HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 The Blunderbuss

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: The Blunderbuss   Mon 4 Apr 2011 - 17:46

You can't score multiple critical hits with the same model in the same round of close combat. What about the blunderbuss? Can it get more than one crit? What about archers with Quick Shot?

And for the record, I'm amused and perplexed that a model ALREADY BEING HIT BY THE BLUNDERBUSS can take a second hit from ricochet.


Last edited by DRD1812 on Mon 4 Apr 2011 - 18:01; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FKSN
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 257
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-07-21
Age : 35
Location : Gefle, Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Blunderbuss   Mon 4 Apr 2011 - 17:48

Wait. You can't score multiple critical hits with the same model in the same round of close combat? I've missed this completely.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Re: The Blunderbuss   Mon 4 Apr 2011 - 17:51

Oh no, FKSN. Now I've got to look it up? ARGH!

OK, here it is on page 16 of the rulebook:

Each warrior may only cause one critical hit in each
hand-to-hand combat phase (see the Close Combat
section), so if he has several attacks, the first 6 you roll
to wound will cause a critical hit.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7021
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Blunderbuss   Mon 4 Apr 2011 - 18:21

We have this come up all the time and have never questioned it.

The quoted rule is specifically for melee combat not missile attacks. Melee combat has several specific rules that apply only to it.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: The Blunderbuss   Mon 4 Apr 2011 - 19:40

We certainly allow it (it doesn't come up all that often).

FKSN, we missed that rule for some time as well.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aldhick
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 121
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-09-16
Age : 36
Location : Czech Republic, Brno

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Sisters of Sigmar Sisters of Sigmar
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Blunderbuss   Mon 4 Apr 2011 - 23:46

Heh, I missed it as well affraid Praise this thread
cheers
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Saranor
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 236
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-12-28
Location : Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Shadow Warriors (Unofficial) Shadow Warriors (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Blunderbuss   Tue 5 Apr 2011 - 0:38

I like multiple crits with a range weapon, once we had a bolt, which cause twice a ricochet but all three targets went down and had to test for falling over an edge, two of them failed, but no one went OOA...

I think its more fun with multiple crits.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Re: The Blunderbuss   Tue 5 Apr 2011 - 8:25

Well then dang. That second Possessed might have been dead. I guess I'll just have to bring more bluderbusses (blunderbi? blunderbusen?) for the next fight.

@Saranor: Awesome rolling. I'm willing to bet you went on to win that one. Very Happy A quick question though: how could 2 ricochets hit three targets? Wouldn't the second ricochet just ping pong back to the first (read: closest) model?

*EDIT*: Oh wait...that's obviously possible. Duh. Guy A is 5" from Guy B. Guy B is only 2" away from guy C. I suck at spacial relations.

Also of note: how does the blunderbuss work when fired from an elevated position? Say I'm 3" up and I'm firing at a line of guys below me. Do I hit any but the first one before the trajectory of the blunderbuss hits the ground? Is that 16" template an infintely tall straight line?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
caratacos
Hero
Hero


Posts : 29
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-02-26
Location : Uppsala, Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Blunderbuss   Tue 5 Apr 2011 - 10:07

If you follow rules as written, then I'd say that you hit anything underneath its path. If not, then I'd say that the template should be 1" wide both in width and height.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Drayven
Knight
Knight


Posts : 83
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-03-19

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Blunderbuss   Tue 5 Apr 2011 - 11:05

Saranor wrote:
I like multiple crits with a range weapon, once we had a bolt, which cause twice a ricochet but all three targets went down and had to test for falling over an edge, two of them failed, but no one went OOA...

I think its more fun with multiple crits.

ricochet? is this a custom rule or something?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
caratacos
Hero
Hero


Posts : 29
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-02-26
Location : Uppsala, Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Blunderbuss   Tue 5 Apr 2011 - 11:41

It's in the expanded Critical Hits rules.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1330018_Mord_Rulebook_part_3_-_campaigns.pdf

Page 116 and 117.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ordo Septenarius
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 227
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-10-06
Location : Portland, Oregon, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Blunderbuss   Tue 5 Apr 2011 - 11:59

A model can be hit critically in hand-to-hand if already hit by the blunderbuss; it's ranged and doesn't applied to the one crit per round rule.

I guess a double ricochet could happen - maybe the shot glanced off the model, hit a piece of metal and then hit the model again?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Re: The Blunderbuss   Tue 5 Apr 2011 - 12:29

caratacos wrote:
If you follow rules as written, then I'd say that you hit anything underneath its path. If not, then I'd say that the template should be 1" wide both in width and height.

Seems like a pretty good ruling. Any other opinions?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: The Blunderbuss   Tue 5 Apr 2011 - 15:44

We play that the template is 1" wide and high.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: The Blunderbuss   Tue 5 Apr 2011 - 17:53

Sensible.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Re: The Blunderbuss   Tue 5 Apr 2011 - 18:56

Case closed!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: The Blunderbuss   Today at 11:07

Back to top Go down
 
The Blunderbuss
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Can blunderbuss misfire?
» Blunderbuss

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: