HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 When you roll stats with all of them maxed

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: When you roll stats with all of them maxed   Fri 11 Oct 2013 - 3:01

I have a slight rule problem, which I cannot find a solution to, except house ruling it, since it would be so obviously easy. The problem is, that in the rulebook, this is how characteristic increases are described:

"Characteristics for certain warriors may not be increased beyond the maximum limits shown on the following profiles. If a characteristic is at its maximum, take the other option or roll again if you can only increase one characteristic. If both are already at their racial maximum, you may increase any other (that is not already at its racial maximum) by +1 instead. Note that this is the only way to gain the maximum Movement for some races. Remember that Henchmen can only add +1 to any characteristic."

In general the whole chapter is vaguely described, but we go with an interpretation that says you can choose WS/BS and re-roll if the one you chose is at max. However, if you roll it again, choose WS or BS (whichever is max), you may pick another stat to be increased by 1. Works fine, but the problem is, what if you're at max stats? There's no option to 'pick a skill' unless you roll that option!

Did I miss something, or has everyone house ruled this?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6916
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: When you roll stats with all of them maxed   Fri 11 Oct 2013 - 14:34

I would say that your particular problem is unlikely to occur very often statistically. I've played thousands of games with dozens of opponents and I have never seen the like. As far as I can tell you have your house rule because you can choose to increase WS or BS if you roll a 7 on the hero advance?

If so I think you are misunderstanding the rule: If for example you had rolled a S increase, but S was already at max, then you should increase A by +1. If both S and A are at max you may pick another characteristic to increase.

I think the problem with the rule is the part of the sentence "or roll again if you can only increase one characteristic." If they had left that out or written an explanation for hero advances AND an explanation for Henchman advances I think we would have had less confusion.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: When you roll stats with all of them maxed   Fri 11 Oct 2013 - 17:02

It is :-P with almost 50% chance of rolling skills, it's very unlikely. We've house ruled that if you're at max stats, you get to pick a skill.

The reason we interpretate it like that, is that it says 'Choose WS or BS', so we 'choose' the max one, giving us a re-roll. Imo. it makes much better sense, since non-ranged heroes would never go BS. The other stats says "roll again, 1-3: S, 4-6: A".
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: When you roll stats with all of them maxed   Today at 19:52

Back to top Go down
 
When you roll stats with all of them maxed
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» My Autobiography; The Ghost of Rock & Roll
» Cranberry glass roll top vase with trails of tinny bubbles
» Leveling up and Casting Stats
» Book Publishing Stats from ForeWord Magazine
» racial maximum of goblin stats

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: