Hey Ashton, the way we play it a my house, if the model can fit (with the base), he can stand there, but he have to charge every mobel he is in base contact with. (if you need to move some of my models 1" or so its ok, but that is more a house rule, and never out of combat)
To make a example... If I got 2 models i a narrow street, side by side, and it is impossible to stand on only one, you cant say you only want to charge one and then move the other back. You have to charge every model you come in contact with.
hope that help.