HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Shooting into combat

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
scottishscott



Posts : 4
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-17

PostSubject: Shooting into combat   Wed 2 Nov 2011 - 0:39

Simple question, caused a fair ammount of argument last night.

Can you shoot into a combat, if the model on your side, is knocked down/stunned?

eg

player 1's Youngblood is knocked down, in combat with player 2's Vampire, can player 1, shoot at the Vampire with a marksman, thats on an elevated position?

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dribble Joy
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 139
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-08-21

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Shooting into combat   Wed 2 Nov 2011 - 1:48

I can't find specific mention, but in numerous places it states or implies that you are not engaged in combat if your opponents are knocked down or stunned.

From that I would personally take it that they can be shot.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
scottishscott



Posts : 4
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-17

PostSubject: Re: Shooting into combat   Wed 2 Nov 2011 - 2:01

i'd have agreed, but is there anywhere that states,

"you are not considered in combat against opponents that are knocked down / stunned"

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Saranor
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 236
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-12-28
Location : Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Shadow Warriors (Unofficial) Shadow Warriors (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Shooting into combat   Wed 2 Nov 2011 - 3:21

No, the opposite. You are still in combat, but you may leave it, if all enemies are stunned or knocked down.
Quote :
Once models are engaged in hand-to-hand combat
they cannot move away during their movement
phase. They must fight until they are either taken out
of action, until they take out their enemies, or until
one or the other breaks and runs.
The exception to this rule is that if all a modelís close
combat opponents are knocked down or stunned, he
may move away from the combat if you wish, and
even charge other enemies within range.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Shooting into combat   Thu 3 Nov 2011 - 6:44

I have certainly never seen anything that said or implied that you are not in combat if your opponent is knocked down or stunned!

You could always house rule that if an enemy will have an opportunity to strike a knocked down* model, you may shoot into that melee. The reason you can't normally is because you could hit your own guy - and while that is still true, his chances of surviving are arguably better with the shot, if he is about to be smacked while KDed.

*If it is your turn to shoot, I can't figure a way one of your guys would be stunned, since you will have just gone through a recovery phase.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Shooting into combat   Thu 3 Nov 2011 - 14:42

I personally don't think that I see anything wrong with it.

Fluff wise you cannot shot into close combat because the warriors are moving too much and there is too great a risk of hitting your own warrior. If your warrior is knocked down (or stunned if possible) then there will not be much moving around and the warrior is already at a great risk of being taken out of action by the enemy. It may need to be a house rule I guess.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Shooting into combat   Fri 4 Nov 2011 - 3:34

In my circle we made the house-rule that if you were in combat and all your opponents were knocked down or stunned then *everything* was allowed. If it can only be done when you are in combat then it is allowed. If you are only allowed to do it if you are not in combat then it is allowed. It is a quantum state where you are both in combat and not in combat depending on the observer.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Shooting into combat   Fri 4 Nov 2011 - 8:56

I like that house rule a lot Lord 0
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Shooting into combat   Today at 23:02

Back to top Go down
 
Shooting into combat
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Spells and HtH combat
» GERMANY'S PANTHER TANK - The Quest For Combat Supremacy
» Pistol Attacks in Close Combat
» MULTIPLE COMBAT
» Javelins and close combat

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: