HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Priestess of Myrmidia's Eagle friend question.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Goglutin
Elder
Elder


Posts : 387
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-19
Age : 39
Location : Montréal , Canada

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Priestess of Myrmidia's Eagle friend question.   Mon 3 Feb 2014 - 10:29

Hi everyone.

I have a few question about the eagle friend mark.

1- If I have more than one eagle, can you ''shoot'' them all or you can just send one?

2- I wanna know if the eagle is affected by cover, range and movement penalty (shooting)?

3- If the eagle stun an enemy, do the priestess send him OOA automatically as she attacks AFTER the eagle?

4- If the eagle send an enemy OOA, do the priestess gain XP?


Thx for the answers
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Priestess of Myrmidia's Eagle friend question.   Mon 3 Feb 2014 - 13:11

1 - Yes
2 - No
3 - Yes
4 - Yes

Here is a link to the original discussion about the article. I'm sure these questions were asked because they seem very familiar (although I only had a quick skim of page 1 and just saw the answer for 3 but not the others).
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t5284-priests-of-the-empire
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Goglutin
Elder
Elder


Posts : 387
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-19
Age : 39
Location : Montréal , Canada

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Priestess of Myrmidia's Eagle friend question.   Mon 3 Feb 2014 - 13:36

In the same line of idea...

1- If a mount stun an enemy, do the rider send him OOA automatically if he attacks AFTER the mount? What about if the rider attacks first then the enemy is put OOA by the mount??

4- If a mount send an enemy OOA, do the rider gain XP?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Priestess of Myrmidia's Eagle friend question.   Mon 3 Feb 2014 - 13:54

Well I searched that thread and the forum and didn't find the answers to any except for question 3 (although the second question was implied). Maybe I was dreaming...  Neutral 
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7013
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Priestess of Myrmidia's Eagle friend question.   Mon 3 Feb 2014 - 17:17

Goglutin wrote:
1- If I have more than one eagle, can you ''shoot'' them all or you can just send one?

2- I wanna know if the eagle is affected by cover, range and movement penalty (shooting)?

3- If the eagle stun an enemy, do the priestess send him OOA automatically as she attacks AFTER the eagle?

4- If the eagle send an enemy OOA, do the priestess gain XP?

As far as I can tell from the text (which I can not get to copy an paste properly) the answers should be:

1)Unknown. You can have more than one but they count as weapons, so since you can only have two missile weapons as per the rules...

2)Affected, yes. While there is nothing in the text of the rule which says they are affected, there is also nothing which says that the eagle attack is NOT affected, which there is in similar spells such as Silver Arrows.

3)No. The eagle counts as a weapon for the Priest. It is not a separate model, nor does it have its own characteristics aside from strength. It is also a strikes first attack for the Priest, thus it should be governed by the same rules which cover whips, Saurus bites and the like. If the strikes first attack stuns, you must still roll to hit and wound with subsequent attacks.

4)Yes, since the eagle counts as a weapon for the Priest.

Note these answers are just based on the text of the rules, I have no idea of the intent of the author. (But I do think RL is smoking something)  Laughing 

Goglutin wrote:
1- If a mount stun an enemy, do the rider send him OOA automatically if he attacks AFTER the mount? What about if the rider attacks first then the enemy is put OOA by the mount??

4- If a mount send an enemy OOA, do the rider gain XP?

1) Yes, since the mount is a separate warrior with its own characteristics.

4(?) No for the above reason.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Priestess of Myrmidia's Eagle friend question.   Mon 3 Feb 2014 - 17:28

lol! 

Well, VK, we were in agreement on 1 of the 4 questions! I will change my answer to question 2 and agree with VK that penalties for shooting should apply since it uses the warrior's Ballistic Skill just like Silver Arrows. I don't know what I was smoking either when I rattled off *that* answer. drunken I do stand by my other answers though.

For those who are unfamiliar with the rules for this discussion, here is are the rules in question which can be found in the Miracle Workers article available at Liber Malefic (http://libermalefic.blogspot.com/).

Quote :
Eagle Friend: The Priestess attracts an eagle companion. The Priestess can gain this mark multiple times. Each time, the Priestess gains an additional bird of prey. Eagles can be used as missile weapons and as weapons in hand-to-hand combat as well by the Priestess. The range of the eagle is 24". When shooting, roll to hit using the warrior's Ballistic Skill. This represents her skill in directing the eagle to itstarget in flight. After an eagle attacks it flies back to the Priestess. In close combat, eagles strike first and use the warrior's Weapon Skill. Each successful eagle attack inflicts a Strength 3 hit.

If the Priestess is taken out of action the eagle flies away, returning after the battle. Eagles cannot be attacked or slain, but if the Priestess is slain the eagles are lost with him just like any other equipment.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Goglutin
Elder
Elder


Posts : 387
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-19
Age : 39
Location : Montréal , Canada

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Priestess of Myrmidia's Eagle friend question.   Mon 3 Feb 2014 - 18:03

Looks like we need Cianty or Werekin on this one...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7013
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Priestess of Myrmidia's Eagle friend question.   Mon 3 Feb 2014 - 22:12

werekin wrote:
Eagle Friend: can eagles be used as a missile weapon in the same phase as the priestess saying a prayer?

A: I believe the rules of the game allow for spells to be cast in a close combat, and by a wizard who also shoots a missile weapon in the shooting phase. Prayers can be chanted at the same time as despatching a bird of prey.

Eagle Friend: if the eagle knocks down a target in close combat then can the priestess take the warrior OOA in the same round of combat?

A: This presumably depends on the surrounding combat state. ie, Any unengaged models.

A couple of comments:
1) The Mordheim rules specifically DO NOT allow a wizard to use a missile weapon and cast a spell in the same shooting phase. [See "casting spells" Mordheim Rulebook] This misunderstanding is also a problem with the spell Vengeful Wrath, which has been discussed elsewhere.

2)The above answer does not answer the question about the eagle's attack. But the rule for Eagle Friend as written says that the "Eagles can be used as missile weapons and as weapons in hand-to-hand combat as well by the Priestess." The wording makes the eagle's attack an extra S3 attack of the Priestess', in which case the Priestess may not take a stunned or knocked down warrior out of action in the same phase that the eagle attack stuns or knocks it down without making a to hit and to wound roll. [See the rule "attacking stunned and knocked down warriors" Mordheim Rulebook]

3) While this is a house rule and therefore can be as illogical as the author wants, it is not logical to claim that the eagle's attack is an attack from another warrior (the eagle) AND that the Priestess should gain experience from that warrior's attacks, since again such a situation does not exist under the official rules of the game.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Priestess of Myrmidia's Eagle friend question.   Tue 4 Feb 2014 - 1:59

@VK... Stop applying logic to the situation and appealing to the official rulebook for backup.  tongue

(I surrender to VK's arguments and I don't think we actually need Werekin's answers.)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Priestess of Myrmidia's Eagle friend question.   Today at 12:54

Back to top Go down
 
Priestess of Myrmidia's Eagle friend question.
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Cox Gurney Eagle parts question
» Question About Gladiator beasts.
» Oh baby you got what I need, but you say he's just a friend...
» Serbian Eagle's Room
» How would you describe your ideal friend?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: