HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Pistols in Close Combat and reloading

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Grumbaki
Knight
Knight


Posts : 88
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-27

PostSubject: Pistols in Close Combat and reloading   Wed 12 Dec 2012 - 23:56

So, this issue came up in a game. A dwarf had two pistols. He fired a pistol, and then got charged. I argued that because he fired a pistol and didn't have the chance to reload it, he could only shoot 1 pistol. He argued that the rules say that he can fire both pistols in the start of close combat, regardless of whether they are loaded or not.

So, how does it work?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1451
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistols in Close Combat and reloading   Thu 13 Dec 2012 - 0:20

Ugh. The pistols need to be loaded and it is a bit cheesy to say otherwise. No

Here are the relevant rules for Pistols. I have added emphasis to the rules that your opponent is trying to use. They conflict with the Prepare Shot rule though.
Quote :
Prepare shot: A pistol takes a whole turn to reload, so you may only fire every other turn. If you have a brace of pistols (ie, two) you may fire every turn.

Hand-to-hand: Pistols can be used in hand-to-hand combat as well as for shooting. A model armed with a pistol and another close combat weapon gains +1 Attack, which is resolved at Strength 4 with a -2 save modifier. This bonus attack can be used only once per combat. If you are firing a brace of pistols, your model can fight with 2 Attacks in the first turn of close combat. These attacks are resolved with a model’s Weapon Skill like any normal close combat attack and likewise may be parried. Successful hits are resolved at Strength 4 and with a -2 save modifier, regardless of the firer’s Strength.

Here are the rules for the Pistolier skill.
Quote :
Pistolier. The warrior is an expert at using all kinds of pistols. If he is equipped with a brace of pistols of any type (including crossbow pistols), he may fire twice in the Shooting phase (though note that normal reloading rules apply). If he has a single pistol then he may fire it in the same turn it was reloaded.
This skill spells out that normal reloading rules apply. Unfortunately the rules for the pistol do not. While it may be possible to argue RAW that both pistols can be fired I think that anyone doing so deserves a friendly clobber. Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Grumbaki
Knight
Knight


Posts : 88
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-27

PostSubject: Re: Pistols in Close Combat and reloading   Thu 13 Dec 2012 - 0:46

Thanks for the answer. So...we were right. By logic, an unloaded pistol shouldn't be fired. But by RAW, it can be.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistols in Close Combat and reloading   Thu 13 Dec 2012 - 10:10

I would argue the rule of Prepared Shot does not specify H2H or Ranged. This means he shot and must reload said pistol.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Goglutin
Elder
Elder


Posts : 387
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-19
Age : 39
Location : Montréal , Canada

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistols in Close Combat and reloading   Fri 18 Jan 2013 - 15:40

Have you tought about slapping your friend really hard behind the head...

Just in hopes he will remind its a game and that arguing so stupid things is ridiculous (shooting an unloaded pistol Evil or Very Mad )...

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Spectre76
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 820
Trading Reputation : 4
Join date : 2012-04-21
Age : 39
Location : Springfield, MO

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Reiklanders Reiklanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistols in Close Combat and reloading   Fri 18 Jan 2013 - 19:10

Am I the only one thinking that kind of rules-lawyering deserves a baseball bat to the head? Newspaper whack
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.thetonezone.net
Goglutin
Elder
Elder


Posts : 387
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-19
Age : 39
Location : Montréal , Canada

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistols in Close Combat and reloading   Fri 18 Jan 2013 - 19:14

Answer : NO.

Maybe electro-shock treatment could work.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
landoro
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 6
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-01-23

PostSubject: Re: Pistols in Close Combat and reloading   Wed 23 Jan 2013 - 16:21

To be fair, nowhere in the rules does it says he is shooting with the pistol, it simply gives him an extra attack.
Yes it deos seem wrong when you consider the "prepare shoot" rule but the rules are very clear, if you have a pistol you get an extra attack, just as if you had any other weapon.
Perhaps it is something to make pistols worthwhile so they are not completley useless.

My question is: What happens in the second close combat turn, do you get to pull out your other weapons, somewhere I think i saw a reference to pistols being used as clubs in the second close combat turn. How does a model armed with a brace of pistols fight in the second turn when he has used his shoots.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 6907
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Pistols in Close Combat and reloading   Wed 23 Jan 2013 - 17:11

Welcome! I have never used this icon thingy but it seems appropriate here. Newspaper whack

Second round by rule pistols and lances may be exchanged for other weapons after their use in the first round of combat.

Many groups, including the one I play with, have house rules that the pistol may be used as a club after the first round of combat. Indeed we go so far that if you have an empty pistol you may use it as a club from the first round on. In our group this stems from 5th edition Warhammer Fantasy which had a similar rule for pistols.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Pistols in Close Combat and reloading   Today at 18:16

Back to top Go down
 
Pistols in Close Combat and reloading
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Pistolier Skill
» Pistol Attacks in Close Combat
» Pistols in Close Combat are a Rules Nightmare!
» Javelins and close combat
» Necromunda Style Close Combat

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: