HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Declaring attacks and parry?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
cmlease
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-06-20

PostSubject: Declaring attacks and parry?   Mon 20 Jun 2011 - 9:08

Ok, so a question came up recently in my group about declaring attacks.

The scenario is this: attacker 1 (with 2 weapons) engages defenders 1 and 2. Attacker 2 engages defender 1.

Attacker1 has 2 attacks, so, does he have to declare who the attacks are going against? or can he roll them 1 at a time?

If he rolls them one at a time, the defender has more chances to parry...but, assume attacker 1 sends both attacks at defender 1 and rolls a 6. when attacker 2 attacks him, he cannot attempt to parry, correct?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Krolog da Facemangolor
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 11
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-09-19
Age : 32
Location : North Idaho

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Declaring attacks and parry?   Mon 20 Jun 2011 - 9:22

I have always played that you declare all attacks at the same time as they go on the same Inishitive.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
StyrofoamKing
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1354
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-02-16
Age : 32
Location : Chantilly, DC

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pirates (Unofficial) Pirates (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Declaring attacks and parry?   Mon 20 Jun 2011 - 12:15

Declare attacks first. This means a little risk is involved: do I use both attacks against one model and be more sure of taking him out, or do I risk splitting them up?

Also, if you roll 1 at a time, you might end up "attacking" a model that you knocked down with your earlier attack. Veeeeery bad, and against the rules.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://sites.google.com/site/styroheim/
cmlease
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Declaring attacks and parry?   Mon 20 Jun 2011 - 12:37

but if you roll 1 at a time, the rules say you can't attack someone you knocked down, so that removes that.

i'm just wondering if tehre's a RAW statement about how you have to declare your attacks.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ordo Septenarius
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 227
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-10-06
Location : Portland, Oregon, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Declaring attacks and parry?   Mon 20 Jun 2011 - 14:16

cmlease wrote:
but if you roll 1 at a time, the rules say you can't attack someone you knocked down, so that removes that.

i'm just wondering if tehre's a RAW statement about how you have to declare your attacks.

Right, but I think what he means is that if you're in combat with two others, and one is knocked down, and the other is standing, and you then knock it down, you could move to the one that was knocked down to begin with, yes? Which is why this is a no-no.

We generally roll all dice at once; different colors are used for different weapons (white for swords, blue for axes, red for clubs, etc.), since you can only parry the highest roll per round, and you can only score one critical per round. It makes sense that everything would be rolled at once.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
cmlease
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 5
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Declaring attacks and parry?   Mon 20 Jun 2011 - 14:21

gotcha...that makes sense.

1 crit/round? where is that limit?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Myntokk
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 679
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-09-03
Age : 30
Location : California

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Declaring attacks and parry?   Mon 20 Jun 2011 - 15:55

cmlease wrote:
1 crit/round? where is that limit?
First sentence of the third paragraph on critical hits reads:

LRB wrote:
Each warrior may only cause one critical hit in each hand-to-hand combat phase (see the Close Combat section), so if he has several attacks, the first 6 you roll to wound will cause a critical hit.

Hope that helps!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ordo Septenarius
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 227
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-10-06
Location : Portland, Oregon, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Declaring attacks and parry?   Mon 20 Jun 2011 - 16:00

Quote :

Each warrior may only cause one critical hit in each hand-to-hand combat phase (see the Close Combat section), so if he has several attacks, the first 6 you roll to wound will cause a critical hit.

This is why the "rolling everything at once" is fairly important!



Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7011
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Declaring attacks and parry?   Mon 20 Jun 2011 - 18:44

Rolling dice for attacks occasionally drives us bats. We throw all of a warrior's attacks at once unless the warrior is splitting his attacks between targets. Then we Lucky Charm the highest to hit roll and then we discuss whether the successful LC against the '6' means the '3' can now be parried. That's cool, but sometimes a player will throw two '6's one with each weapon. Which one gets LC?

There are several hints in the rulebook that dice are to be rolled singly. The Lucky Charm works against the first hit rolled. The first 6 rolled when rolling to wound is the only Critical Wound allowed.

Throwing all the dice at once is just easier, but requires some house ruling.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
WarbossKurgan
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 2867
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-10-04
Age : 45
Location : Morkchester, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Declaring attacks and parry?   Tue 21 Jun 2011 - 0:25

I'm a bit confused by where the confusion is coming from!

1. Declare all attacks.
2. Roll all attacks against the first opponent declared. Since they are all rolled together Lucky Charms will work against one hit (and it doesn't matter which). Parry can only be used against the highest to-hit roll.
3. Move on to the next opponent.

This stops any problems with attacking knocked down or stunned opponents as all injury dice are rolled together. Only one crit can be scored and all attacks are against a standing enemy, even if one hit causes a knock down and another causes a stun. The one result that matters is the best one.

study
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.flameon.co.uk
Theorox
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 295
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-05-13

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Declaring attacks and parry?   Tue 21 Jun 2011 - 1:28

I had no idea that you must declare all attacks at the same time! I'll try to remember that, thanks ladz! Smile

Theo
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Declaring attacks and parry?   Today at 1:31

Back to top Go down
 
Declaring attacks and parry?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» 4 All-Out Attacks OTK Decks
» sableye attacks
» Pistol Attacks in Close Combat
» Does mirror force negate attacks?
» Mars Attacks (1996)

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: