HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Characteristic Advances

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Characteristic Advances   Wed 26 Jan 2011 - 15:06

The rule in question states:

"If a characteristic is at its maximum, take the other option or roll again if you can only increase one characteristic."

Does this mean that if I have a dwarf hero with leadership already maxed at 10, he can choose to either take the +1 initiative or roll again? What if he rolls the same result again? Does he just keep rolling until he gets a non-initiative advance?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
toemasss
Captain
Captain


Posts : 79
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-09-15

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ogres (BTB) Ogres (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Characteristic Advances   Wed 26 Jan 2011 - 16:59

It would mean that you either take the initiative advancement or roll 2D6 again and confer with the chart. Its your choice. If you roll another advancement already at its maximum then repeat the process. (I guess this is the only time you could re-roll a re-roll)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Characteristic Advances   Wed 26 Jan 2011 - 17:43

I guess the confusion comes from the "roll again if you can only increase one characteristic." Your Dwarf Lord (and all other heroes) ALWAYS has a choice of increasing x or y when a characteristic advance is rolled. Thus if x is at maximum you must take y.

Henchmen on the other hand only have one choice of x or y (WS or BS) in all other cases henchmen can only increase one characteristic thus the "roll again if you can only increase one characteristic."

Thus we play that if you roll a Leadership advance after Leadership is maxed, a hero always takes Initiative. Henchmen who roll a characteristic that is maxed always re-roll unless they can increase either WS or BS.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pathfinder Dubstyles
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 772
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-04-10
Age : 32
Location : North Carolina, US

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Characteristic Advances   Wed 26 Jan 2011 - 18:43

Yes we play it as Von Kurst, the sentence to blame should be more direct and state the procedure for heroes as opposed to henchmen... it is just annoyingly vague.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.creativecasualty.net
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Characteristic Advances   Wed 26 Jan 2011 - 23:49

In my circle we play that your heroes may roll again if they can increase only one stat. This is not quite RAW, but we find that it tends to mean more fun for us.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Re: Characteristic Advances   Thu 27 Jan 2011 - 8:18

Thanks all! That sentence was driving me nuts. Von Kurst's explanation makes sense. As toemasss pointed out, the rule seemed to say was that I could "re-roll a re-roll," and that just didn't seem right.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Characteristic Advances   Today at 13:04

Back to top Go down
 
Characteristic Advances
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Beastman Minotaur - Equipment to take for him
» 2 Small Estonian Etchings of the Characteristic Architecture of Tallinn

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: