HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 BTB rule clarifications

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
DicLombardi
Knight
Knight


Posts : 87
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-06-17

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Merchants (BTB) Merchants (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: BTB rule clarifications   Mon 17 Jun 2013 - 22:46

Hey I just have a few questions regarding some BTB stuff and a few regular rule questions. We're about 1/4 of the way through our first BTB campaign with 15 people and heaps of questions have come up as there are a huge variety of warbands and objectives so there's heaps of ways thing can happen and be interpretated. We have 3 celestial protectorates; Wood Elves, Man-Eaters and Nuln engineers. 3 Scion of Chaos; Tzeentch possessed, Khorne Beastmen and Nurgle Marauders. 3 silent threats; Restless dead, Carnival of Chaos and Halflings. 2 lure of fortune; Chaos dwarves and Merchant caravan (Me!) 3 Damned Shall Burn; Shadow Warriors, Wood Elves (another one, different rules) and Lizardmen. And finally 1 scourge of the realm a dark elf team. 

Anyway my questions are;
In regards to blockade if the cart makes it to the tower (+1cp) but the defenders lose, do they still get the CP aswell as lose one? Or just lose one and not gain one?  

If someone is beast mastering (skill?) an animal and he runs into another beast master, what happens?

Can a carnival of chaos warrior with the mark of Nurgle mutation poison his fists? If he has pugilist, does he need a dose of poison for each? 

Do the chaos artefacts add to your rating?

Last ones a regular rule question; can you choose who attack first with multiple chargers or is it iniative based? I wanna know if I my mounted warrior can knock someone down with the horse attack then take them out with the riders attack?

Thanks guys I know it's a lot of questions and the may have been asked before but I couldn't  see it anywhere, thanks for your help!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6920
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: BTB rule clarifications   Mon 17 Jun 2013 - 23:20

Quote :
Last ones a regular rule question; can you choose who attack first with multiple chargers or is it iniative based? I wanna know if I my mounted warrior can knock someone down with the horse attack then take them out with the riders attack?
 Not if the rider has a higher initiative than the horse.  Chargers all have 'strike first' because they charged, but the chargers will still strike in order of initiative.  We allow the player to pick strike order among warriors with the same initiative, but opposing warriors roll off to determine strike order.

Sorry got no answer for the BTB stuff.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
werekin
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 865
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-06-22
Age : 39
Location : Poole, England

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Norse (Unofficial) Norse (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: BTB rule clarifications   Tue 18 Jun 2013 - 15:25

This selection of warbands sounds like it will be a nightmare to facilitate. Good luck with that eh. Razz
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/stucrweebo
Phantasmal_fiend
General
General


Posts : 158
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-05-27
Location : Auckland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: BTB rule clarifications   Tue 18 Jun 2013 - 16:13

Q1). if that beastmaster is allied i am sure you can use that beastmasters leadership if they are in range. an animal is loyal to their master i don't think they would be able to steal it from you.

Q2). I believe it has to be a edged weapon that gets poisoned ie no clubs, staffs, so i would say no you have to ability to disease with nurglish rot which is pretty cool. and plague carrier BTB mutation.

Q3) Nope no other artifact does
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DicLombardi
Knight
Knight


Posts : 87
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-06-17

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Merchants (BTB) Merchants (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: BTB rule clarifications   Wed 19 Jun 2013 - 0:33

werekin wrote:
This selection of warbands sounds like it will be a nightmare to facilitate. Good luck with that eh. Razz

Haha yeah it's pretty hectic some times, we use the choosing an opponent system laid out in the book. We have two week turns, so when all opponents and battles are decided the players has 2 weeks to do them in their own time, then I gather up all the CP And Rating info and make a an order of choosing opponent list for the next round. The only problem with this system so far is getting everyone to submit their CP and Rating in a timely manner, takes about three days haha organising 15 people is prett hard sometimes, but with these many people it makes for heaps of stakes and agendas and personal grudges its great.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DicLombardi
Knight
Knight


Posts : 87
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-06-17

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Merchants (BTB) Merchants (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: BTB rule clarifications   Wed 19 Jun 2013 - 0:47

Thanks Fiend! Also another question in the Scenario Man Hunt, fighting a hyrda (a gigantic monster) when you wound it do you still get the +1 xp for each wound inflicted since they don't lose the wound? It does say for "inflicting" the wound and you are technically still doing that and it also says "irrespective of scenario"
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1451
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: BTB rule clarifications   Wed 19 Jun 2013 - 4:04

Here are my two cents worth...

Blockade: The rules simply say +1 CP if the supplies reach the supplies caravan reaches the tower. Therefore I would award +1 CP even if the defenders lose. Reading the rules just now makes me wonder whether there should be an extra victory condition where the defenders win if the caravan reaches the outpost. This would make sense from the fluff.

Beastmaster: The rules don't say otherwise so technically one warrior with Beastmaster could steal an animal from another warrior with Beastmaster. I agree with PF that this doesn't feel right though.

Nurgle: There is no need to poison the warriors fists. The base attacks would provide the bonus CPs enemy hero is taken OOA or is killed by the Nurgle warrior. Cianty has provided this guidance in the thread linked below. If the bonus CPs are awarded for Wright Blades then I would apply that also to the Nurgle mutation that you mentioned.
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t4979-btb-restless-dead-and-the-silent-threat-objective

Chaos Artifacts: No the chaos artifacts do not add to the warbands rating. It does make that warband a target for other warbands though! Wink

Man Hunt: Here are the rules for the bonus XP from the scenario.
Quote :
+1 Per Pacified Monster. Any Hero or Henchman group earns +1 Experience whenever their attacks cause a hostile monster to turn passive.
I'm not sure where you have found reference for the bonus XP for wounding. I could't find any reference to bonus XP in the rules for the hyrda. As a result I would say that there is no bonus XP given.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
DicLombardi
Knight
Knight


Posts : 87
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-06-17

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Merchants (BTB) Merchants (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: BTB rule clarifications   Wed 19 Jun 2013 - 4:16

Thanks RL, we're using the wight blade rules already and the Nurgle mutation variation Is sure to make the carnival pleased! The hydra rules I was referring to is found at the start of beats of the easts in the gigantic monsters rules
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Coppermind
Captain
Captain


Posts : 68
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-02-04
Location : Lake Constance, DE

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Chaos Dwarfs (BTB) Chaos Dwarfs (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: BTB rule clarifications   Wed 19 Jun 2013 - 7:27

Gigantic Monsters p.81 wrote:
+1 For Wounding: Irrespective of the scenario conditions, any Hero or Henchman earns +1 Experience for each wound he inflicts on the monster.


Man Hunt p.54 wrote:
Whenever a monster is wounded, instead of losing a wound it must pass a Leadership test.

On first thoughts I would have suggested that you gain no xp for wounds, because the hydra takes Ld test instead of being wounded.

But the ignorance of scenario conditions makes me wonder. Is this meant according to the scenario's xp gaining conditions or every condition?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sealedcity.blogspot.com/
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1451
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: BTB rule clarifications   Thu 20 Jun 2013 - 4:27

Whoops. I looked at the rules for the hydra twice and still missed that!

I reckon that XP would be given because the hydra was wounded even though the scenario special rules state that no wounds are lost when wounded.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
werekin
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 865
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-06-22
Age : 39
Location : Poole, England

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Norse (Unofficial) Norse (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: BTB rule clarifications   Thu 20 Jun 2013 - 10:58

Should this thread be moved onto one of the existing BTB FAQ threads? Something for the MOD's to consider.

The strength skill Beastmaster is somewhat at odds with Animal Handling skills. As a beastmaster Hero is using his physical prowess to overcome untamed or untrained beasts. Therefore the skill would not 'override' the skill of an animal tamer. In contrast if some sort of academic 'charm' or 'allure' were to be placed on the tamed/trained animal then its training would be overridden.

I think any warrior scoring a wound on a Hydra needs to be gaining experience!

If a Hero is immune to poison, then he could (in theory) apply poison to his fists, unless poison is specific to bladed weapons(!!?)

Close combat attacks must be fought in order of Initiative after any models that strike first for charging, spears/tridents, Lightning Reflexes skill etc.

Chaos artefacts and other equipment don't affect warband ratings.


Rational wrote:
Blockade: The rules simply say +1 CP if the supplies reach the supplies caravan reaches the tower. Therefore I would award +1 CP even if the defenders lose. Reading the rules just now makes me wonder whether there should be an extra victory condition where the defenders win if the caravan reaches the outpost. This would make sense from the fluff.

I would tend to agree. Be interesting to see what Cianty thinks.


Dic wrote:
The only problem with this system so far is getting everyone to submit their CP and Rating in a timely manner, takes about three days haha organising 15 people is prett hard sometimes, but with these many people it makes for heaps of stakes and agendas and personal grudges its great.

I hear you brother. The rewards of facilitating a group like this are a pay off in their own right if your campaign story is flowing thick with adventure! thumbsup
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/stucrweebo
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6920
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: BTB rule clarifications   Sun 23 Jun 2013 - 10:54

werekin wrote:
If a Hero is immune to poison, then he could (in theory) apply poison to his fists, unless poison is specific to bladed weapons(!!?)

The rules for poisons are quite clear that only 'weapons' may be poisoned and that black powder weapons may not be poisoned.  Fists are classified as 'without weapons'.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
werekin
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 865
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-06-22
Age : 39
Location : Poole, England

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Norse (Unofficial) Norse (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: BTB rule clarifications   Sun 23 Jun 2013 - 13:07

VK wrote:
Fists are classified as 'without weapons'.

Right you are sir. Then it sounds like our poison-toting mutant friend ought pray to Grandfather Nurgle for Beweaponed Extremities 'gift'.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/stucrweebo
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: BTB rule clarifications   Today at 12:35

Back to top Go down
 
BTB rule clarifications
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Rule changes for shields & bucklers?
» Muffin Will Rule Da World
» What do you think of my extensive rule changes?
» Purposed Cone Rule
» A hero's rule 2: good tech card?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: