
"In addition, if the attacker normally needs 6s to wound his target, he cannot cause a critical hit. His opponent is simply too tough to suffer a serious injury at the hands of such a puny creature!

Each warrior may only cause one critical hit in each hand-to-hand combat phase (see the Close Combat section), so if he has several attacks, the first 6 you roll to wound will cause a critical hit."

Let's say a Saurus with S4 fights two Dwarves. One has Toughness 4 and Resilient, the other has Toughness 5 and Resilient. The Saurus in this case is faster than the Dwarves and decide to attack the high Toughness Dwarf with 3 attacks. He hits with two and rolls to wound - a 4 and a 6 is rolled. Only the 6 wounds, but the Dwarf fails his armour save and is knocked down. The other Dwarf hits back, but fails to wound the Saurus. The Saurus rolls his bite against the standing Dwarf, hits - and wounds! Another 6 is rolled. However, since a 6 has already been rolled ("the first 6 you roll to wound"), can it still crit?

My own response would be 'yes'. But this is because of the first sentence - he needs 6s to wound, so he cannot crit = he has yet to cause a critical hit in this close combat before he bites the Dwarf.
It's very situational, but I just want to get this straight before any disputes arise! Razz
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Thespian
Champion
Champion


Posts : 50
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-08-25
Age : 47
Location : Helsinki, Finland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Critical hits vs. two or more opponents   Tue 11 Feb 2014 - 4:42

We always count this to be the first successful critical hit, and not the first natural 6. Critical wounds are a nice way to bring variety and chance into combat, so that those well armored dwarves you site could go down on a lucky hit. The spirit of the rule just limits the number of possible critical hits to one.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7018
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Critical hits vs. two or more opponents   Thu 13 Feb 2014 - 20:32

Wow. We have enough problem getting people to realize they can only cause one critical hit per round with ONE opponent, we would never consider only being able to cause one if you were fighting TWO opponents. We never even think twice about it, if a crit is scored against each opponent.

Except to complain about how lucky the git is. Smile
Quote :
We always count this to be the first successful critical hit, and not the first natural 6.

+1
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Critical hits vs. two or more opponents   Today at 9:22

Back to top Go down
 
Critical hits vs. two or more opponents
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Critical hits easy fix (?)
» Telly's Hits & Misses (Khoobsurat) - HT (Mumbai) Paper
» Jilla,Veeram hits 100, Thegidi hits 50!
» Suriya's Anjaan Trailer hits a Million Views
» Trap Reactor Y FI and Spell Reactor RE

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: