HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Question: Third arm

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Silon
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 8
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-26

PostSubject: Question: Third arm   Thu 10 Feb 2011 - 18:34

If i have a hero with the third arm mutation, can i equip him with two shields and have 5+ armour save?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Question: Third arm   Thu 10 Feb 2011 - 21:15

On p. 58 of the pdf rule book it says:

EXTRA ARM: the mutant may use any single-handed weapon in the extra arm, giving him +1 attack when fighting in hand-to-hand combat. Alternatively, he may carry a shield or a buckler in the extra arm. If a Possessed chooses to do this, he gains an extra attack but still cannot carry a weapon.

So, it does not give you the option to carry two shields. You could always discuss this question with your group and see if they are OK with the idea as a house rule.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
BalrogTheBuff
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 655
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-15
Age : 32
Location : Santa Maria, CA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Question: Third arm   Thu 10 Feb 2011 - 23:26

I would totally allow it.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Saranor
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 236
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-12-28
Location : Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Shadow Warriors (Unofficial) Shadow Warriors (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Question: Third arm   Fri 11 Feb 2011 - 0:53

Can you use a Sword+Spear+Shield with the extra Arm?

or a 2H Weapon and a Sword/Spear?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Question: Third arm   Fri 11 Feb 2011 - 5:51

Spears were altered in a rules update to require two hands to use, but it did specify that you could use a spear/shield combination as an exception. So, as per the description above, the mutant could use a spear/shield combination in his main hands and sword in the third hand with the rules as written.

But spear/ 2HW would not work after the rules update, since both weapons require two hands. But 2HW + sword would work with the rules as written.

Basically, any legal combination for the two "normal" arms + a shield or buckler or single-handed weapon in the mutant arm is a legal combination.

The weird thing is that the official description is weird in regard to the extra shield. Personally, I agree with Balrog that house ruling two shields to work for a double shield bonus would be something I would agree to if I was playing in your campaign.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rudeboy
Elder
Elder


Posts : 360
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-12-01
Age : 37

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Restless Dead (BTB) Restless Dead (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Question: Third arm   Fri 11 Feb 2011 - 8:06

I would allow the double shields. If I did the 5+ for sheilds then I would allow the 2nd sheild to only add +1 so bot would be a 4+.

I can see the concern that 2 warbands could take forever fighting, but crits really make armor a lot less effective.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7011
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Question: Third arm   Fri 11 Feb 2011 - 8:51

As for the 2 shields I would play it the way Rudeboy suggests otherwise the house rule becomes unbalanced.

If someone wanted the 2 shields I would applaud in secret because it means 1 less attack from that model. Twisted Evil
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Silon
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 8
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-26

PostSubject: Re: Question: Third arm   Sat 12 Feb 2011 - 11:37

Ok, thx for answering.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
frogprince
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 12
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-02-09
Location : Poole, England

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Question: Third arm   Sun 20 Feb 2011 - 5:05

forget shields, amour, ect. +2A FTW!!!

remember the quality of quantity. then again, i do play skaven.......
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://libermalefic.blogspot.com/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Question: Third arm   Today at 13:25

Back to top Go down
 
Question: Third arm
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Question About Gladiator beasts.
» Dark Fusion / Mirror Force question
» Question about Reinforce Truth
» Question on scrap dragon
» Ginkgo Question

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: