HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Charging more than one opponent

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
crazygandalf
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 20
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-03-27
Age : 36
Location : Poland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Charging more than one opponent   Sat 7 Apr 2012 - 3:07

According to the rules:
"If you can move your warrior into base contact with more than one enemy model with its charge move, it can charge them both."
What happens when I declared charge on two models, but due to some circumstances (miscalculated the distance, not enough room to put the model in base contact with both of them) I can reach only one of them.
Does it counts as a failed charge? Or maybe attacking model reaches only the one it is in range. How do you play it?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Charging more than one opponent   Sat 7 Apr 2012 - 4:05

In my group we used the interpretation that if you only make it to one then it counts as a failed charge and you only move your normal move. However, if your normal move can bring you into contact with at least one target of the charge then *that* will count as a charge.

We went with that interpretation to balance the power of using a single expendable charger to tie up multiple intercepters, but not lead to silly results when you are charging from close range.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
brokenv
Knight
Knight


Posts : 98
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2012-03-23
Location : ACT, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Undead Undead
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Charging more than one opponent   Sat 7 Apr 2012 - 17:54

Charges are when "the attacker moving by the most direct route into base-to-base contact".

We've played that if thatt direct path allows you to be in contact with 2 enemies, you have the option of charging them both, but if you have to add distance or change the direct route to get base contact with 2 enemies, you cannot charge them both. We did this because intercepting a model charging 2 models got weird, and people started charging 2 dogs on 4 models and 4 models on 1 warrior, which seemed cheap and stupid, but if you set up your models to allow charges like that, you deserved to reap your rewards.


I'm curious, do you folks declare all charges, and then declare all interceptors afterwards.... or do you declare charges/interceptors one at a time?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://mordheimact.tabletopgeeks.com/
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Charging more than one opponent   Sat 7 Apr 2012 - 18:00

In my group we declare all charges and then move all charges. Interceptions are declared as they are relevant so you don't have to declare an intercept against what turns out to be a failed charge and so forth.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sgt. Mulcayhee
Captain
Captain


Posts : 71
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-13
Location : San Francisco

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Averlanders Averlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Charging more than one opponent   Sat 7 Apr 2012 - 21:48

brokenv wrote:
We've played that if that direct path allows you to be in contact with 2 enemies, you have the option of charging them both, but if you have to add distance or change the direct route to get base contact with 2 enemies, you cannot charge them both. We did this because intercepting a model charging 2 models got weird, and people started charging 2 dogs on 4 models and 4 models on 1 warrior, which seemed cheap and stupid, but if you set up your models to allow charges like that, you deserved to reap your rewards.

Sounds like we do the same.

We play that you declare a charge on a single model, if you can get in base to base contact with additional models as part of your movement than you may do so, if desired.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
crazygandalf
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 20
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-03-27
Age : 36
Location : Poland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Charging more than one opponent   Tue 10 Apr 2012 - 12:37

Thanks for the answers. We have a house rule that allows you to charge as many models as you have attacks. In addition in the charging round you have to attack every charged model minimum once. In the subsueqent rules we play as normal.
I see two different approaches. And I must say both are interesting. Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Charging more than one opponent   Today at 9:16

Back to top Go down
 
Charging more than one opponent
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Charging over knocked down, stunned models
» Opponent finder
» Gemini Spark: Tribute Opponent's monster?
» UMX Beast charging questions?
» fake charging solution Nokia e52 100% tested

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: