HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Charging up a ladder?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
joebloggs1987
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 7
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2012-07-10

PostSubject: Charging up a ladder?   Sat 14 Jul 2012 - 21:37

Ok, so we have a house rule that you are able to climb as part of a Charge move (distance climbed couints as 2" for every 1").

If you have a model that is standing at the top of a ladder, is it therefore impossible to Charge him, as there is nowhere to place the charging model?

Would that then mean that you could place one model blocking a ladder, place bows/crossbows on that level, and make it impossible to be charged?

Had this tactic pulled on me, and it seemed kind of game-breaking...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Spectre76
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 820
Trading Reputation : 4
Join date : 2012-04-21
Age : 40
Location : Springfield, MO

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Reiklanders Reiklanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Charging up a ladder?   Sat 14 Jul 2012 - 22:22

I believe that the top of a ladder is considered to be a "defended obstacle", requiring the attacker to hit only on rolls of 6, if i'm not mistaken. Under the rules as written, ladders are considered open terrain, and may be moved/charged over as any other normal terrain. Plus, the easier method is to just shoot the guy. Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.thetonezone.net
catachanfrog
Elder
Elder


Posts : 319
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-07-08

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Charging up a ladder?   Sun 15 Jul 2012 - 2:25

As spectre wrote ladders are open terrain. More than that you can climb as normal and then charge or just make a "climbing charge" (remember you must see a model before you charge).

This thing is from mordheim annual and I believe is an answer. We play that if charged model is standing on the edge of a building he must make some room for charging model.

Spectre76 - Where this "defended obstacle" rule is from (sound like fb but if it's mordheim where did you found it)? scratch
Back to top Go down
View user profile
WarbossKurgan
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 2867
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-10-04
Age : 45
Location : Morkchester, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Charging up a ladder?   Sun 15 Jul 2012 - 3:33

In my opinion Mordheim is better as a three dimentional game. Anything that prevents people using upper layer of terrain is bad. Ladders have to be "open terrain" with no penalties for charging or any other movement or the game is worse for it.


Last edited by WarbossKurgan on Sun 15 Jul 2012 - 14:35; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.flameon.co.uk
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Charging up a ladder?   Sun 15 Jul 2012 - 6:31

Rules for Defended Obstacles can be found in the scenario Encampment Raid TC#28 p.19. They do not mention ladders as a defended obstacle, but we have used that as a House Rule on occassion.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
brokenv
Knight
Knight


Posts : 98
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2012-03-23
Location : ACT, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Undead Undead
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Charging up a ladder?   Sun 15 Jul 2012 - 16:44

Von Kurst wrote:
Rules for Defended Obstacles can be found in the scenario Encampment Raid TC#28 p.19. They do not mention ladders as a defended obstacle, but we have used that as a House Rule on occassion.

That rule is for the purchased encampment item 'barricade', a 6"x1" defendable item for the encampment.


Page 10 of the LRB says "Models are also considered to be in hand-to-hand combat even when separated by a low wall or obstacle, where it is impossible for the bases to touch physically because the obstacle is in the way."

You can read that as they can fight despite ladder obstacles, or just make the charger 'push' the blocker out of the way a bit as they charge up the ladder.


I've always assumed that anyone going up a ladder can climb up to the side of the ladder if it is blocked anyway, so standing at the top of ladder gains nothing but the chance to do an initiative test when knocked down or stunned. I've always found it better to place 1" away from the ladder to intercept warriors and make them take initiative tests.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://mordheimact.tabletopgeeks.com/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Charging up a ladder?   Today at 23:03

Back to top Go down
 
Charging up a ladder?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Charging up a ladder?
» Charging over knocked down, stunned models
» How to smash the Showdown Ladder.
» UMX Beast charging questions?
» GM TRUCK LADDER RACK'S

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: