HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Taking a Knocked Down / Stunned Enemy OOA in Base contact ??

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
thornz
Hero
Hero


Posts : 26
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-09-21
Location : Christchurch

PostSubject: Taking a Knocked Down / Stunned Enemy OOA in Base contact ??   Mon 4 Mar 2013 - 13:53

Hi,

We are all very confused ... please help!

If you can attack & If there are no other enemy involved in the combat & If your in B2B with a Knocked Down enemy, you auto hit & have to wound and they are OOA
If you can attack & If there are no other enemy involved in the combat & If your in B2B with a Stunned enemy, you take them OOA

SCENARIO 1: Sauraus Bite: Knock down an enemy with normal attacks, then at I1 Bite them and only roll to wound, then the enemy is OOA?

SCENARIO 2: 2 Opponents charge 1 lone enemy. 1 opponent has a 2 Handed Weapon. 1st charging Opponent knocks down the enemy. Enemy doesn't get to strike as they are knocked down. Opponent with 2 handed weapon just has to wound to take the enemy OOA?

Are these 2 scenarios right, or are we doing it worng?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Taking a Knocked Down / Stunned Enemy OOA in Base contact ??   Mon 4 Mar 2013 - 14:01

1: I'm not 100% sure of this but I think it is yes.
This would apply also to the first strike with an X-bow pistol but it could also apply to an Ithmar weapon in one hand to strike faster and knock them down for the auto kill on the off hand weapon.


2: Yes, I have been starting to use this strat my self and plan to use it with Young Bloods in my Merc bands to get them some extra kills. This applies to any h2h combat where inititive order is in play.
If you charge with 2+ models you must roll for there strikes in Inititive order as well; if tied they roll off. So this could mean that a hero could knock them down and the henchmen takes them OOA even if you would rather it have gone the other way.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6907
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Taking a Knocked Down / Stunned Enemy OOA in Base contact ??   Mon 4 Mar 2013 - 20:08

1. Is a big no. Page 37 of the RB (p. 21 of the Living RB)
Quote :
Attacking Stunned and Knocked Down Warriors
Note that a model with multiple attacks may not stun/knock down and then automatically take a warrior out of action during the same hand-to-hand combat phase.

2. Yes as above.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Goglutin
Elder
Elder


Posts : 387
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-19
Age : 39
Location : Montréal , Canada

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Taking a Knocked Down / Stunned Enemy OOA in Base contact ??   Sat 13 Apr 2013 - 9:59

Phew.... !!!

By reading Pervavita I tought that my Friend lizardmen were going to get another edge (they are already strong enough).

We always played that the bit could not be used to put OOA an opponent he just KD or STUNNED...
That would be a disaster for all warbands if he could do that.

However, we do accept that a mounted character can KD and put OOA in the same round (ex: His horse KD the enemy and he puts an end to his misery afterward).

Mounts are expensive and the lot of disadvantage they carry with them is enough to compensate and this never was ''too strong''.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6907
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Taking a Knocked Down / Stunned Enemy OOA in Base contact ??   Sat 13 Apr 2013 - 10:57

The mount is also a seperate 'warrior' with its own profile and attack(s). The rider can dismount or become dismounted, etc.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mayonnaise
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 7
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-03-20

PostSubject: Re: Taking a Knocked Down / Stunned Enemy OOA in Base contact ??   Sat 13 Apr 2013 - 12:41

We play it where you still have to roll to hit if your opponent is knocked down (and you also get armor saves/step aside/parry/etc), since you're still on your back but fully conscious and will still be a moving target (even if you're just rolling around on the ground). Being stunned, however, means your opponent is out cold, and you can take your time to deliver a proper death blow.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Goglutin
Elder
Elder


Posts : 387
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-19
Age : 39
Location : Montréal , Canada

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Taking a Knocked Down / Stunned Enemy OOA in Base contact ??   Sun 14 Apr 2013 - 5:19

The true rule however is that you auto-hit and do not have opportunity to parry. You still have to wound and bypass armours however.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Taking a Knocked Down / Stunned Enemy OOA in Base contact ??   Today at 14:53

Back to top Go down
 
Taking a Knocked Down / Stunned Enemy OOA in Base contact ??
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Charging over knocked down, stunned models
» Taking out Knocked down/stunned opponents
» Stunned/Knocked down counters?
» [Tutorial] Taking Photos of your Miniatures (by Hyun)
» taking lives

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: