HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Shield and two weapons

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
landoro
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 6
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-01-23

PostSubject: Shield and two weapons   Thu 18 Apr 2013 - 5:43

Hi
I am testing the Knight Errant list in an online campaign and I have some questions (know that a few of you playing are in here). All the Heroes come with Light armour and shield from start.

Can a model be armed with two hand weapons (axe and hammer) and a shield?

If yes can I choose at the start of a fight if my model should use two weapons or one weapon and the shield?

Can I also use the shield against shooting at all times?

Thanks for the help, did not fint any answers in the main rules.

Have fun
landoro
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6920
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Shield and two weapons   Thu 18 Apr 2013 - 5:49

Quote :
Can a model be armed with two hand weapons (axe and hammer) and a shield?

Yes he can. You may choose your weapons or shield at the start of a combat.

Quote :
Can I also use the shield against shooting at all times?

Yes.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Shield and two weapons   Thu 18 Apr 2013 - 8:50

yes to all. Just remember once you have chosen your weapon combo for close combat your locked into it till your model is out of combat. The only weapon(s) that break that rule are pistols if they are used in the first round of combat (or 1st and 2nd if a brace).
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Shield and two weapons   Thu 18 Apr 2013 - 9:24

Pervavita wrote:
The only weapon(s) that break that rule are pistols if they are used in the first round of combat (or 1st and 2nd if a brace).

Are you sure about that?

The rules for Pistol/Brace state:

"A model armed with a pistol and another close combat weapon gains +1 Attack, which is resolved at Strength 4 with a -2 save modifier. This bonus attack can be used only once per combat. If you are firing a brace of pistols, your model can fight with 2 Attacks in the first turn of close combat."

The ruling is actually quite bad, as it says, that your bonus attack can be used "once per combat", which could mean any round of combat, while a brace can ONLY be used in the 1st turn, not 2nd, 3rd, 4th, etc.
This also proves to be annoying if you get charged and knocked down before you get your pistols off.


Last edited by Aipha on Thu 18 Apr 2013 - 9:27; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Misspelling)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Shield and two weapons   Thu 18 Apr 2013 - 16:28

you use the pistol in your hand then once fired you swap it for another weapon (2nd pistol or hand weapon).
Back to top Go down
View user profile
whiskeytango
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 253
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-10-30

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Shield and two weapons   Fri 19 Apr 2013 - 0:40

its not RAW, but we've always just played it more like you can use your pistol attacks at the first opportunity you have to do so. If the first chance to do so is after getting up after being knocked down in your first round of combat, thats when you can shoot them. I think it'd take a real cad to deny you the chance to use pistol shots because the wording of the rule changes half way through the paragraph. Certainly not the type of person i'd want to play against on a regular basis.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Shield and two weapons   Today at 2:41

Back to top Go down
 
Shield and two weapons
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» China cream tea tray with two lions astride a shield
» Lego Shield
» Griffon 75mm GMC Gun Shield
» Shield + Light Armor
» SEM rust shield

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: