HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Critical hit + Step aside .... how many "step aside" rolls ?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Claus
Champion
Champion


Posts : 47
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-31
Location : Austria (nearby Vienna)

PostSubject: Critical hit + Step aside .... how many "step aside" rolls ?   Sun 9 Jun 2013 - 4:37

Hello.

We have a discussion about critical hits on a hero that has the "step aside" skill.

How many step aside rolls do you have to do ?

Here the exact rules from the rulebook for "step aside"
Step Aside. The warrior has a natural ability to avoid
injury in combat. Each time he suffers a wound in
close combat he may make an additional saving throw
of 5+. This save is never modified and is taken after
all other armour saves.

1) Does it mean that when my armour roll does not prevent the wound he gets the wound and as it is doubled I have to do 2 "step aside rolls" ?

2) Or does it simply mean that I first need to do armour roll. If not succesfull then I have to do the "step aside" roll and when this one were not successful the wounds are doubled ?

I personal would tend to option 2 but would like to read your interpretation or how you play it in your games.

Regards
Claus
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Arli
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 121
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-05-24
Age : 46
Location : Washington DC

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Critical hit + Step aside .... how many "step aside" rolls ?   Sun 9 Jun 2013 - 5:16

I agree with your 1st example. Since the critical ignores armor and doubles to two wounds, you now take the step aside save at 5+.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Claus
Champion
Champion


Posts : 47
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-31
Location : Austria (nearby Vienna)

PostSubject: Re: Critical hit + Step aside .... how many "step aside" rolls ?   Sun 9 Jun 2013 - 5:27

Sorry, donīt get you.

Critical hit on 1-2 doubles the wound.
Critical hit on 3-4 ignores armour roles.

The wound is only doubled if armour save not succesfull. The question is simply....Do I have to do step aside before the wound is doubled or after the wound is doubled ? The later one means to have to do 2 step aside rolls.

Regards
Claus
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Critical hit + Step aside .... how many "step aside" rolls ?   Sun 9 Jun 2013 - 6:31

Option #1. Take two Step Aside Rolls. Rolling more dice is always better. Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Critical hit + Step aside .... how many "step aside" rolls ?   Sun 9 Jun 2013 - 17:48

The first example sounds right to me.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Spectre76
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 820
Trading Reputation : 4
Join date : 2012-04-21
Age : 40
Location : Springfield, MO

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Reiklanders Reiklanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Critical hit + Step aside .... how many "step aside" rolls ?   Sun 9 Jun 2013 - 23:40

The "Step Aside" save is NOT armor, and is taken after any armor saves that are needed. If a Critical Hit ignores armor, the 5+ Step Aside is still allowed.
-If the save succeeds, then the Critical Hit is prevented.
-If the save fails, then the Critical Hit doubles the wounds inflicted on the target.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.thetonezone.net
Captain Ludwig of Altdorf
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 103
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-09
Age : 19
Location : Nijmegen, Holland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Critical hit + Step aside .... how many "step aside" rolls ?   Mon 10 Jun 2013 - 5:34

You take the save before the double. Simply put, if it does not wound the model it's not a wound but simply a hit. Only after all saves are taken is the wound doubled.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
The Ultra-Mega Bob
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 104
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-03-07
Age : 31
Location : Bath, England

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Critical hit + Step aside .... how many "step aside" rolls ?   Fri 28 Jun 2013 - 8:50

Method two.

You get hit > then you take a wound; you take armour saves > then you get a Step Aside save.

If your saves have failed you double the result of the initial wound.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Critical hit + Step aside .... how many "step aside" rolls ?   Today at 3:12

Back to top Go down
 
Critical hit + Step aside .... how many "step aside" rolls ?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» One Step Forward, Two Steps Back
» Super step side kit car.
» 1st step: Introduce yourself!
» Step by Step building the IJN Yamato
» 1972 GMC Step Side

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: