HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Arcane Lore and Magic Tome

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Squigherder
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-02-11

PostSubject: Arcane Lore and Magic Tome   Mon 20 Jun 2011 - 9:20

So it finally came up in our campaign: Someone got himself a Tome of Magic on a non-wizard hero with the skill 'Arcane Lore'. So what happens with that hero?

A: The skill and the tome make it up for the ability 'wizard'. From now on the hero may choose Lesser Magic spells instead of skills.

B: Same as B, but the hero also gets a spell immediately.

C: The hero gets 1 Lesser Magic spell. If later on he gets another Tome of Magic he gains yet another spell.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cmlease
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Arcane Lore and Magic Tome   Mon 20 Jun 2011 - 10:30

I always thought it was B...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Arcane Lore and Magic Tome   Mon 20 Jun 2011 - 17:33

Sadly, it is not 'B' as much as I would like that to be so.

The Arcane Loreist with a tome does not become a wizard and they do not get a free spell. All that happens is that next time they get a skill they are allowed to learn a random lesser magic spell instead. I find it is best to only learn 1 or 2 spells because you will invariably also need the skill 'Armoured Wizard' so that is 3-4 skills used up just to learn 1-2 spells. Plus another one if you learn Sorcery or Magical Aptitude. Worth it if you are making a dedicated caster, less so if they are some kind of hybrid.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7013
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Arcane Lore and Magic Tome   Mon 20 Jun 2011 - 18:18

[quoteB: Same as B, but the hero also gets a spell immediately.
[/quote]

Do you mean same as A?

[quoteThe Arcane Loreist with a tome does not become a wizard and they do not get a free spell. All that happens is that next time they get a skill they are allowed to learn a random lesser magic spell instead. I find it is best to only learn 1 or 2 spells [/quote]

How can you learn 2 spells? The Tome only carries 1. Is the Tome FAQ'd or Errata'd?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Arcane Lore and Magic Tome   Mon 20 Jun 2011 - 21:54

It helps to quote when you ask the question so that everyone else doesn't need to look up the rules or answer off the top of their head. Smile

Quote :

Tome of Magic
Sometimes books of forbidden lore are offered for sale in the markets and dark alleys of the settlements around Mordheim.
If a warband includes a wizard, he will gain an extra spell from the tome, permanently. He may randomly generate this new spell from his own list or the Lesser Magic list. See the Magic section for details. The benefits from each Tome of Magic apply to only one model.

Quote :

Arcane Lore. Witch Hunters, Sisters of Sigmar and Warrior-Priests may not have this skill. Any warrior with this skill may learn Lesser Magic if he owns a Tome of Magic.

Option A if the model is a non-wizard as per your question.
Option C-ish (Lesser Magic or spell from own spell list) if the model is a wizard and the Arcane Lore skill is not required.

Also note that the "benefits from each Tome of Magic apply to only one model" so the Tome of Magic cannot be given to another model to also learn spells after the first model has learnt one or more spells. Seems odd I agree and I remember Werekin saying as a joke in another thread that it is as if the first model is spoiling the pages after use.

@Von Kurst... I agree that it seems odd and inconsistent that for example a Beastmen Shaman can learn a single Lesser Magic spell from a Tome of Magic but a non-spellcaster with Arcane Lore can potentially learn all Lesser Magic spells. The way that I would treat it is if the wizard wants to learn more than one Lesser Magic spell (assuming that they learn other spells by default) then they would need to get the Arcane Lore spell like a non-wizard model.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Arcane Lore and Magic Tome   Tue 21 Jun 2011 - 6:16

Goodness, it had been a house-rule for so long I forgot it *was* a house rule. In my circle we play that if a wizard owns a tome of magic then they can just learn a lesser magic spell when using a skill to get a spell.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
werekin
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 868
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-06-22
Age : 39
Location : Poole, England

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Norse (Unofficial) Norse (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Arcane Lore and Magic Tome   Sun 26 Jun 2011 - 9:43

Lesser magic is for conjurers of cheap tricks anyway. Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/stucrweebo
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Arcane Lore and Magic Tome   Sun 26 Jun 2011 - 9:54

Conjurers that like access to some of the best magical spells in the game, I guess Smile. In my circle the 'Lesser' in ""Lesser" magic" is always pronounced with air quotes, or at least referred to as "allegedly lesser". It is not quite as flashy as some of the other magic, but it is potent enough and you stand a much better chance of actually getting it to work.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Arcane Lore and Magic Tome   Today at 10:58

Back to top Go down
 
Arcane Lore and Magic Tome
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Arcane Lore and Magic Tome
» Tome of magic
» Storm of Magic - The magic of Monte Castello
» Gnoblar Horde/Gut Magic
» Magic Drain>Infernities?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: