HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Braces of Crossbow Pistols

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Braces of Crossbow Pistols   Fri 10 Jun 2011 - 8:49

Say I've got a brace of crossbow pistols. How many shots do I get in close combat? What if I have the Pistolier skill?

Also, do I take penalties for movement when I charge and fire into close combat with crossbow pistols?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Braces of Crossbow Pistols   Fri 10 Jun 2011 - 20:49

By RAW you get to shoot both crossbows in close combat whether you have Pistoleer or otherwise. It does not matter if you have Pistoleer.

The reason for this (as far as the rules are concerned) is that that the restriction allowing you to fire only one weapon is only during the shooting phase. Normally you are not allowed to shoot at all during the close-combat phase, but the crossbow pistol's special rule 'Shoot in hand-to-hand combat' overrules this. Because there is a rule saying you may shoot it in close combat and no rule saying you may only shoot one weapon during the close combat phase you are free to fire both of them.

That being said, in my circle we made a house rule saying that you could only fire both of them if you if you did indeed have the Pistoleer skill.

The -1 applies if you have moved at all during that turn, so yes, the -1 will apply if you fire after charging.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Saranor
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 236
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-12-28
Location : Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Shadow Warriors (Unofficial) Shadow Warriors (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Braces of Crossbow Pistols   Sat 11 Jun 2011 - 0:18

Quote :

Shoot in hand-to-hand combat: A model armed with a crossbow
pistol may shoot it in the first round of a hand-to-hand combat and
this shot is always resolved first, before any blows are struck. This
shot has an extra -2 to hit penalty. Use modelís Ballistic Skill to see
whether it hits or not. This bonus attack is in addition to any close
combat weapon attacks.

You get one shot before the close combat starts. After the first round you have only your normal close combat attacks.

Multiple shots with a brace/pistolier/quickshot are not explicit explained. And a penalty or the absence of a penalty for moving is not mentioned, but the extra to hit penalty hints that you get -3 for charging and -2 for being charged.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Braces of Crossbow Pistols   Sat 11 Jun 2011 - 1:10

Exactly.
Crossbow pistol in the Mordheim book wrote:
A model armed with a crossbow pistol may shoot it in the first round of a hand-to-hand combat...
If you have a crossbow pistol you get to shoot it once before combat starts. And, unlike in the shooting phase, there is nothing that says that you only get to shoot one weapon so if you have two of them you get to shoot both of them, i.e:
Shooting section of the Mordheim book wrote:
During your warbandís shooting phase each of your warriors may shoot once with one of his weapons.

Saranor wrote:
Multiple shots with a brace/pistolier/quickshot are not explicit explained.
Sure it is. Pistoleer says it only works in the shooting phase and Quickshot says it doesn't work with crossbow pistols. As for the brace, it doesn't *need* to say anything because each crossbow pistol says that if you have it, you can shoot it once just before combat starts and there is nothing that says you can't.

Saranor wrote:
And a penalty or the absence of a penalty for moving is not mentioned
Hit Modifiers in the Shooting section of the Mordheim book wrote:
-1 Moving & shooting If your model has moved at all (other than standing up, or turning to face your target) during this turn.
Seems pretty unambiguous to me. You move during your charge and the charge is during your turn so the -1 must apply.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
StyrofoamKing
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1354
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-02-16
Age : 32
Location : Chantilly, DC

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pirates (Unofficial) Pirates (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Braces of Crossbow Pistols   Sun 12 Jun 2011 - 10:14

The exact wording on Pistolier is "he may fire twice in the Shooting phase". Which makes sense in this way:

If you have 2 pistols, you can fire them both in combat- people wield two weapons all the time in mordheim combat.

Likewise, if you have 2 crossbow pistols, you can use them both.



However, for most missile weapons, you can only fire one missile weapon. You don't have someone fire a crossbow and then fire a second in the same turn. For the unskilled shooter, the same applies to pistols. A skilled person can learn to shoot in rapid fire, making an exception to the normal "one per shooting phase" rule.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://sites.google.com/site/styroheim/
scottishscott



Posts : 4
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-17

PostSubject: Re: Braces of Crossbow Pistols   Sat 17 Sep 2011 - 6:44

so a model armed with 2 crossbow pistols, with the pistolier skill, can shoot twice in his shooting phase?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Braces of Crossbow Pistols   Sat 17 Sep 2011 - 7:01

I think 'yes' is a fairly safe answer, that's the way we play it anyway.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Braces of Crossbow Pistols   Today at 23:04

Back to top Go down
 
Braces of Crossbow Pistols
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Braces of Crossbow Pistols
» Crossbow Pistols
» clarifications about Pistolier, pistols and crossbow pistols
» Crossbow pistols and hatred
» Pistolier Skill

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: