HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Expert Swordsman

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Expert Swordsman   Fri 4 Mar 2011 - 8:39

Does a warrior with Expert Swordsman get to reroll attacks made from a non-sword weapon in his off hand? For example, if he's armed with sword and dagger, will he get to reroll misses with the dagger in the turn he charges?

Expert Swordsman text:
"This warrior has been expertly taught in the art of swordsmanship. He may
re-roll all missed attacks if he is using a sword in the hand-to-hand phase
of the turn that he charges. Note that this only applies when they are armed
with normal swords or weeping blades, and not with double-handed swords or
any other weapons.
"
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BalrogTheBuff
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 655
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-15
Age : 32
Location : Santa Maria, CA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Expert Swordsman   Fri 4 Mar 2011 - 9:24

RAW I would say yes (unless there is a FAQ I missed). But I have always played it is only on the sword's attacks. I did not even notice the wording hinting otherwise until within the last year!

But I apparently have made several house rules and thought they were real rules... Oh well.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FKSN
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 257
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-07-21
Age : 35
Location : Gefle, Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Expert Swordsman   Fri 4 Mar 2011 - 10:44

Actually you could argue RAW says you can't actually use Expert Swordsman until you've somehow gotten rid of your free dagger, since until that time you're armed with something beyond ONLY swords and weeping blades. Around here, you're cool to use Expert Swordsman so long as you only use your swords in that combat round. Firing off a pistol on the charge? You're not rerolling your sword misses then.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Shadowphx
General
General


Posts : 184
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-11-05
Location : Phoenix, Az. U.S.A.

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Expert Swordsman   Fri 4 Mar 2011 - 12:54

I believe the intent of this skill is for “swords” only, either using 1 or 2 swords. The “sword” attack, if missed, can be rerolled when charging. If the warrior is armed with sword and dagger or sword and pistol, and missed with both weapons, the sword attack could be rerolled. And if using 2 swords, and both sword attacks missed, then both sword attacks could be rerolled.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BalrogTheBuff
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 655
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-15
Age : 32
Location : Santa Maria, CA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Expert Swordsman   Fri 4 Mar 2011 - 13:28

So your interpretation is that it can only be used if ALL attacks miss? Or did I read that wrong?

My interpretation was: "When charging, Any missed attacks using a normal sword (or weeping blade, gromril sword etc.) can be rerolled. But only the attacks made with a sword. A weapon may be used in the off-hand, but that does not recieve any bonus from this skill."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Shadowphx
General
General


Posts : 184
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-11-05
Location : Phoenix, Az. U.S.A.

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Expert Swordsman   Fri 4 Mar 2011 - 15:32

That is what I was saying. Only the missed attacks with “swords(s)” or "weeping blades"could be rerolled. If the attacks with 2 swords missed than both sword attacks could be rerolled. If you are using a sword and dagger, only the missed sword attack could be rerolled; not the missed dagger attack. The same would be true if the warrior was using sword and dagger, as mentioned in an earlier post.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7013
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Expert Swordsman   Sat 5 Mar 2011 - 8:45

Our group plays the rule as Shadowphx describes. FKSN's interpretation would be a bit extreme for us.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Re: Expert Swordsman   Sat 5 Mar 2011 - 21:12

Cool. That makes the most sense...re-rolls only with swords, regardless of whether you're carrying one or two.

But speaking of using two swords, I seem to remember some rule saying that that allows you a re-roll to parry. Or am I thinking of dirty, cheating dwarves and getting confused?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Expert Swordsman   Sun 6 Mar 2011 - 3:33

Two swords do not allow the re-roll of a parry. You need a buckler and a sword for that.

You are correct though that Dwarf Treasure Hunters can re-roll parries (with Master of Blades skill I believe).
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7013
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Expert Swordsman   Sun 6 Mar 2011 - 8:01

Styrofoam's Pirate Skills have a re-roll parry with 2 swords skill. Many people (including my group) have house rules for that as well. We dropped the house rule when we first visited Sartosa, although now that we play with the pirate skill no one takes it.... scratch
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Expert Swordsman   Today at 10:54

Back to top Go down
 
Expert Swordsman
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» L'Oreal Paris Men Expert Ups Its Hottie Factor With Gerry B
» Silent Swordsman Lock Deck (New Banlist Edited)
» Angel O7 and Silent Swordsman/Mystic Swordsman
» Silent Swordsman + Knight = Silent Knight !?
» CONAN THE SWORDSMAN

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: