HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Sword and buckler combo

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Captain Ludwig of Altdorf
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 103
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-09
Age : 18
Location : Nijmegen, Holland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Sword and buckler combo   Sat 18 May 2013 - 13:05

So here's the problem: in my gaming club, there's some uncertainty on how the sword and buckler combination works. There's currently three separate theories:
- The model may take two parry saves, one from the sword and one from the buckler
- The model may take a single parry save with a +1 modifier (with more discussion on whether criticals may be parried on a modified 7)
- The model may take a single parry save at a 4+, but criticals cannot be parried.

Now I have two questions:
- What are the official rules about this?
- As my gaming club gives shields a 5+ armour save to balance them, what rules should we use to balance the use of bucklers?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
whiskeytango
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 253
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-10-30

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Sword and buckler combo   Sat 18 May 2013 - 15:06

Of course now i can't find where it originally says this, but under the parry rule for fighting claws it says that they allow you to re-roll a failed parry attempt in the "same way as a model armed with a sword and buckler", so thats the official ruling, which personally i've always found to be kind of lacking, but it is what it is.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6916
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Sword and buckler combo   Sun 19 May 2013 - 12:56

I don't quite understand the profusion of theories about how the sword and buckler work. Do you mean possible house rules or are you guys just coming up with your own rules as you play?

The 'official' rules are found in the Close Combat section of the Rule Book after Armour Save Modifiers:
Quote :
If your model is armed with a buckler and a sword, you may re-roll failed parries once.

A common change to the buckler rules is to give bucklers a 6+ armor save in addition to the parry rule.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Captain Ludwig of Altdorf
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 103
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-09
Age : 18
Location : Nijmegen, Holland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Sword and buckler combo   Sun 19 May 2013 - 14:04

I have no idea how it all got started, but I've heard people defend all those theories...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1451
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Sword and buckler combo   Sun 19 May 2013 - 15:19

If you need the rules for sword and buckler than VK has posted them. I guess that some confusion comes from those rules not being attached to the rules for the sword or for the buckler but I instead are in a separate part of the rulebook.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6916
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Sword and buckler combo   Sun 19 May 2013 - 21:47

Not intending to imply that just making up your own rules as you go is a bad thing either. Just curious. Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Sword and buckler combo   Today at 16:12

Back to top Go down
 
Sword and buckler combo
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Cloak Counts as Buckler in Close Combat?
» Spell Striker combo
» Toon Combo
» Fusilier Dragon combo
» chain destruction karma cut combo

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: