HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 The Count of Ventimiglia's Misericordia

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: The Count of Ventimiglia's Misericordia   Fri 4 Oct 2013 - 17:12

The question is how the artifact works around the Dwarf's "Hard to Kill". Does it override it, or will it simply mean that it stuns on 1-5 and takes OOA on 6's still?


Last edited by Aipha on Sat 30 Nov 2013 - 2:49; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 887
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Count of Ventimiglia's Misericordia   Fri 4 Oct 2013 - 19:37

In my group we have house-ruled the dwarfs to get -1 to OOA and the dagger to give +1 to OOA and +2 to stun. This means that the effects will cancel each other out in the OOA bracket and the dagger will have full effect in any other bracket i.e. 1-4:stunned, 5-6 OOA.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Count of Ventimiglia's Misericordia   Sat 5 Oct 2013 - 1:35

I see - interesting solution! And with Strike to Injure we're back to the original effect vs. Dwarves as well ^_^ I'll see how that solution fares with the group (the main players has a thing for Dwarves) - thanks!

Any others who do it in another way?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Count of Ventimiglia's Misericordia   Fri 29 Nov 2013 - 15:46

Might as well use my own thread, since the topic is just this specific artifact.

My next question is: How does the skill Expert Swordsman work with the Dagger, which is to be treated as a Sword?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 887
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Count of Ventimiglia's Misericordia   Fri 29 Nov 2013 - 16:22

In my group we allow it to be used with anything that works with swords. In this sort of situation we generally rule that 'counts as' stuff are a sort of 'quantum' situation where e.g. the item is both a sword and a dagger so if something only works with swords it will target the Meriscordia and if something only worked with a dagger it would work with the Meriscordia. By the same token, if something was *immune* to daggers it would be immune to the Meriscordia and if something was immune to swords it would be immune to the Meriscordia.

Sometimes this leads to a few odd situations, but we mostly shrug those off with 'its a game, not a simulation' and the convenience and consistency makes things easier to deal with when it pops up in other situations. For example we also use this guideline when a warrior is in close-combat with only KD/Stunned enemies. They will count as both in combat and not in combat depending on what is happening. They can be shot at because they will count as not being in combat, but any abilities they have that require them being in combat will be able to be used also.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Count of Ventimiglia's Misericordia   Sat 30 Nov 2013 - 2:31

Alright, I can understand that rule. I think my group said 'the artifact is already good as it is without Expert Swordsman', which I can understand... But it's an artifact! And if it treated as a normal Sword rulewise, then I'd discard the Dagger rules, which were probably only made, so that all future warbands would be able to use it.

Lord 0 wrote:
For example we also use this guideline when a warrior is in close-combat with only KD/Stunned enemies. They will count as both in combat and not in combat depending on what is happening. They can be shot at because they will count as not being in combat, but any abilities they have that require them being in combat will be able to be used also.
Interesting. Our interpretation is the opposite - they cannot be shot at, because they count as being in close combat. This is why we interpretate it like that:

"Moving from combat
Once models are engaged in hand-to-hand combat they cannot move away during their movement phase. They must fight until they are either taken out of action, until they take out their enemies, or until one or the other breaks and runs. The exception to this rule is that if all a modelís close combat opponents are knocked down or stunned, he may move away from the combat if you wish, and even charge other enemies within range."

So they're considered in close combat, and their opponents are considered as 'close combat opponents'. Thus they cannot be shot as, since they're in close combat. However, in their turn, they may leave close combat and will no longer be considered as being in one, except if they charge another opponent.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 887
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Count of Ventimiglia's Misericordia   Sat 30 Nov 2013 - 23:26

Oh yeah, that is totally how the rules work. We just like the cinematic visual of somone standing over an ally, about to administer the coup-de-gras and then THWACK! From out of nowhere comes a ranged shot into the baddie! The dude on the ground weakly looks off-camera and gives a grateful smile to their friend with the bow, who returns the gesture with a stoic head-nod. And so forth.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Count of Ventimiglia's Misericordia   Mon 2 Dec 2013 - 6:33

Haha, yeah, I love the cinematic moves done in Mordheim - really gets a story going!

In our games the baddie won't get hit though... he just won't get a kill either, judging from the arrow through the head of the dude on the ground.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: The Count of Ventimiglia's Misericordia   Today at 2:40

Back to top Go down
 
The Count of Ventimiglia's Misericordia
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Last Full Week of June- Make it Count?
» Danger Mouse Banana Man and Count Duckula
» Nolan & Synder: Lets count the number of things wrong with Superman Returns
» Metal count?
» Misericordia [PIEDAD] - Fuentes de Ebro 1938

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: