HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Multiple Charges and intercept

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Popmouth
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 479
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-12-10
Age : 29
Location : Gothemburg, Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Kislevites Kislevites
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Multiple Charges and intercept   Fri 29 Jul 2011 - 3:51

Ok so a situation came up recently:
A1 charged B1, B2 wanted to intercept A1's charge, however A2 declared a charge against B2, as shown below:


A1....................B1

A2..............B2



Can B2 intercept, or his he already "locked" by A2?

/Popmouth
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Saranor
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 236
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-12-28
Location : Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Shadow Warriors (Unofficial) Shadow Warriors (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Multiple Charges and intercept   Fri 29 Jul 2011 - 5:03

We play it, that you execute the charges in declaration order.

If you said A1->B1 first, than B2 can intercepts and get the additionell charge from A2.

Some gaming groups execute them in Initiative order. If A1 has the higher Initiative, than B2 can intercept otherwise A2 goes first and B2 is already engaged with A2 and can't intercept A1.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Multiple Charges and intercept   Fri 29 Jul 2011 - 5:47

This is why charge order is very important. The answer is "It depends".

If A2 was moved first, then yes B2 is indeed locked and cannot intercept. If A1 is moved first then B2 is free to intercept.

In my circle we play that you are free to move the chargers in any order you like, but you are not free to change the target of the charge. This will sometimes lead to failed charges if you have to go around more than you initially did. The rules don't specify a charge order, but feel free to choose one to use if it will make things easier for you.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Multiple Charges and intercept   Fri 29 Jul 2011 - 6:41

The way we play*, B2 could intercept A1. If you declared the A2 to B2 charge first, then A1 would have been free to have charged B1 without fear of intercept since B2 was already pinned.

*In theory, anyway. In practice we are pretty loose and B would probably point out to A that he was not moving his chargers in the optimal order.


Last edited by mweaver on Fri 29 Jul 2011 - 21:05; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BalrogTheBuff
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 655
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-15
Age : 32
Location : Santa Maria, CA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Multiple Charges and intercept   Fri 29 Jul 2011 - 9:35

mweaver wrote:

*In theory, anyway. In practice we are pretty loose and B would probably point out to A that he not moving his chargers in the optimal order.
thumbsup
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Multiple Charges and intercept   Fri 29 Jul 2011 - 16:07

To avoid this situation we declare all charges first and then charge in order of Initiative. Therefore it comes down to whether A1 has higher Initiative than A2 and therefore charged first.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Popmouth
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 479
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-12-10
Age : 29
Location : Gothemburg, Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Kislevites Kislevites
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Multiple Charges and intercept   Sun 31 Jul 2011 - 8:49

Thanks for anwers, I might just work something out.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Multiple Charges and intercept   Today at 20:54

Back to top Go down
 
Multiple Charges and intercept
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» -1 penalty for multiple shots?
» MULTIPLE COMBAT
» Grade 2 intercept ruleing
» XAS - Multiple Treasure Info
» How to shape multiple Jade in one container?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: